We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's one of our have-to places”
Review of Nokomis Groves

Nokomis Groves
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Port
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's one of our have-to places”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can't wait --- NO We can't wait to visit this place it's a tradition.
I will be shipping (home) up north where we used to live --- some of the honey bells, or just some navals, or some grape-fruit. Heck maybe a little of this & little of that.

Too bad the ice cream won't ship OH well IF you want the ice cream come on down!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    74
    24
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who says otherwise is kidding themselves and shouldn't be trusted.

Chocolate and lime ice cream...mmm.

Helpful?
Thank kcfoodeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“fun spot”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place has some great ice cream,it reminds me of ordering a cheesesteak in Philly, you line up place your order,pay,then get into another line and pick up your ice cream. It was fantastic and refreshing. My wife had pinapple and chocolate stacked,I had vanilla and orange swirl. Both were great,and the people eating ice cream sitting around on the provided benches were all happy. Went inside and they have orange slice samples,one rude dude kept reaching into the bowl eating ,licking his fingers and reaching back in he must have had 10 slices,and no one else wanted any after seeing how he contaminated the bowl. The also have 5 cent juice sample that were great, and the contaminator apparently didn't want to pay a nickle. We will absolutely be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh OJ! Wonderful Ice Cream - Try an orange/vanilla twist you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great Prices on fresh grove fruit - I love them for including the ability to pick up fresh orange juice at the ice cream counter when the store is closed. The orange juice is wonderful non-pasturized and one of the only places that we have found outside of other groves where we can buy it. Once you drink the "real" stuff without being tampered with you will understand the reason why we drive 45 minutes to buy the real thing. Being from up north - MI - we have all kinds of twists - but the orange/vanilla was new and it has gone to the top of my list of favorites - if you are older think orange creamsicle -

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MIexpatjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor shipping , no tracking info available. Very small grapefruit!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Waited 10 days for the delivery of fruit by US postal service. No tracking info provided when we called to request it.
The fruit was very small. Better product is available in the local grocery store for a lot less money.

We will never order fruit from them again!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyBozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nokomis Groves also viewed

 

Been to Nokomis Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing