We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good But Had Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall it is a good price for a hotel situated on the beach with ocean views that offers 2 tv's, separate bedroom, mini kitchen (sink, small fridge with freezer, microwave, cabinets, silverware, plates, & coffee pot), pull-out sofa and balcony with seating. The mattress to the pull-out couch in our room really needed replaced. It was not only uncomfortable because so old but more importantly it was badly stained. Also the room had a smell to it. Our other major issue was soon after checking in and unloading all our stuff for a family of 5 we realized the tv in the living room didn't work. The front desk offered some suggestions to try and fix it but none worked. Finally the next day they did send someone to fix it and they ended up having to replace the tv. Really wish issues like that were fixed before check-in. We want to vacation and relax not deal with repairs. Also nothing offered for not having a working tv for our first night and morning or having a repairman in our room. The repair man was very nice though. Also when trying to get ready for dinner our first night went to use hair dryer and when I turned it on to use on my daughter it made a horrible sound and started smoking instantly. Luckily I turned it off very quickly and she just had to go to dinner with really wet hair as did everyone. They did replace it also the next day. This hotel did appear to be an older place and it showed some. Mainly in the bathroom around the shower and toilet. Also in the fact the door to our room must not have closed tightly because it rattled loudly, waking us up, whenever anyone else in our hall open and closed their door. Overall everything was clean and the extra space was appreciated. The balcony was very nice to enjoy but both evenings a large cockroach came out to join us. I really don't like those but at least there were none in our room. There was a small pool with chairs on site that looked fine but we didn't use. The wifi was generally ok but sometimes got kicked off and I really didn't like that it wouldn't work on the balcony. The beach was nice and there were people renting chairs & umbrellas out front as well as boogie boards and bicycles. They also sold food and drinks. There was a good bagel shop very close as well as other restaurants & bar which you could walk to. This was good since there is no breakfast included. They do have a restaurant on site to buy breakfast though if you want. We didn't eat there during our stay. There was a CVS within walking distance. We walked down the beach to the boardwalk area which was under a mile away where there was a great ice cream place, restaurants, gift shops and rentals for different vehicles to drive around the area including on the beach. This beach does allow vehicles to drive on it but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krazyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We just renovated the hotel from top to bottom spending over 4 million on the place and I'm very proud of what we offer our guests.
Your review is much appreciated and look forward to being able to serve you again while visiting this area again.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 982 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I came for a long weekend and for the price we were preasantly surprised. The staff was very gracious and helpful. Rooms were clean. Beautiful of the beach. Location was great. About a mile from great shopping, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Samantha Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

From my staff and myself we are very happy you found us and he were happy with the service we offer. Since you guys live so close, please keep us in mind for future weekend get aways and look for that 25% off coupon in the Orlando travel section each Sunday.

Thank you again.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My sister and I have been coming to this hotel for years before it became a Best Western property. We always loved it because of the location, but B.W. definitely improved the hotel. We loved the upgrades, and we will be back again as always....room #711.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

As a repeat customer I certainly appreciate your return visits to our hotel. It is always our pleasure to serve you, your sister, and your family. As always I look forward to being of service real soon.

Thank you for the great review.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We wanted to stay on the beach for a long weekend and as a family of 5 found it difficult to find something that could accommodate our needs. The price was right and is right on the beach. When we arrived we were pleased to find that the hotel was surrounded by places to eat and shop. There is a restaurant on the premises but we did not have an opportunity to eat there. The rooms are quite large. We stayed in a 2 room suite and it had a full refrigerator/microwave and plenty of storage space. The beds were very comfortable and we did not feel like we were all on top of each other. We did not hear any noise from other rooms or from outside. Every room has a private view of the beach which is wonderful. There are 2 ways to gain access to the beach. The pool, was smaller than we expected but was well maintained and clean. We will be back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 22Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I agree, we are a great vaule for an oceanfront hotel, all-suites with private bedroom and a living room. I "Thank you" for your business and hope you'll return again real soon.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom for 3 days...very, very clean. Large room and right on beach with great view of the ocean. It is one of he nicer Best Western's I have stayed at.....previously a Holiday Inn but it has had a lot of renovation...good deal for the price. Would definitely recommend it highly. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballfields20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you the super great review, we appreciate it very much.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff was amazing, especially Connie at the front desk. The room was great. Will definitely return. The hotel sets right on the beach so the location is perfect. We did not get an opportunity to try the breakfast that was offered but I assume it was just as superb as the other accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you Kim for your very nice review, very much appreciated. It is a shame you did not get a chance to try the breakfast. I just hired a new restaurant manager and new staff which are doing a great job.

I certainly hope we can be of service again real soon.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved this hotel! Great military discount and very clean. Nice layout and very spacious. Staff was very friendly.we had a great trip and loved the location if the hotel as well. New Smyrna beach is one of our favorite vacation spots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

From myself and staff we are very excited you had a great stay and you will be back for a visit! We do have a really nice oceanfront hotel with spacious suite rooms.

Thank you again and please call our toll-free number for reservations. 1.800.BEACH.14.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Trillium Suites
Ocean Trillium Suites
#3 of 22 in New Smyrna Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3113 (Formerly BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $139 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our balconies offer a breath-taking view of the ocean where you can enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise or enjoy the activities on the beach. Our Seascape Restaurant has the coast's best view of the ocean with spectacular sunrises. In addition to our beautiful beach, you can view shuttle launches or rockets from the Cape or visit Orlando's attractions, both of which are a short drive away. The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel and Suites is host to a myriad of events during the Daytona 500 and Bike Week. Our Best Western-Oceanfront is a 100% non-smoking hotel and look forward to serving you soon! We love our guests and we will treat you right! Please note: guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. We no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Smyrna Beach (Daytona Beach) Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Holiday Inn Daytona Beach
New Smyrna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing