We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Family Friendly Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, Kentucky
337
Reviewed April 13, 2005

My wife, 6 year old daughter and I stayed at the Islander on April 2-9, 2005. We stayed in unit 508. We have been here many times. This is a timeshare Condo but we do not own a timeshare. We just rent. This place is always a great pick. The units are not fashionable but they are very clean and well equipped. I cannot say enough about the staff and their friendly attitude. My daughter enjoys the daily Kids Club. There are planned activities everyday. The pool is large (for a condo establishment) and offers great vistas of the ocean from your lounge chair. If you do not have to have the Ritz and just want good clean family fun (that has been consistent for us 10 plus years) then this is the place for you. We will back in June.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 235 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit, MI
114
Reviewed March 8, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Islander. We had a great time. The resort is quite attractive, has a very nice pool and lounge area, and is well-positioned on the ocean. The beach, although somewhat damaged by the recent hurricanes, offers a very scenic and beautiful place to walk. Our visit there was excellent and we would definitely return.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canton, OH
110
Reviewed December 5, 2004

The Islander has the best of both worlds...the beach is not overly developed, but if you want a faster pace, Daytona is 30 minutes away and Orlando is less than 2 hours away! The Islander is a place where kids can have fun and adults can relax as well. The staff is very friendly and the property continues to improve and develop. I keep thinking I will trade to another property, but then I ask myself, why? We love the Islander and we look forward to many more years enjoying it as well!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2004

we swapped two weeks from our timeshare in the dominican republic and stayed at the islander beach, which we found to be in an exellent location with breathtaking views out over the atlantic, rooms were well appointed and comfortable, staff especialy Nancy were polite and helpful, not what one would rate as 5 star accomodation but still well worth a visit, so much so we booked a week next year.

10  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Perry, ON CA
114
Reviewed March 5, 2004

We have been enjoying our years of being a time share owner at the Islander. but we found the 700.00 US restoration fee outrageous. We would like to sell our 3 weeks but find it very difficult to find anyone who will buy it. As we live in Ontario we can not use the Islander other than on our holidays so we feel we are not getting our money's worth. The resort itself is a wonderful place to stay.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ontario
110
Reviewed March 4, 2004

the islander is a great resort, i have been visiting there since i was born, i am now 16. and my dad has visited there before i was born as well, the management are very friendly and helpful. i know most of the employees on a first name basis. the rooms are great, very comfortable. the pool is always clean and the new hot tub is a great addition. the beach is clean and well maintained, and even on the weekends the beach is never too crowded. the restaurant is reasonably priced and has good food and service. if you have any questions you can email me. --- i would recommend the islander to anyone looking for a great vacation. i have also been at beach resorts in st.petersburg fl. and the islander is much better than that 5 star resort.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
windsor ontario
116
Reviewed January 25, 2004

I have been an owner at the islander for many years. We have enjoyed many happy vacations there. however one seems to be constantly paying out money for various schemes. The re- sale value of the units is rock bottom one cannnot give them away. I am suprised no one has challanged the resort real estate people on this considering part of the hard sell back in the 1980's was that is is an investment, which as time has proved was B.S. and most people fell for it myself included. This must have happened all over florida with time share sales. I think the Florida Goverment should take a serious look at this industry and clean it up . It sure needs it

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
381 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Orange / Daytona
3 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#9 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $97 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing