We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but far from the best in New Smyrna Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Good:
This property is located right on the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are very large, almost like a condo or apartment. Our room had a spacious bathroom, a separate living room with a kitchen, full-size fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker, etc.
Rooms have an outdoor balcony with nice views. Sometimes other room balconies feel too close for comfort, but overall it's a nice feature.
Breakfast is served in a little restaurant on site and is cheap. Nothing fancy but is a good enough way to start the day.

The Bad:
We checked in late (past 11 pm) and were tired after a long day of traveling. We arrived in our room, got unpacked, and had just settled down to bed when we heard a loud commotion at the door. I went and checked and the security guard was trying to barge in. He stated that the room was supposed to be unoccupied. It turns out the guard does rounds and checks each room in the hotel to make sure empty rooms are unoccupied, which seemed to hint at possible security issues at the property in the past.
In the process of the mixup (front desk had not added us to the guard's list of occupied rooms) the guard destroyed the locking latch above the door. The front desk told us that we "should feel safe" for one night and that the maintenance staff would fix in the morning at 8 a.m.

Next morning , my wife and I had breakfast, killed some time, and returned to find that the door was still not fixed. It took another call to the front desk to get maintenance to make the repair. Front desk staff seemed confrontational about the whole thing, like it was our fault or we were being a pain.

The Ugly:

We received a new set of "clean" towels that were full of long black hairs.

Overall, this is pretty middle of the road property that offers a great value for families or large groups (our room could easily sleep 6-9 people) but is far from the best in NSB. I recommend the new Hampton Inn on Flagler as a better option for couples or those seeking a cleaner environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Radevonuk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I'm sorry you were not as impressed with our hotel as I would like for you to be. We completed a 4 plus million dollar renovation and my staff and I try to ensure each and every guest is completely satisfied. We offer our famous 2+2+2 breakfast special which I've had at my hotels since the early 80's. Great value not cheap and the locals love it. The dining room has the most awesome view of the beach from the second floor. We have addressed the issue with the secuity department regarding inspecting vacant rooms each night.
We are the only oceanfront hotel in New Smyrna Beach and ranked as the #1 Best Western in the State of Florida with customer satisfaction surveys.
Thank you again and perhaps on your next visit we can "WOW" you. We hope you will give us another try.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. We paid extra for a Sea front room as opposed to a Sea view room - all rooms are sea view. I room wasn't actually sea front but at a 45 degree angle to it. This was okay but it meant we got very little sun (we were on the north side). In March we just started to get direct sun at about 5pm. Later in the year I guess you would get more.
The hotel was okay but the decore was poor - see pictures. Brown and yellow carpets and while it was a new kitchen, it had lots of cupboards with no handles on any of them and the only means to cook was a microwave.
Also while as such clean it was poorer than most hotels. Our balcony had a large sticky area when we arrived - I would stay someone spilled beer or something there. The point is it should have been cleaned. Also I spilled a bit of coffee on the floor one day. I thought I cleaned it all up but realised later in the day that I had missed a bit but the appartment had been cleaned in the meantime so clearly the tiled floor in the kitchen part wasn't cleaned as part of it.
The location is about 1km from Flagler St, the main shopping etc area. Now it is a quite road walk or even along the beach but it is not next door.
At over $200 a night (when you include the taxes etc), yes the view was great, staff what we saw of them were friendly, the room was okay nothing more, but you are paying for the view.
By the way a Public's very close by (walking distance) and do visit the Canaveral National park about 12 Km away - well worth visiting for just $5.

Room Tip: Ask for a full direct Sea facing room or one on the south side to get the most sun. All rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I appreciate your review and agree, the view of the ocean is amazing which is why people come for a visit. Thank you.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly, they helped me and my Girlfriend out several times during our stay, Rooms are very clean and have an awesome view, real nice town, everyone makes you feel at home! We definitely will be staying again !!! To the staff at the hotel, enjoy the rum cake :) !!

Room Tip: Ocean view is awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you so very much. It always pleases me when we have a happy guest. It tells me my staff is working hard to take care of you.
Stay warm up your way and hope we can be of service soon.
Richard Vyse & Staff
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have family in New Smyrna Beach, and so have stayed in town many times before in different types of accommodations. My parents stayed at this hotel years ago when it was under different ownership, and based on their experience I was a little nervous about staying here, despite good reviews. I should not have been worried - TripAdvisor reviewers did not let me down.

Check-in was quick and easy. We stayed on the 4th floor, and our room was clean and very spacious. The room had a hallway which connected the bathroom to the right, which was spacious enough for several of us getting ready in the morning; a bedroom with two good-sized beds and a nice-sized closet; and a living area on the left. The living area included a sleeper sofa, chair and coffee table, a square dining table with three chairs, and a kitchenette area with a nice-sized fridge, microwave, and cabinetry (no stove or oven).

The spaces were clean and while I wouldn't exactly call them fancy, they were nice and comfortable - not outdated or worn at all. Best of all, the balcony was large enough for a couple of chairs and had a great view of the beach. It was on the cold side while we were there, but I can imagine that in warmer weather it would be wonderful to open the door and hear the waves crashing on the shore nearby. I was pleasantly surprised by the room and could see staying here for a week or more on vacation - there was enough of a condo feel to make breakfast and lunch in the room, and then go out for dinner. Which, let's face it, is part of vacation...not cooking every meal.

The two things that kept me from rating this property a little higher? First, that there is not an included breakfast (which is not unusual for Best Western affiliated properties), although there is a restaurant on property and other options nearby. I just prefer that included in a hotel. The other thing was that we did experience a glitch upon check-out. We were overcharged on the room by a substantial amount. Luckily, my husband thought something seemed strange about the rate compared to what I had mentioned, and brought it to me. I confirmed the issue and brought it to the attention of the desk staff, who were nice about it and immediately corrected the problem - so it was not an issue in the end, other than a slight delay in our departure. The rate was correct on the document when I checked in, and I had the confirmation to show them, which was fortunate and probably helped speed the correction. However, this is a plus in the customer service area for me - mistakes happen, but it is how they are corrected that counts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family4RdTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you and I'll gladly take your 4 Bubble score. You did a great job describing our hotel and your reason for your score, thank you.
Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during Speed Week. Family with 2 young kids. Everything was great from lots of parking, comfy beds, quiet room to a cheap good breakfast.
Friendly staff and right on the beach with great view...thanks we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_Heffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much. I love the "King of Queens" and glad we had a celebrity with us. Seriously, we appreciate the nice comments and very excited your stay was a very good one. We appreciate your business.

Richard & Staff
VP Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Best Western in New Smyrna ? Don't let the name deter you from experiencing a fantastic, modest size hotel on a clean, white beach that stretches approximately 13 miles and is not crowded like Daytona! I was pleasantly surprised to arrive into a newly renovated hotel with smiling staff greeting me immediately. (love the southern hospitality) . My room faced the ocean (as most do);but I had 2 balconies. The suite was spacious and tasteful. The restaurant also faces the beach and is very affordable. Boutiques and restaurants just a quick walk north on the beach.This was well worth my trip from Toronto, Canada. See you next year.

Room Tip: There are only a few suites that have 2 separate balconies: 1 off bedroom and 1 off sunken living/de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

I'm so pleased your stay was a great one. We do try extremely hard to make sure our guests leave happy. Thank you very much and hope we can serve you again real soon.

Richard & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stay at this hotel every trip to NSB. Staff is wonderful, views are perfect, nice beach to walk on, across street from a great fresh bagel shop for breakfast (cash only), short distance to nice dinners at The Garlic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank jatvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for being a guest at our hotel again. We do try very hard to make each and every guests stay a great one. Can I ask you to email me personally at hinsb@msn.com to discuss your review further please. It will help us do a better job and really want your input as a returning guest.
Thank you.
Richard Vyse GM
& Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Trillium Suites
Ocean Trillium Suites
#3 of 22 in New Smyrna Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3113 (Formerly BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $139 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our balconies offer a breath-taking view of the ocean where you can enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise or enjoy the activities on the beach. Our Seascape Restaurant has the coast's best view of the ocean with spectacular sunrises. In addition to our beautiful beach, you can view shuttle launches or rockets from the Cape or visit Orlando's attractions, both of which are a short drive away. The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel and Suites is host to a myriad of events during the Daytona 500 and Bike Week. Our Best Western-Oceanfront is a 100% non-smoking hotel and look forward to serving you soon! We love our guests and we will treat you right! Please note: guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. We no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Smyrna Beach (Daytona Beach) Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Holiday Inn Daytona Beach
New Smyrna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing