We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion motel”

Seahorse Inn Beach Side
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Smyrna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorse Inn Beach Side
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My Husband and I wanted to get away for our anniversary at the last moment. The staff at the Seahorse Inn were very nice and helpful with local activities. The room's are very small and basic. Perfect for a beach stay. The bed was very comfey and the room was very clean. We will return any time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkpalmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

First, let me say that I am an old-time Floridian transplanted to the North, and I was looking for the beach experience I had as a kid in the 1960s. I found it!

The Seahorse Inn Beachside is an old-fashioned roadside motel with a great website and a beach-colony atmosphere. Even though we are normally pretty shy, the people were friendly, and we enjoyed talking to guests of all ages. The owner greeted us, and set us up with a large room (two full-size beds and a twin) complete with closet, tiny refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. We appreciated finding four complete sets of towels, lots of hot and cold cups, and complementary toiletries. Our only complaint: no bath mat for the floor. It smelled clean and we appreciated the terrazzo floors (carpeting near a beach can get really disgusting).

Things were pretty quiet at night, although in our particular room, the wakeup call comes courtesy of the dumpster next door.

Location, location, location! There are other fun motels, but this one is right in the heart of the beach district. There was lots of information about where to go and things to do, with helpful maps, both in the office and in our room.

Best of all, the beach is within easy walking distance, even for little kids and elderly parents. And what a beach! Glorious sand, waves, and wildlife.

For breakfast, don't miss the homey atmosphere, great cooking, and surprisingly low prices of the Beacon, just across the street.

While we were there the town closed early - at 6:00PM, so if you like to eat late, expect to go to the mainland. That said, the street that the motel is on has lots of cute shops and comfortable eateries. There is a 7-11 next to the Beacon. The town has a great mix of locals, bikers (think motorcycle), surfers, snowbirds, and visitors. We were completely charmed and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twofishbluefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Seahorse Inn is a great place to stay for a couple of days, and you can't beat the price.
It's kind of old and maybe a little beaten, but the place is kept clean and there is plenty of room to move around.
The staff is genuinely friendly and easygoing it looks like they've been working together for a while.

Very short walk to the beach!
Bring cash! The diner across the street doesn't take plastic

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chrisp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This is an inexpensive, clean, old-school motel located one very short block from the beach and about 3/4 of a mile from the Bob Ross teaching facility (straight down Atlantic Ave., which runs right next to the motel). They have a special rate for folks attending the certification classes there. I stayed for three weeks while attending the course in February. I highly recommend that anyone wishing to stay at Seahorse make their reservations pretty far in advance. It is so close to the beach and so inexpensive that all 21 rooms fill up quickly, particularly during the summer and fall.

There are about a dozen restaurants nearby. A really good mom & pop cafe is literally across the street for having breakfast. There is a great barbeque place on the street behind the motel, There is another place one block away that has incredible food and huge windows looking over the beach and the ocean. There is a sports bar right next door that plays live music some nights (if you have any energy left after 9 hours of painting). There is also a great Italian place a block away and even an internet cafe / sandwich shop within a block. Plus there are little shops all up and down the street and an art gallery district a very short drive away.

Any time there are Bob Ross classes running there are usually several students staying at this motel and they always hang out before and after class. Usually they pair up to share rides to and from class as well. When the training programs are running, visitors can expect to see Ross students coming and going with amazing paintings on a daily basis. Many of them will sell the paintings on the spot if you make a reasonable offer. This saves them the expense of shipping them home.

The motel is in the shape of a U around a center parking lot. There are benches and chairs all the way around and folks sit out in the evenings and chat. Many of the rooms have plenty of space for a family, although I only saw individuals and couples while I was there. Then again, it was off-season and kids were still in school. The motel has a web site called, "SeahorseInnFlorida" which shows photos of each and every room. You can even reserve a room on their site and select a specific room if it is available. Most rooms are non-smoking, but there are three available with smoking. Every room has a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Two of the big rooms have actual kitchens. There is also wireless internet access in the motel and off-street parking. The rooms are clean, but not fancy. This is an older motel, but well kept with flowers and palm trees around the parking lot.

If I had to come up with any quirks to this place, it would be the fact that the water may run hotter or colder occasionally when your immediate neighbors try to shower at the same time as you. If you wake up early to shower before you have breakfast, the water temperature really isn't much of a problem because most will sleep later then head straight for the beach or shops anyway. I only noticed it on weekends when I slept later. Also using mega-hair dryers might pop a circuit breaker if you are using other things at the same time, too. The breaker is in the closet and there is a sign pointing this out, so it wasn't a big deal to me. I personally never had the breaker switch off, but one of my friends did when she was brewing coffee, watching TV, and using a zillion watt hair dryer at the same time. Back when this place was built, they didn't have all the power-sucking gadgetry we have now. :) At any rate, the charm of the motel and staff far outweighs the minor quirks.

The staff are really laid back and nice to chat with. This town generally has a very small-town feel. The pace is slow and people are friendly. The manager (Gary) is a great guy. You'll see him walking around the open area with his cordless office phone on his hip a lot. He stops and chats with anyone who feels like chatting. Often folks will sit with him on the bench by the office and chat while watching people walking past on the street headed for the beach. People are walking past all day long because the beach is a very short block away. The gals who clean the rooms are also really friendly and helpful. Sometimes Gary will grill out in the evenings and folks gather bringing whatever food or snacks they have.

Overall, staying at the Seahorse is a really pleasant and relaxing experience and I've already booked another three weeks there in June. If you are a laid back person who likes relaxing, chatting, fresh air, along with VERY short walks to the beach, many great restaurants, shops, and bars, you will enjoy your stay. If you need all the resort amenities like workout rooms, spas, and swimming pools, then look elsewhere but expect to pay two to three times as much.

This place is an inexpensive sparkling gem in a far-too-commercialized world.

Highly recommended! Five Stars!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank OilPainterBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Returned from 2 days staying at Sea Horse Inn Beachside. I booked this after reviews I read and was not disappointed. Great location- close to beach and several places to eat....Inn is older but people keep it up well and are very friendly...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaunatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

July 6, 2007

I guess it's all in what you want. If you stay at the Seahorse it's not for the room, no pool, no phone, no pets. It was clean and convenient. It's for it's location. Most people are there for the shops, beach and bars. I know we were. I don't mind going to the 7-11 for coffee and ice. I enjoyed our night there and will go again and again. I hate the big places and big prices. I hope the Seahorse never changes.
Sharon

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DixiebellOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Just stayed at the Seahorse Inn over June 29-July1 weekend. This is an old motel just off the beach (no views) that may suffice for an overnight but not so much for any length of time. The floor is old linoleum, a bit dinghy, and the walls are 'wood' paneling. Our bed linens were clean, the bathroom (shower only) was clean with some spots of missing grout in the shower stall. Had a mini-fridge that cooled but the ice trays never got solid in two days. The TV worked, didn't try the microwave. The air-conditioner (window unit style) was marginally effective at best. There was a dresser with 6 drawers and an open closet area with some hangers and a luggage rack in it. Also a small round table and two armchairs. There is not a coffeemaker for every room - we asked for one well in advance but didn't have one until the night clerk took one off another visitor's room (evidently they weren't using it). The day clerk suggested we go to the 7-11 for morning coffee. Room had an ice bucket but there is no ice machine on the premises (yes, you could go to 7-11 for ice, too). The night clerk was sweet enough to go empty her own personal ice trays from her apartment into my bucket.

There is a lack of hotels in the immediate area due to current building restrictions, and I read in the local newspaper that they were planning to change the restrictions from a limit of 24 rooms to 95 rooms, however any proposed new hotel construction will have to conform to some location restrictions, so I don't think there is going to be much competition for the Seahorse Inn anytime soon. I suppose I would somewhat unenthusiastically return here for a quick visit to NSB, as I'm not about to spend the $$$s required for the condo associations.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelnutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
239 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Orange-Daytona, FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Inn Beach Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Inn Beach Side

Address: 423 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2640
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $65 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love our location! The Seahorse Inn, is located on Central Florida's Atlantic coast, 50 miles east of Orlando's Disney World,15 miles south of Daytona Beach and 60 miles north of the Kennedy Space Center at Cape Canaveral. The Seahorse Inn is situated on Historic Flagler Ave., in New Smyrna Beach, one of Central Florida's most beautiful and peaceful vacation spots. Stay with us and enjoy some quiet relaxation. Unique shops, fine restaurants, fun pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Inn Beach Side Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Seahorse Hotel Beach Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing