We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Linda The Magnificent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop

Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Smyrna's oldest and most award winning restaurant. Established in 1946 and has been a landmark destination ever since. Wine spectator Best of Award of excellence since 1993. Florida Trend magazines top 200 for more than 15 years. Great seafood and Angus beef.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Linda The Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

On New Year's Eve we had the pleasure of meeting our server, Ms. Linda. With seventeen years of experience, she started our New Year off right. The food was great, but she made the night special. We look forward to returning and next time sitting in the seat of the house, Table 33, overlooking almost the entire restaurant. Trip

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,358
    483
    195
    89
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looking for fresh seafood & found Norwoods...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Actually had friends (native Floridians) recommend this place and although I'm not too disappointed, I can't believe this is the best seafood New Smyrna has to offer. I had the fish taco...not bad but,1 taco for $7.50is not a good value. My husband had the fish stack which was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raineesaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mahi Mahi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Norwood's Grilled Mahi Mahi is consistently excellent all year round. That's my recommendation! My husband would recommend the Fried SeaFood Platter!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debra30736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but not awesome, IMO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently had dinner for four. I love places that offer small dishes and the Norwood filet was great and cooked perfectly. The Napa salad was a little unusual and delicious. French onion soup good, fried scallops just okay - bacon could be crispier. Shrimp and scallop pasta was good.

Overall very pleasant but one negative in my opinion. They have a wine shop but if you want a bottle from the wine shop to go with dinner, they charge $15 corkage. This seems quite high since they are making a decent margin on the wine in the shop. I could understand it if you had the audacity to bring your own wine to a place with a wine shop but not when you are buying it from them. That policy made me choose house wine over a much nicer bottle from THEIR shop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljh34481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
509 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent food again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Every time we visit New Smyrna Beach we have to go to Norwood's as the food is always outstanding and this time it did not disappoint. Excellent, just excellent.
Two of us had the Captain's platter with Mahi-Mahi, scallops, shrimp and a small crab cake. It came with a wonderful side of fresh vegetables and I ordered the baked potato. The potato was so good but so big I brought it and the shrimp home for another meal.
The other two in our party had the Norwood Filet which is 4 oz. on a Yukon Gold potato pattie. They thought it was just the right size and done to their liking.
Our server Jeff did an fine job and was refilling our water glasses and bringing extra dip for our seafood. He took very good care of us. We appreciate fine waiters!!!
Go to Norwood's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing