We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miserable experience!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Reef Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Smyrna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Reef Condominiums
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miserable experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

There isn't enough space here to tell about all of the things that are wrong with this place so I will hit on the worst. The place smelled terrible when we arrived, everything was covered with dust, there was a major spill in the microwave and there was feces floating in the toilet. The management company is useless, the Owners are nasty to the renters, and the owner we rented from lied about the amount of construction that was going on. We have been renting in the general area for 25 years and have NEVER had any major complaints about any other place we stayed. This is a lovely area of NSB; choose one of the dozens of other condo projects available.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeautifulSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crmanager4175, Manager at Castle Reef Condominiums, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Not all of the condominiums at our complex are managed by the Castle Reef office. Please return and see us and give the Castle Reef management company a chance. Some of the units at the property are privately rented by owners and some are managed by off-site management companies. Unfortunately for us if an individual has a bad experience it reflects on all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
20
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed in Unit 304 through VRBO.com. First off, let me say VRBO is great and I recommend it. I have used it for years - this is my 1st bad experience. As the other reviewer said - the management WILL take advantage. They took $50 out of our deposit saying we left the condo "disgusting" and it took 2 people 4 hours to clean. That is so crazy! Before we left, like we always do for these stays, we stripped the beds, put all of the dirty linens in one pile, and ran the dishwasher. We left 2 bags of trash in the unit by accident and admitted this to the owner. Maybe the cleaning crew confused our unit with another one. When asking the owner about this he said "we have nothing to do with that". If I owned a condo I would want to have a little more say on what goes on there. It is a decent place - although they really need to update their linens and pillows had a lot of stains that we saw when stripping the beds - pretty gross. But overall we would have stayed there again. My family lives in NSB and Castle Reef has lost alot of good future business over this.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank carefree_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crmanager4175, Manager at Castle Reef Condominiums, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
While I have no doubt about what you are saying please remember that there a lot of the units at Castle Reef are rented through other management companies and individual owners. Castle Reef has their own management company and I would welcome the opportunity to deal directly with you. When I assumed management of the property one of the first things to be done wasinitiate Castle Reef's own rental program. I will not tolerate anything like this and welcome you back to stay with us through the Castle Reef owners program..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Smyrna Beach hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

My better half and I stayed there for two months;Feb and March. The blinds will drive you nuts. they fall down when touched. There is very little privacy. All in all I think that we would look for another location in the future.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
Thank 510th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at the Castle Reef and thought it was great. We have three children and the pool deck was great. The kiddie pool is a life saver! Our room was a 2 bedroom oceanfront and plenty of room. The view of the ocean is excellent. It almost feels like you are in the ocean. The have a great place by the pool to grill out anytime you want, they supplie the gas for the grill and Tabled too. I would reccomend this condo to anyone!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank clendenin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

What a wonderful family destination for children and adults of all ages. I have been going to Castle Reef for over 20 years and each time I leave - I can't wait until the next visit.
The location is perfect - with a grocery & liquor store right across the street, the beach at your doorstep and numerous restaurants within a 10 minute drive.
The pool area gets sun from sunrise to 5:00p.m. and there's lots of movable lounge chairs to use when setting up your favourite sunning spot. The condo has only 5 floors which makes the option to takes the stairs or elevator up for grabs depending on your energy level.
Each of the owners add their personal, touch to the apartments- sometimes you hit jackpot with a well equiped & well maintained apartment while in other apartments you may have limited amenities. The condo management try to enforce consistency so the essentials are always there - it may be the finishing touches that are missing or in need of an update.
There's a shuffleboard court, a wading pool, a barbeque and clubhouse at your disposal.
I would recommend this property!!!!

  • Liked — The View
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonKates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2007

The condo and the people we met there over the years are top notch. The management company on the other hand can't be trusted. They took advantage of us and let this be a warning that if you rent from them , have them inspect your unit on departure and have them sign a paper saying it is OK or they can scam the deposit from you as they did us. Once home you are at there mercy. Just a warning.

New Symrna Beach is great and we will continue to go there and we will not allow this one experience to sour our taste fof this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank captcrunch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2005

Our room was pleasent and nicely decorated but someone downstairs smoked and it made our place stink---quite often during the week. We did not have the same pool problems the other reviewer had thank god. The reason I am writing this review is that our deposit of $300 should have been returned to us by now (September 15th) but when we call to inquire or email about it we get "someone will call you back" or no response to emails.
Nobody has called back yet and its been 1 week. The information on our rental agreement said after 30 days our deposit would be returned (we left the condo in agreed condition). I guess that meant when ever they want to return our deposit after 30 days they will.

We rented at Seawoods in New Symrna Beach the summer of 2004 with another rental mgmt. company and they sent the deposit back to us in a very timely manner.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#7 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
0.6 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Reef Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Reef Condominiums

Property: Castle Reef Condominiums
Address: 4175 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-9619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Specialty Lodging in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Reef Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are privately owned condominiums that owners choose to rent out. Not all units are available all the time ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Reef Condominiums Hotel New Smyrna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing