We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”
Review of Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I are our small dog (Gus) spent 4 great days at the Longboard Inn in Feb 2011. Our room and bath were spacious and decorated with beautiful hand-painted beach scenes. The bed was very comfortable, and the patio furniture outside the room was a great touch. There's a nice area in the yard for quick doggie walks and a park just a block or two away. There's no doubt that John and Dee have perfected the "breakfast" in B&B -- home-made breads, fresh fruit, and a delicious "main" dish each morning (herbed scrambled eggs, blueberry french toast, an apple/cheddar bake, and a ham/cheese quiche). Will definitely return--and hopefully find warmer temps! One quick warning: we approach this B&B from the A1A and were initially a bit concerned about the location. However, going out the "back way" to Riverside Drive towards the marina allowed us to see the more touristy/beachy side of NSB.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggantt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 171 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights for a valentines day get away. My boyfriend normally hates b&bs because of the lack of privacy. But he really liked this one as our room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable and felt very private. This place has all of the charm of an older Florida home but with awesome modern bathrooms, a/c and direct tv. Great location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and parks. Gardens and patio areas charming and beautifully maintained. I can see why this is so popular for weddings. So pretty. The innkeeper John could not have been more accommodating and yet was never intrusive. According to other reviews their breakfast is awesome but their beds were so comfy we weren't able to get up in time to try it. Maybe tomorrow, our last day.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arabella47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Most romantic and fantastic place in New Smyrna. We look forward to returning in a few months.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have been staying at the Longboard Inn a couple times each year, when we visit family in New Smyrna Beach, since the Inn opened 8 years ago. For the last 6 years that John and Dee have owned it we have had consistently great experience. Their hospitality is always so warm (including recently when we were in NSB as a relative was dying and for the funeral after), the full breakfasts are both delicious and nourishing, the rooms are beautifully decorated. We have stayed both in the rooms and the suites, and both locations offer some lovely outdoor sitting areas. For those who want to get the the beach it's easy access---if you are a runner you can easily run to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walt231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

After many hours of searching for a hotel in the New Smyrna I am so glad we found the Longboard Inn B&B. My only regret is not being able to stay for more than one night. The location is perfect for those who love the beach area but prefer a quiet place to stay. Just minutes away from many restaurants and the night life of Flagler Avenue. We were warmly welcomed from the minute we pulled into the parking area. The breakfast was outstanding, quiche was served with various breads and spreads. Can't wait for our next visit to the New Smyrna area and a longer stay at this charming bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The longboard inn is an exceptional b&b run by John and Dee. The rooms are very clean and John, inn keeper, will go out of his way to make you happy. If there is something you are missing at breakfast, just ask and John will be sure to have it the next day. The inn is beautifully decorated in surfer decor and breakfast consists of a different selection of numerous homemade breads (gingerbread, marmalade, banana and zucchinni), incredible raspberry cream cheese, scrambled eggs with fresh herbs, french toast, etc. which are all delicious and dangerous to your waistline (if staying too long :)). The location is EXCELLENT by being 45 - 60 minutes from Orlando attractions (Disney, Universal) and Kennedy Space Flight Center. If you are looking for a location that is easier to get to on a launch day, this is an ideal location. We were back at the b&b in 2 hrs. after fighting traffic rather than what looked like a LONG journey with most of the traffic going to Orlando or around Titusville. The town of New Smyrna Beach, is VERY quiet as it mostly shuts down around 9pm. The beach is 2 miles from the B&B and there are many good restaurants in and around New Smyrna Beach. So, if you are looking for a b&b that is in a peaceful setting (there is a train that goes by, but very briefly [about 3 horn blows are heard out in the distance, otherwise no sound heard]) . You will relax here and I am sure you will find everything delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank computerprokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Longboard Inn for 3 nights. We wished we could have stayed longer. The facilities are clean and comfortable. John and Dee could not have been more accommodating. Wine at check-in and a wonderful breakfast every morning. A short walk to the "mainland downtown" for shopping and dining. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WdotDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
862 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
972 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#3 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
469 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: 312 Washington St, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7070 (Formerly Longboard Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $145 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Inn is a craftsman style bungalow with six private bath guest rooms. We are dedicated to providing a personal, warm, friendly, and comfortable environment that nurtures the spirit and refreshes the mind, while striving to fulfill your expectations of quality to ensure your visit is and experience to remember. Prefect for romantic get away, girls weekend or family reunion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing