We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to enjoy the sun and surf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy the sun and surf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we had booked an ocean front room and I must say we were not disappointed with our view! The hotel is a bit dated, but the property is well maintained and is kept very clean and tidy. Our room was about 400 sq. ft. but the way it was laid out is seemed much larger. There were just the two of us, but our room had a queen-size bed and a sofa sleeper that would have accommodated two additional adults. Our room had a full kitchen, a living room with a flat screen TV and a bedroom with another TV. Our view of the ocean was spectacular. If I had one negative to point out it would be the size of the bathroom--but it did serve the purpose and there was plenty of hot water and the shower worked well etc. There was a lovely swimming pool and two hot tubs to choose from and each day there were activities if you wanted to participate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landdwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    27
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week mid April 2013. We had exchanged our timeshare to this resort. Initially we were booked into a side unit although this had a partial view. We asked if we could change to an ocean front unit and were very happy that they could do this.
We had a good size 1 bedroom unit with an additional pull down bed in the lounge area. As there was just the two of us, this wasn't used. Nice full size kitchen with dishwasher and a second bathroom off the lounge.
Fabulous views from our east facing balcony, overlooking the pool and beach. Perfect for breakfast in the sun !
The unit was a little tired looking and the sliding door between the master bedroom and lounge would not have given much privacy if another couple were sleeping in the lounge area.
The bedroom had no windows so it was pretty dark in there and the bathroom was typical of a Days Inn with only the toilet and bath area having a door. These were the only negative points however.
Plenty of activities taking place throughout the week, tailored for all ages.
We would return here.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front not ocean view. This should get you one overlooking the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location on the beach was fabulous, and the beach was nice enough to take a good walk on. The pool area was very spacious and many lounger chairs for people. They also had sitting chairs on the beach for guests to use. They had 2 hot tubs - one for family use and one for adults only. They also had a bean bag toss game and shuffleboard off to the sides on the pool deck.

Flagler Ave was very fun to visit. There were many fun restaurants, boutiques, and shops to visit. Barracuda's off of Flagler near the ocean had excellent food and service. Ask the front desk about the free golf cart taxi. He accepts tips and was very fast and friendly!

This place has an amazing location. It isn't too far from the craziness of Daytona during Speedweeks, but gives you the relaxing part of the vacation. It was in a safe neighborhood. It is an older building, but most places along the ocean in that area are. It was nicely modeled. The kitchen had enough supplies we needed to cook our own meals. The balcony was FABULOUS. We had a great view from the 5th floor of the sunrise every morning. The murphy bed and pull out couch bed were comfortable enough for that style of bed. The only thing we didn't like was the master bedroom did not have a window to view the ocean. Also, the bathrooms were a little small, but again, many of them are in those buildings. It was nice to have the sink and mirror "outside" of the bathroom. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call in advance and request an ocean view room. They were very helpful when we called a week in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Actually, not sure how nice the hotel is. My rating is based on the "customer service", or lack thereof!!!! I booked a reservation on Wednesday, Feb. 27 for Friday, March 1st. I called 3 1/2 hours after booking to cancel & was denied because they require 7 days cancelation notice...WHAT??????? It wasn't booked 7 days out! Also, according to their site there was only one room left. So did they think they weren't going to sell it??? Doubt it! So now they're double dipping! They couldn't cancel & refund my money but they will turn around and sell this room to someone else. Terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE! No compassion or thinking out of the box.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslanderGM, General Manager at Islander Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
This reservation was made through Booking.com. It was clearly stated that it was a final sale. The Islander could not "resell" or double dip" because we did not have control of the inventory. By the time the inventory could be re-loaded back into the system the date would have passed. I strongly suggust when it is clearly spelled out no refunds that if you cancel you should not expect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We traveled here with my mother in law (who owns a timeshare) during October 2012. The location was convenient to town. The beachfront view was awesome! It was great to be able to step out in the balcony and the ocean was right there! The staff were all very helpful! Plenty of kids activities during the day that kept my 2 year old busy! Very clean overall, the room was great! Some parts of the resort were showing signs of age, but nothing that would turn me away from staying again! They also had adult activities during the day, bingo etc. We didn't have a chance to use the spa/salon. Bartender at restaurant was very friendly - and made us a nice tropical drink to sip by the pool! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laern96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We realized that this was only a suite, but it was more like a made over cheap hotel room. The bath/toilet room was so small one could not open the door with the bath mat on the floor. The bedroom! seemed more like a used-to-be balcony. There was a view of the beach, but no balcony. If the sofa was converted into a bed, the bedroom person would have to climb over them to the bathroom, if need in the middle of the night. It did have a working refrigerator, low powered microwave, an old stove, and a dishwasher. There were only 4 sets of dishware, so with four people the dishes would need to be washed before the next meal. There were also a sofa, lounge chair and small table with four chairs. It's right on the beach with a full sized pool, children's pools, and a Jacuzzi. The elevators were small and slow. We would never choose these accommodations again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a suite unless you don't plan to spend much time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tcmyhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Alle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This sweet resort is not new - but feels like home. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are large, spacious and decorated nicely, although it does have a tiny bit of wear. The kitchens are outfitted spectacularly. The outdoor heated pool is large and clean, as well as the saunas. The grounds and pool are maintained beautifully and every room faces the ocean. The location is conveniently located to restaurants and shopping - and walking distance to Flager Avenue. I plan on coming back every winter!

Room Tip: I would not stay on the ground floor - I was on the 7th and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieH793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing