We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream Must”
Review of Nokomis Groves

Nokomis Groves
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nokomis, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Must”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you rent or own a place close enough, get the quarts of the lime, orange or pineapple flavors. If not, bring ice in a cooler. Taste the flavors in a cone first to see which you like the best. My husband is an ice cream lover, but Nokomis Groves tops his list. The fruit is good too as is the candy. They have old time favorites like Chuckles, dots on a roll of paper, black jack gum etc. They will also ship the fruit to wherever you want. (The ice cream is not cheap, but it's worth it.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    74
    25
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Great orange ice cream”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Remember 'creamsicles', those delicious orange and vanilla ice cream delights of eons ago? Get them today at Nokomis Groves. There is also pineapple, lime, chocolate alone or in combination in cones or cups. Stock up on all products citrus in origin from fresh fruit to preserves. The ice cream window is open all year, the fruit is available only in season.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST ice cream EVER! - & fruit is typically great”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family choice for years for buying fruit - shipping fruit. And the BEST citrus ice cream! I've never had anything like it anywhere else. Lime - orange - chocolate - vanilla soft-serve. The lines can be long - but, they move quickly. You can sample the citrus for sale, inside. Also - a nickel sample for orange or grapefruit juice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More than Oranges!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wow! Being new to the area, the first thing I wanted to do was get fresh oranges. I got that and so much more! My 2 favorites were fresh squeezed orange juice in the aerator machine that makes it frothy and oh so delicious and the fresh orange ice cream cone. My daughter and I had orange vanilla twist and my husband had orange pineapple twist. Both extremely good but I think the orange pineapple twist wins. There's lots of gifts - food and otherwise. Lots of jelly's and sauces made from fruits. And of course, many varieties of oranges, grapefruits, tangerines, etc. Also sent gift boxes up north for Christmas gifts and everybody loved them. Great service in that they'll ship them for you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelMommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Ice Cream”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stopped here for afternoon snack on a hot day. The orange vanilla mix was wonderful, and I tried someone else's lime, which was also very good. Citrus flavors are more tart than sweet, which is great by me. Be sure to stop by if you're in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenYardley_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nokomis Groves also viewed

 

Been to Nokomis Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing