We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixture of "just the basics" and a few nice touches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A mixture of "just the basics" and a few nice touches.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas and I would concur with other reviewers, the Islander Beach Resort is an older, but clean property with a nice staff. I didn't realize that this property started as a time share, and so I was surprised to find that the room was not cleaned daily. It might have been helpful to be informed of that on check-in, and maybe given an activity schedule. And yes, the bathroom is extremely small. But I will give them kudos for an extra nice pool and deck area and a perfect beach location. Overall, it's nothing fancy but was sufficient for our needs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jgaltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    27
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Older hotel. Reasonably clean. On the beach was the bonus along with an outdoor pool. Room was nice. We had a studio. Air conditioner was very loud. First night we were so tired we did not notice it as we slept. 2nd night we had troubles sleeping with the noisy air conditioner. Only planned to stay one day but after walking on the beach and enjoying it all day we decided to relax and stay one more day. WiFi worked great. At night I connected our laptop to their TV and streamed Netflix & watched what we wanted. Overall well worth it. Only next time we would get a room with a balcony and a quiet air conditioner. Staff is very courteous.

Room Tip: Room with balconies looked a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandersWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very Clean and nice we are going back in October. I read some of the reviews before we went and found some things to be wrong. The Ice is on every other floor you can get clean sheets every day just by taking them down to the laundry the bathroom is more than adequate with plenty of hot water etc. You need to read the paperwork that is in the room! The room was equipped with everything we needed .
So everything was just perfect we made sure to book a room with a balcony. We asked for 4th floor or above when we booked and ended up on the 3rd floor. They can’t change your room or help you at this place because everything is through Booking.com . I have removed Booking.com from my Android and will never use them again if possible. They charged me $1.06 every day for a safe that I did not use and 50 Cents a day for a local phone that I never used. I just think it’s not right to do that..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslanderGM, General Manager at Islander Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Ice...All units at the resort have kitchens and all refrigerators have an ice maker.
10 pound bags of ice are also sold at the front desk for people needing bulk ice.
There are no ice machines on every other floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here in June. Everything was wonderful! Especially enjoyed the pool area with my grand kids! There are so many fun activities for all ages. The room was very nice and very clean! Will return next year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank rdkill31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am reading the other reviews here..and yes, it is a bit older, but it is clean, spotless, and well kept up! We had all the conveniences of home in the kitchen! Bring your own toiletries, and that is fine with me because I always do! The staff is most friendly and helpful and it is definitely family oriented! The location on the beach is great! close to Flagler and the night life if that is what you like, and yet the hotel itself is quiet if you prefer that as my husband and I do.
We will definitely be back and we will definitely book this hotel...there are plenty of choices, i see..but this is our first visit to this area and why mess with a good thing?

Room Tip: Get an "Ocean Front" room if you can..but if you can't, no worries, you don't spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading some of the reviews here I didn't know what to expect. And although I was disappointed in not having a balcony/ocean view with our Studio Unit, I got over that quickly because of the delightful pool deck area. This resort is a "sneaker" because of the age of the resort...but it is clean, clean, clean....and the staff is very accomodating and friendly. We are going to book for next summer. Loved this resort. The activities are fun, it is definitely child/family friendly. Great ocean access. Love this place. Have to say this is one of our best vacations, EVER!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ognam7588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Another great trip to the IBR in New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Everything was clean and tidy. Our annual trip is based around the kids and everyone hated to leave. The location is great, about a mile south of main tourist thoroughfare (Flagler Ave.) and three blocks south of the closest automobile beach access if you want to drive along the beach.

Room Tip: Elevators are small and a bit slow, so lower floor levels may be more convenient than the 7th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing