We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine selection, on of the best in the state!”

Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: New Smyrna's oldest and most award winning restaurant. Established in 1946 and has been a landmark destination ever since. Wine spectator Best of Award of excellence since 1993. Florida Trend magazines top 200 for more than 15 years. Great seafood and Angus beef.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wine selection, on of the best in the state!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I always enjoy having dinner with family here when I come over from Orlando to visit. I actually used to wait tables there back in my college days and I always loved the food. They have a ton of seafood selections and I've tried many of them with pleasure. This place is also where I got my start into loving wine. The owner when I worked there (Don) was a fanatic about wine and we had tasting before shift so that we can learn the flavors and how to describe them. Well, when you see the wine list you'll be amazed. They have a wine steward and they also get me something just what I like from my descriptions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsknight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,486
    519
    221
    100
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak and Seafood”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm a non-restaurant chain person, and had the pleasure of eating @ Norwoods for Thanksgiving 2012 when visiting friends down in Florida. Awesome waitress named Linda made our Thanksgiving dinner a real nice time. Also a must try was the Tur-duck-en (Chicken stuffed inside a duck,which is stuffed inside a turkey. Oh YUM! Definately a different but a comfy homey dish. They also have a real cool wine shop attached to the restaurant.

Our friends who live in Florida have since been back and have raved about thier all you can eat Shrimp night. Said it was the best they have ever been too!

Can miss with this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went with friends two orders of fish and chips, the fish tasted like it had been chopped and formed and the fries were made from frozen not fresh cut, would not order again. Two orders of the hog snapper fish stack, comprised of two small filets of fish which cost a staggering $22.00 to have it stacked was an extra $3.00 per meal. The appetizers of crab stuffed mushroom was excellent as was the order of fish gumbo. The staff are very attentive. I would not recommend here and do not think we shall be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, FL
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Love the wonderful creative dishes!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband & I love this place in New Smyrna. It's a little on the upper scale but we have discovered the Midday Menu and the prices are very reasonable. We love the Fresh Fish Stack and the Mediterranean Mahi Mahi. The Midday Menu is avaiable until 6PM and there is a nice selection of sandwiches as well as seafood and prices go from $7.50 - $16.50 (for filet mignon) but most seafood dishes are between $10 - $14.00. Also the house salad is wonderful with the house dressing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite spot”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We're never disappointed when we go to Norwoods....food is consistently good and the staff are always friendly....especially linda who served us last night....we'll be back again...and again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lummiviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing