We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nocturne Motel(New Smyrna Beach)(Great Value!)
$95
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
New Smyrna Waves By Exploria Resorts(New Smyrna Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western Edgewater Inn(Edgewater)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pirates Cove(Daytona Beach Shores)
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Hotel(Daytona Beach)(Great Value!)
$134
$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
17
14
14
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
14
14
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

The Seahorse In Beach Side is an awesome little hotel! You are less than a 1/8 of a mile from the beach! While talking with the manager, Don, I found out so many interesting things about this old hotel. It was built in 1956 and has been proudly serving New Smyrna since then. It has an old school beach charm. We felt safe and secure during our entire vacation. While the rooms are smaller, older and could use some updating, they served the purpose. I did not see a bug in sight the entire time we were there. I saw management spraying for bugs on a daily basis to keep things in check. It is Florida after all. Overall, this place was worth staying at. I would stay here again. If you are looking for luxury, this place isn't for you. If you are looking for a place to sleep and keep your stuff while you visit New Smyrna Beach, this is it. Please support this original, local business. Keep the charm of New Smyrna Beach alive!

Room Tip: Call to ask about room/bed setup. The pictures online may be outdated.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skw61315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

$100 for a night in a beach motel is not bad, but really ,never OK for live roaches running around the room. We killed 3 within 30 minutes in our room! The ceiling fan was so caked with dust, we were afraid to turn it on. We ended up driving back home an hour away at 11:00 at night!
Motel was quaint. Literally, walking distance to the beach. The motel was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there before. They had never seen roaches there.
Very close to restaurants and shopping, too.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

This place is a step back in time, but not in a good way. I don't understand where others have stayed and rate this place anything above poor. They must have stayed in tents and sleeping bags. It is a great location for someone who is here for an event like bike week and is just looking for a place to shower, but beyond that it leaves a lot to be desired. The man at the desk and maid was very nice and tried to be helpful. This place was built in 1956, and looks and feels like it has not been renovated since. If you can get past the dirty hairy shower floors, walls falling apart, mold growing around the window AC, AC filter thick with dust (I hope). Dirty, lip stick stained pillow cases, dirty floors, cracks around door big enough to see thru. The night life pounding thru the walls and doors from the bars next door. Then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olsalt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

We gave this small place a try based on reviews read here. It met our expectations which was a clean, friendly room for the night.

Like others said- right at the beach, right in the middle of restaurants/stores/nightlife, is older and outdated, but our room was very clean. Bed was comfortable, tv worked fine. Our only negative was that it was a bit noisy through the walls and door. I put the window AC unit onto running the fan the whole time so that we didn't hear the noisy people outside our door and in the next room. That wasn't the Seahorse Inn's fault, just some noisy people out for a good time....which we understood.

All in all- very affordable for a room right at the beach and the gentleman at the front desk was very polite and helpful, even letting us use the computer for our airline check in.

We would stay here again if we could get a room in the corner to minimize the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are fairly noisy with traffic and nightlife so stay away from Flagler Ave. side if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ga5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016

It depends on your needs, age and budget. This is an old Florida motel built when terrazzo floors were the thing. Small room with a queen size bed. An adequate TV, Old shower but enough pressure to do the job. A microwave has been added. The small coffee maker provided malfunctioned when I was there. But there is a breakfast place and a 7-11 less than 500 feet away. If you are a young surfer dude who wants to be in the heart of the night life without having to drive or needs the beach close by so to carry your board isn't an ordeal, this could work. Especially since rooms are under $100 and all the clubs and the beach are within 5 blocks. I found the sheets to be a little scratchy but the bed itself was OK. The manager does not arrive until 9AM so forget a wake up call. There is construction about a block away. It may be a little noisy in the early morning for light sleepers who are not morning people. If you are a senior who needs a handicap bar in he shower or a ramp you might want to pay a little extra $ for a nicer hotel. So like I said. It depends.

Room Tip: In the corner away from the street.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostaRicaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews