We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual girl's retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Annual girl's retreat”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from another 2 night visit to my favourite hotel in New Smyrna Beach! We stayed in room 307 which has 2 double beds, and they are soooo comfortable, and lovely sheets and duvet covers. Had spa treatments on both days, and of course loved them as usual. Ate at Riverview Grille both nights, once with room service, and the other on the deck overlooking the river. Food is always great. The staff is wonderful at all 3 places. If you haven't stayed here, give yourself a treat. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want 2 double beds, I recommend 304 on the first floor, or 307 on the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you chose to stay with us once again for your annual girl's retreat. We really appreciate your great comments. I am happy you enjoy the Grille at the Riverview. We look forward to seeing you again for your next Annual Girl's Retreat. -William Geller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    87
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
220
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
abower83
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for the Daytona500 race weekend. We were a family of 4 adults and an infant in a crib. I have mostly great things to say about the Riverview. What struck me was how kind, conversational and helpful the staff was. They loved our son, he's quite a ham for attention so no surprise. But they offered great advice and did everything we would expect to accommodate the family. That said, I was bummed out to arrive and find they didn't have a crib or pack n play onsite for our son. I thought I'd spoken to someone when booking who said they did...so we ended up spending $45 on one at WalMart. Not irreparable, but it seems like any hotel would have onsite just in case. (yea, most likely their clientele is mostly adult). Anywho, i feel like i have to stress that we got over that fast because we had a lovely porch that our son ran around on all the time, his favorite was the drawbridge going up and down on the north causeway. I read other reviews that raved about that restaurant next door. For sure it was convenient but it got loud on Friday night with all the car and people traffic. Other lovely touches--continental breakfast in bed each morning, delicious chocolate mints on the pillows, seriously comfy pillows. I also loved the all white bedding and fluffy towels and terry robes. I wouldn't be fair if i didn't say a couple things which i didn't live: our feet were black and sticky if we walked around without shoes, white socks turned black. the sofa bed in the exec suite is bit more uncomfortable than we'd have liked for the price. However, i don't want to end on a bad note. I would recommend this to others who enjoy something a little different when traveling to the beach....which is a lovely four block walk away on the fun Flagler avenue.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahologirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed our customer service. We work very hard to see that our guest are taken care of in every respect. I am very sorry to hear that a crib was not available when you arrived, I immediately went out and bought a brand new crib the next day. To be honest we had one, so when I saw your review I was confused. Soon after I found out it was not in working order and the message had not gotten to me yet. I can now ashore you we will have a crib available upon your next return. Regarding your other comment about the floor, I have my house keeping staff on it at the moment. We do in fact vacuum the floor every day, so I was also surprised to here this was a issue. Thank you for your very helpful comments and look forward to seeing you upon your next stay. -William Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to stay here for a couple of nights. The staff was wonderful..very friendly, helpful, and just made me feel very comfortable. The room was very clean the bed was super comfortable! The pool is heated and it made for great morning swims. I will be back next year for my retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were in New Smyrna for business and chose to stay here because of some recomendations by some friends. The staff were really nice and catered to anything we needed. The rooms were really clean and comfy. This is definitly not your typical hotel chain such as a Best Western. Luckely i got a chance to see one of their newley renovated rooms at was happy they were staying true to the uniqueness of the hotel. I will definitly be back so i can really get a chance to enjoy the visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgreen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is charming and has a wonderful mix of 'old Florida' with modern comforts. The staff is very accommodating and informative. The rooms are well apointed. And the small extras were greatly appreciated including a gift bag of enticements and samples from the spa, the top notch L'Occitane amenities in the bath, the plush robes, even well thought out down to the black 'make up' towel in the bath among the other soft white towels. The details helped to make this stay memorable.

The walking distance restaurants, along with the on site Grille, offer great dining options. Definately easy to fill a short stay.

We enjoyed this experience so much, we are already booked for another stay in just a couple of months! I recommend this property to Florida residents looking for a getaway that doesn't have to be on the beach (since we live here). The river is enjoyable with its dophins surfacing with the wake of boats idling by, and the ocean is a short walk away. And for those non-Floridians, it will give you a taste of old Florida with all the excitement of the new nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ-likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stay here for our anniversary almost every year; this is despite having our own condo on the beach at New Smyrna. I love older B & Bs and this is one of the best. Great service and the spa is always an additional treat!

Room Tip: The Executive Suite on the second floor has a separate sitting area with couch, desk, TV to add some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words and loyalty to our establishment. We always do our best to exceed our guest expectations, especially when we know its a special occasion such as a anniversary. Happy Anniversary and we hope to see your again next year. Kind Regards -William Heller General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My new husband and I were surprised with a two night stay starting the night after our wedding. Neither of us had ever stayed here before and we were both very happy with it. We live in New Smyrna Beach and as we all know it is a very small town. While we were there noone but the people who got the room for us knew where we were and this hotel was so cozy and quiet we had privacy the whole time. We loved that it was in walking distance to exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner spots. We were able to enjoy the relaxing pool area of the Spa at Riverview and also dinner at the Grille at Riverview which was pricey but worth every penny. We also really enjoyed getting our continental breakfast delivered to our room, our patio view of the river and the drawbridge. The woman at the front counter was always so nice and also got ice for us when we needed it. And this may sound silly but both my husband, and i thought the TV was awesome. It felt like you were there. We were so very pleased with every aspect of our stay, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsx0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all our luxurious amenities. We are glad you got to try out one of our newly renovated rooms with our 46" flat screen T.V.s. It is very nice to hear that all of our hard work has payed off. We are continuing our renovation through the hotel, so upon your return we can't wait to should you all of our additional renovations. Till next time kind regards - William Heller General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing