We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

i have stayed at "the islander" about 6 times now. we have enjoyed "girls getaways". it has been a great time. EVERYTIME! the pool is great for sun and the full timers are very friendly. we always find someone to talk to. i would tell everyone to come here for a good, clean place to stay for the money. i plan on taking my kids here for their first time to florida!!!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank thmfic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    27
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

We have stayed at The Islander twice in the past few months due to having a family member in the area who has been ill. This place is wonderful. It is very reasonably priced and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

Check in was swift and very friendly, however I will caution you about your "check in bonus." This is a woman who sits over by the elvator and tries to get you to go to a seminaar about time shares. She really can be very harrassing and it was so bad that my fiance had to get a little nasty with her to get her to leave us alone.

The rooms are very clean, and yes the bathrooms are small but they are very functionable and extremly clean. The Murphy's beds are comfortable and clean and there is a ton of storage space so that you do not have a lot of clutter going on during your stay. The kitchens are equiped with just about everything you could possibly need and it is all modern and up to date.

The atmosphere is very fun and friendly and the little diner that is open on the weekends downstairs is a lot of fun as well. It is within walking distance of Flagler Ave.

  • Liked — The quaint uniqeness of the rooms
  • Disliked — The red headed lady who was rude and pushy trying to get us to go to a time share seminar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank honestmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

This property is very old and dated. We actually stayed one night and then left. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Old and dated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jwpolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2007

We have a timeshare at the Islander. It is one of the nicest places on the ocean front. If you are looking for fancy then you need to look elsewhere. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, friendly people, a great pool, great views of the ocean, then come to the Islander. We have come here every year in April for the past 4 years and every visit is great. We have stayed on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors, every one with a terrific view. My boyfriend who owns the timeshare has been coming down here for 20 years, and he wouldn't stay anywhere else. My two teenage sons who come with us always meet new friends and sometimes see old friends. They always find plenty to do. We would recommend the Islander to anyone, it is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The view and the staff
  • Disliked — too short of a time there
  • Tips/Secrets — watch the activities signs in the elevators there is something for everyone
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Spen673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2006

When we arrived we easily checked in to a clean room with a lovely view.

The only problem with the room is that the bathroom is barely large enough to stand in, with the toilet and tub/shower in the same room leaving about 2 sq. ft. to stand when coming out of the shower. We had a person with limited mobility in our party and this was a major problem.

The hotel has quite a few amenities, the pool and weight room being the most updated of these. Unfortunately, none of the amenities are open after 11pm or very early in the morning.

The facility has direct access to the public beach, however, the access is bolted and locked after 11pm and there is no sign indicating this. We were locked out the first night and totally ignored by security staff.

Cleaning staff was very helpful, but other staff was somewhat cool towards us once we were checked in.

If you're not a night owl or an early riser, and you don't suffer any mobility problems, then this would be a nice facility to stay at for the price.

  • Liked — Beach view
  • Disliked — Bathroom, amenities closed too early
  • Tips/Secrets — Not recommended for those with limited mobility or night owls
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank ParrotLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberts Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2006

My wife and I recently took a break from our Nova Scotia weather and had a wonderful and relaxing vacation at the Islander Beach Resort. This was the third trip we have made to quiet and interesting New Smyrna Beach. Every stay was booked at this resort and we are never disappointed. The excellent staff is friendly and efficient. At the outside chance that something in our unit is not up to snuff, it is quickly remedied with pleasant humour. Sometimes when tourists visit other countries, they are treated as less than equals. We have heard too many horror stories about ruined trips, wasted money and spoiled vacations to not give proper kudos where they are de- served. The decor is appropriately tropical for the palm-treed locale. The lobby is decorated with one-of-a-kind art that is also featured in the resort brochure. The small cafe on site is perfect for a quick snack or poolside bite. It seems a small miracle that this resort was once a typical boxy hotel. The many and varied floorplans each offer pleasant surprises unto themselves {so you might have a different configuration with the same class suite]. The resort is convenient to all types of shopping and the activities staff are happy to assist with planning sight-seeing in town. We say 3 cheers & 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Novcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2006

OK, we have read the reviews of the New Smyrna Beach "Islander" hotel. From our point of view, as purchasers of a "RESALE" we are happy with the VALUE for our buck. We have been with the Islander for 3 years and are happy with the simplicity, cleanliness,and the "just-right-on-the-beach-ness" of it all.

It's not the Ritz, but neither is the price. We thought of selling since we just bought another, very expensive, high end time-share in Maui, but decided to keep it because it is SUCH a value for the two of us who live in So. Carolina,USA and just want a week of warmer weather in FL during the winter holidays.

Ask yourselves, what are your needs and wants before purchasing a timeshare. The Islander is not a bad deal for some folks (There are many who swear by this place and return over and over again for many years!) but for others it might not be the right thing. For us, it was a value deal, so close to home,.... but we also only purchased a one-bedroom and one-bath for only one week. Don't kid yourself on larger units and longer stays....you really pay for them in annual fees..... be wise according to your needs and pocketbook. As with any other hotels or resorts, your fees and expenses will go up with inflation...so don't be stupid about the costs of ownership. Look at this for the long run, when YOU WILL BE THE WINNER. Travel is NOT cheap, but time-shares are the way to decrease your expenses, ESPECIALLY if you have children to feed in expensive restaurants and desire to go to theme park attractions (that will break you right there!)

For us, this is a cheap vacation, to rest and restore our souls and minds before Spring Semester and the stress of teaching young adults begin..... but we have simple needs and smaller pocketbooks (as university professors.) Then we look forward to our EVERY-OTHER-YEAR-expensive-we-deserve-it-timeshare vacation in Hawaii. You get what you pay for, folks.

For the money, the Islander is a great value. Good luck and HAPPY travels to you!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Rooms
Helpful?
17 Thank RW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing