We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel... very friendly & helpful staff... romantic setting... view from our room was incredible... walking distance to the beach and shopping... surrounding by bars & restaurants within walking distance... couldn't have had a better weekend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad to see we exceeded your expectations and that your enjoyed the location of our historic hotel. We are really lucky to have such a wonderful location located directly on the river and walking distance to all the great shops and restaurants. We can't wait to have your back again. Kind Regards -William Heller General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 381 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times now. The staff are wonderful and helpful. The pool and rooms are fabulous. We are looking forward to going again for a few days pampering. The hotel has a spa nearby and we spent a day there having a couple of pampers lunch and some sunshine. Great.

Room Tip: Room 5 faces the pool and altough a lovely room there is no chair and the bed is very high. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valceramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stopped here for the second time on the way south last week. Great little hotel right on the water and a short walk from town and the ocean. Dockage was $15 if you stayed in the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best deals in New Smyrna. The rooms are very quiet with a fabulous restaurant on premisis& a first class spa behind the hotel. Their gift shop is open 24/7 for ice,etc and someone always available for assistance. A small cozy hotel with very warm feeling,

Room Tip: We have always stayed in same room overlooking river. Huge balcany you can just rock or eat on glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently spent 18 days at The Riverview Hotel and enjoyed every one. Although a little old fashioned the Hotel is spotless and nothing is too much for thr staff. New Smyrna beach has a lot to offer the traveller with many good eating places of all types, a superb beach and close enough to the many Florida attractions to make days out great fun for all. For the new management team please don't update the hotel too much as you will loose it's great charm and warmth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the groud floor give wonderful access to the very provate pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I have to say, I had high expectations after reading all the reviews. I bought a groupon, and tried booking right away, but they were sold out for all weekends.I had to pay extra to extend the groupon. The room was spacious, we stayed at a honeymoon suite with river and bridge view.we saw dolphins play in the river which was nice, just the noise is a little annoying.I also wish there was a thermostat in each room.they must have had the AC down to 70 or less, it was really cold, especially when it is mid 80 outside.I had a sore throat because of that. They do serve breakfast to your room which is a nice add on service, including the morning newspaper.don't expect too much from breakfast though, no eggs or toast.just a little fruit and tiny pastries (we got two mini cinnamon buns), with coffee and orange juice. At night they have a turn down service, we listened to this long speech that they would get the bed ready, empty the garbage and put chocolates out etc. Our room was missed which was very disappointing. We told the front desk but were not offered anything in exchange. The bottle of wine for the room was a nice add on though, they even give you ice, as well as the cookies and apples downstairs. It's a cute hotel, but all in all I would not stay there again.even with the groupon the value was just not there (also because of the extra fee we had to pay). But all in all I would give it more than three stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your recent feed back. We take our reviews very seriously. I am glad you enjoyed the view of the river from your room, it certainly is a one of a kind view, however I personally would like to apologize for you not getting the service you deserve regarding the turn down service we have every night. All of our house keepers work very hard to exceed expectations so this is certainly a situation that we do not consider normal. My staff investigated the issue and found that our newest house keeper made the mistake. She found that the dead bolt on the door was locked and did not know her key opened both locks. She thought you were in you room still and did not want to disturb you. We have since communicated the mistake with her to make sure it will not happen again. Regarding the thermostat in the rooms, I am very sorry you had a issue with the temperature and could not personally control the temperature for your room. While many find our historic hotel to be a plus, some times we do run into some issues that take longer to come up with a solution, such as being able to put personal a/c units in each room. But i can assure you we are working to solve this issue and think about it every day. However we are always welcome to change the temperature to meet our guest needs. Should this happen again, please let our front desk staff know and it will be handled as soon as possible. I am also very sorry the noise from the small historic road next to our hotel known as Flagler Ave was disturbing you. Many find the location next to our lively hometown road with lots of shops and entertainment to be a plus, i am sorry that it did not meet your needs. Should you let us know next time you visit i am sure we can come up with a solution to meet your needs. We are always striving to make our hotel the best for our guest, should there ever be any other issues we welcome all of our guest to communicate with us so we can address any concerns as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having stayed here on a few weekends in the past I am compelled to mention the "old fashioned" service coupled with room containing modern amenities while maintaining the era. I have all good things to say about the Riverview. As close to a quaint Bed & Breakfast you'll find, but with the modernity of a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenPicardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feed back. We cherish all of our guests opinions. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed all of your past experiences with us. We certainly would love to have you back show you can see all of the wonderful improvements we've made. If there is anything else we can do for you don't hesitate to ask. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#9 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $145 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing