We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience with special memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience with special memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A spectacular view of the intracoastal waterway with a SPA that reflects the feeling you are in the islands without ever leaving the states. The old world charm that is eluded from the architecture of the Hotel to the lovely rooms inside gives you a warm welcome to a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cervente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feed back, it is very important to us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and at the spa. We appreciate the kind words regarding our lovely establishment. We have been working very hard to exceed our guest level of expectations. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us any time. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    86
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
216
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We live in Orlando, and we go to New Smyrna Beach (NSB to us in the area!) almost every weekend for the day, but once in a while we want to stay overnight. There are a lot of condos in NSB, but not many hotels. The Riverview is a beautiful inn on the river, not on the beach, but definitely in walking distance. We discovered it because of a Groupon-type deal, and we have been back twice this year because we loved it so much.

The rooms are more spacious than a lot of older historic inns, and the beds are wonderful. They will deliver breakfast to your room, which is included (I think it's just a continental type breakfast) but there are a few good breakfast places in the area so we haven't ever had the breakfast delivered.

The location, right on Flagler Ave. is great. Flagler is a great little street in the style of little funky touristy beach towns, with lots of shops, some better than others (try Sei, Mika, and Lolo's for the cutest women's clothing, and Butterfly Kisses for Kids for adorable kid's clothing), fun restaurants (Clancy's Cantina for Mexican and a great atmosphere, The Beacon for breakfast, That's Amore for great Italian, and Chucketa's Coffee House for a great place to hang out with good coffee and some computer or reading time).

You can walk to any of these places from the Hotel, and at the end of the day go back to a nice oasis. They have a cute courtyard pool and a nice porch to sit and watch the river and the goings on on Flagler.

A great place to stay - it's totally work it to back a little more for the Honeymoon Suite and get your own balcony with comfy wicker chairs to relax and watch the world go by.

They have a spa which is supposedly great, but I have never been there.

We will definitely become regulars!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is totally worth it for the private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We love that you chose us for your weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city life. It is often that many of our guest come from just a short distance away for a quick getaway that feels like their a million miles away. We really appreciate all the kind feed back regarding our rooms, beds, location, pool area and overall level of service. We will continue to try to exceed your expectations and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a wonderful, close, safe getaway ! We've been staying one night, want to graduate to two! Great staff Home away from home!! Mikhela and Dorothy go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. Oh and the restaurant is worth the trip from Daytona even just for dinner. Lived here 40 years; don't know why we've waited so long!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvakasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great feed back. We are so very happy you finally discovered us. New Smyrna Beach truly is a hidden gem. I guess it wouldn't been such a hidden gem if everyone new about it. But we certainly are trying to get the word out so others such as your self can come get away from the every day stresses of life. Thank you for the compliments regarding our level of service. We try very hard to cater to all our guest needs. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us anytime. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My daughter & I try to meet here at least once a year for some special time together. We love the quaintness of this B & B which is so comfortable right down to the fabulous sheets on the beds. Room 304 is our favourite with 2 dble beds and a porch with wicker chairs. We usually enjoy our complimentary breakfast on the porch. You fill out the menu you want the night before, and hang it outside your door. The Spa is absolutely fantastic, and I'd recommend ordering lunch beside the pool while waiting for your spa services to begin. The Riverview Grille is wonderful for lunch or dinner, and a bonus is seeing the beautiful yachts that are sometimes moored at their dock.. The good news is that next weekend is our next stay at Riverview and we have our massages and facials booked as well. Hope you get to experience this for yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us some feed back. We take all of our feed back very seriously, because the guest is our top priority. We are very happy that you chose us for your special occasion with your daughter. And even happier that you enjoyed your experience with us. Room 304 is a excellent choice for family and friends that want to share a room. especially if their on a budget. We are always working very hard to exceed our guest expectations. If there is anything else we can do for you feel free to contact us any time. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent two days here with our 18 month old granddaughter and had a very special time. Had room #310 so she had plenty of running room and no one below us to be bothering :) Breakfast was delivered promptly at the time requested and was very tasty. Veranda was nice and also plenty of room for a toddler to run. The only downside, and I just put this so that they can address it, was the carpet, it is in need of a good cleaning. I'm sure it is just because it is close to the end of the season and I know it must be hard to keep clean with people running back and forth to the beach. Other than that this place was perfect, and the staff went out of their way to be polite and helpful. Thank you for a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tannedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Riverview is a quaint B&B style hotel just 5 blocks from the beach & on the intra-coastal in the seaside enclave of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Only 18 rooms are available & they sell out quickly, mostly to guests thast have been like myself returning for over a decade.

Room #305 is my favorite with French doors opening to a poolside patio; what a great place to enjoy the breakfast that is delivered to your door! There are numerous place to eat & drink within walking distance to include nextdoor at the Riverside Grille that boasts both a dining & bar menu plus the not to be missed Spanish River minutes away featuring an array of "Tapas" style selections plus many Latin-influenced entrees, fabulous desserts & an award winning wine list! A short ride from the hotel is JB's Fish Camp, a place not to miss for a lively crowd, river-side drinks plus a selection of Florida's freshest seafoods.

Make your resos far in advance to secure your choice of room; they can be viewed on the website at http://www.riverviewhotel.com/. What a singular escape to a non-touristy visit to the sunny shore of central coastal Florida!!!

Room Tip: All the poolside rooms are great; the "Executive Suite" on the second floor is the choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentDinerEHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

You just can't have a bad time in New Smyrna Beach and the Riverview Hotel is a wonderful, classic hotel where breakfast is served each morning on your porch or in your room. It has a good up scale restaurant adjacent that has live music on Sunday afternoons. The Spa at Riverview is first class and books well ahead so if you're interested in getting a treatment plan ahead. The hotel is uniquely furnished with antiques making each room a new experience. The hotel offers free bike rental and is well within walking distance to Flagler Avenue shopping and bar hopping. The hotel has a marina if you travel by sea. The owners are warm and friendly people and every one on their staff treats guests wonderfully. They have great weekend day room specials if you can swing it. Its a great experience and I think perfect for couples or a girl's weekend. Really special.....

Room Tip: Higher floors offer the best view, but first floor rooms open out onto the pool deck. It's an ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#7 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#3 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave., New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing