We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Place in Town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Grill & Wings

Hurricane Grill & Wings
Ranked #54 of 85 Restaurants in Niceville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Niceville FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New Place in Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

New restaurant in Niceville. Good food, semi-reasonable prices, good service. Location, decor very good. Handled large group very well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niceville-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another fast food place. Bad service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We were so excited that a new, possibly yummy restaurant was being built near our home. After waiting till after the grand opening we decided to give it a go. We were told we weren't allowed to sit outside. But we're seated right away inside. It was packed. They were out of everything that we tried to order. After ordering under the gun...the food never came out. The huge crowd left after a 45 minute wait. The waitress brought out the 2 kids meals. The mac n cheese obviously had been sitting for a while. The kids picked at it. When asked about our food, we were told it would be a little bit longer. After 15 minutes we asked for the check to pay for the kids meals and our tea. The waitress never returned until I got up and found her and asked her to send the manager to our table. He never came either until I got up a second time and went and found him walking in circles with my husband's plate in his hand. I told him that we were leaving and wanted our check... but he pointed to the plate as if we wanted to stay another hour and eat. After a round and round... he comped the meal along with 20 cards for free cheese fries on our next visit. Does anyone want them? We won't ever be using them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarrahCeriano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

After all the waiting for a wing joint in Niceville, we were excited to see Hurricane's come to the neighborhood. We gave them about three weeks after opening to go, figuring that would give them time to "work out the kinks." They need more time...
Service was lousy, signature fries were cold, greasy and very unappetizing. Boneless Wings were dry (ordered them with sauce--at one time they had some on them--and wasn't much meat. Overall, first experience with Hurricane's sucked...might try again in a few months.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very bad first experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We purposely waited a few weeks before going to Hurricane so they could "work out the bugs". Apparently they need more time. Our visit for dinner last night - a Monday at 6:45pm - was awful. It started off well, we didn't have to wait more than a few minutes for a table. After that, things went downhill. It took quite a while for a server to take our order. We ordered a couple appetizers to satisfy hungry kids and asked her to come right back for our main order. She didn't, it was a good 5+ minutes before she returned. After we were there almost an hour, a manager came to apologize for the delay telling us there was a backlog in the kitchen and there are still a couple tickets ahead of us. He tells us he'll take care of us when we get our check. I tell him we just want our food because our kids are cranky and hungry. He gave them a couple of their game systems to play with, which does pre-occupy them. As for the food (once it finally arrived), it was hit-and-miss. I ordered a Rebel IPA, I got a Bud Light. I ordered the chicken sliders with medium sauce, they came plain. My kids shared a steak ordered medium rare, it came medium well but we didn’t have time to send it back. The wings, while tasty, are not overly meaty which was disappointing since you pretty much pay $1 each for them. Each person who ordered wings literally got three pieces of celery, but to their credit they brought more celery and dressing when we asked. Their homemade chips were half crunchy and tasty and half undercooked, chewy and gross. Our server wasn't overly attentive to us; not sure why but maybe it was because we unhappy campers and we already had manager involvement. As for the manager taking care of us, that didn't happen. We had no discount on our check and we never saw the manager again once we had our food. I just paid the check because we wanted to get out of there (we had been there two hours and it was the kids' bedtime). It's funny, my 5-year-old daughter asked me "Why do they call this place Hurricane"? My answer - "because it's a disaster". Do yourself a favor and give them a few months to get themselves straightened out. We'll maybe give them a second-chance in October or November.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lionfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Just Wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a morning of boating, we stopped at Hurricane Grill and Wings for lunch. We ordered the Yeungling Beer Battered Fish and chips. The serving was one large piece of haddock, battered and fried. The potatoes were fresh sliced and fried. A side of coleslaw complimented the meal. The fish was hot and delicious. We had no complaints with the service, quality of food, or atmosphere. Sports channels were showing World Cup Soccer. Family and business oriented at lunch time. Large bar area and large flat screen televisions would make for a great after work gathering. We will definitely go again. The menu is varied from wings to fish and salads to burgers. Pricing was extremely reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Traveler1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Grill & Wings also viewed

Niceville, Florida Panhandle
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
 
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
 
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hurricane Grill & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing