We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel at busy bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cute hotel at busy bridge”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I have to say, I had high expectations after reading all the reviews. I bought a groupon, and tried booking right away, but they were sold out for all weekends.I had to pay extra to extend the groupon. The room was spacious, we stayed at a honeymoon suite with river and bridge view.we saw dolphins play in the river which was nice, just the noise is a little annoying.I also wish there was a thermostat in each room.they must have had the AC down to 70 or less, it was really cold, especially when it is mid 80 outside.I had a sore throat because of that. They do serve breakfast to your room which is a nice add on service, including the morning newspaper.don't expect too much from breakfast though, no eggs or toast.just a little fruit and tiny pastries (we got two mini cinnamon buns), with coffee and orange juice. At night they have a turn down service, we listened to this long speech that they would get the bed ready, empty the garbage and put chocolates out etc. Our room was missed which was very disappointing. We told the front desk but were not offered anything in exchange. The bottle of wine for the room was a nice add on though, they even give you ice, as well as the cookies and apples downstairs. It's a cute hotel, but all in all I would not stay there again.even with the groupon the value was just not there (also because of the extra fee we had to pay). But all in all I would give it more than three stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your recent feed back. We take our reviews very seriously. I am glad you enjoyed the view of the river from your room, it certainly is a one of a kind view, however I personally would like to apologize for you not getting the service you deserve regarding the turn down service we have every night. All of our house keepers work very hard to exceed expectations so this is certainly a situation that we do not consider normal. My staff investigated the issue and found that our newest house keeper made the mistake. She found that the dead bolt on the door was locked and did not know her key opened both locks. She thought you were in you room still and did not want to disturb you. We have since communicated the mistake with her to make sure it will not happen again. Regarding the thermostat in the rooms, I am very sorry you had a issue with the temperature and could not personally control the temperature for your room. While many find our historic hotel to be a plus, some times we do run into some issues that take longer to come up with a solution, such as being able to put personal a/c units in each room. But i can assure you we are working to solve this issue and think about it every day. However we are always welcome to change the temperature to meet our guest needs. Should this happen again, please let our front desk staff know and it will be handled as soon as possible. I am also very sorry the noise from the small historic road next to our hotel known as Flagler Ave was disturbing you. Many find the location next to our lively hometown road with lots of shops and entertainment to be a plus, i am sorry that it did not meet your needs. Should you let us know next time you visit i am sure we can come up with a solution to meet your needs. We are always striving to make our hotel the best for our guest, should there ever be any other issues we welcome all of our guest to communicate with us so we can address any concerns as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    89
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
227
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having stayed here on a few weekends in the past I am compelled to mention the "old fashioned" service coupled with room containing modern amenities while maintaining the era. I have all good things to say about the Riverview. As close to a quaint Bed & Breakfast you'll find, but with the modernity of a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenPicardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feed back. We cherish all of our guests opinions. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed all of your past experiences with us. We certainly would love to have you back show you can see all of the wonderful improvements we've made. If there is anything else we can do for you don't hesitate to ask. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A spectacular view of the intracoastal waterway with a SPA that reflects the feeling you are in the islands without ever leaving the states. The old world charm that is eluded from the architecture of the Hotel to the lovely rooms inside gives you a warm welcome to a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cervente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feed back, it is very important to us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and at the spa. We appreciate the kind words regarding our lovely establishment. We have been working very hard to exceed our guest level of expectations. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us any time. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We live in Orlando, and we go to New Smyrna Beach (NSB to us in the area!) almost every weekend for the day, but once in a while we want to stay overnight. There are a lot of condos in NSB, but not many hotels. The Riverview is a beautiful inn on the river, not on the beach, but definitely in walking distance. We discovered it because of a Groupon-type deal, and we have been back twice this year because we loved it so much.

The rooms are more spacious than a lot of older historic inns, and the beds are wonderful. They will deliver breakfast to your room, which is included (I think it's just a continental type breakfast) but there are a few good breakfast places in the area so we haven't ever had the breakfast delivered.

The location, right on Flagler Ave. is great. Flagler is a great little street in the style of little funky touristy beach towns, with lots of shops, some better than others (try Sei, Mika, and Lolo's for the cutest women's clothing, and Butterfly Kisses for Kids for adorable kid's clothing), fun restaurants (Clancy's Cantina for Mexican and a great atmosphere, The Beacon for breakfast, That's Amore for great Italian, and Chucketa's Coffee House for a great place to hang out with good coffee and some computer or reading time).

You can walk to any of these places from the Hotel, and at the end of the day go back to a nice oasis. They have a cute courtyard pool and a nice porch to sit and watch the river and the goings on on Flagler.

A great place to stay - it's totally work it to back a little more for the Honeymoon Suite and get your own balcony with comfy wicker chairs to relax and watch the world go by.

They have a spa which is supposedly great, but I have never been there.

We will definitely become regulars!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is totally worth it for the private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We love that you chose us for your weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city life. It is often that many of our guest come from just a short distance away for a quick getaway that feels like their a million miles away. We really appreciate all the kind feed back regarding our rooms, beds, location, pool area and overall level of service. We will continue to try to exceed your expectations and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a wonderful, close, safe getaway ! We've been staying one night, want to graduate to two! Great staff Home away from home!! Mikhela and Dorothy go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. Oh and the restaurant is worth the trip from Daytona even just for dinner. Lived here 40 years; don't know why we've waited so long!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvakasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great feed back. We are so very happy you finally discovered us. New Smyrna Beach truly is a hidden gem. I guess it wouldn't been such a hidden gem if everyone new about it. But we certainly are trying to get the word out so others such as your self can come get away from the every day stresses of life. Thank you for the compliments regarding our level of service. We try very hard to cater to all our guest needs. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us anytime. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My daughter & I try to meet here at least once a year for some special time together. We love the quaintness of this B & B which is so comfortable right down to the fabulous sheets on the beds. Room 304 is our favourite with 2 dble beds and a porch with wicker chairs. We usually enjoy our complimentary breakfast on the porch. You fill out the menu you want the night before, and hang it outside your door. The Spa is absolutely fantastic, and I'd recommend ordering lunch beside the pool while waiting for your spa services to begin. The Riverview Grille is wonderful for lunch or dinner, and a bonus is seeing the beautiful yachts that are sometimes moored at their dock.. The good news is that next weekend is our next stay at Riverview and we have our massages and facials booked as well. Hope you get to experience this for yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us some feed back. We take all of our feed back very seriously, because the guest is our top priority. We are very happy that you chose us for your special occasion with your daughter. And even happier that you enjoyed your experience with us. Room 304 is a excellent choice for family and friends that want to share a room. especially if their on a budget. We are always working very hard to exceed our guest expectations. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us any time. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent two days here with our 18 month old granddaughter and had a very special time. Had room #310 so she had plenty of running room and no one below us to be bothering :) Breakfast was delivered promptly at the time requested and was very tasty. Veranda was nice and also plenty of room for a toddler to run. The only downside, and I just put this so that they can address it, was the carpet, it is in need of a good cleaning. I'm sure it is just because it is close to the end of the season and I know it must be hard to keep clean with people running back and forth to the beach. Other than that this place was perfect, and the staff went out of their way to be polite and helpful. Thank you for a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tannedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
829 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing