We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View On the Deck - Food Just Okay”

J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful View On the Deck - Food Just Okay”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've eaten here three times. If the weather is good, sit outside and you might see dolphin or manatee swimming by. The food is just average fried or broiled seafood. The shrimp boil had small shrimp that were mushy. The fried oysters are pretty good though, not many places you can even order fried oysters. For the price, I think there are better places in New Smyrna. You can't beat the view for the sunset however.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewSmyrnaNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    438
    209
    88
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Rustic old Florida”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great food, rustic atmosphere, directly on water. Our kids loved the ability to see dolphins cruising by...live music outside on dock. Loved everything about it, reasonably priced. Neat, old Florida spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gobige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrid”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I wish that I could say that the food was good, but I wouldn't know since my husband and I were never served. Anything. By anyone. We decided to make a trip down to New Smyrna for the day and eat at this place because we'd heard really good things about it. We were also planning on renting a kayak after lunch since this is a service they also provide.
We walked in, the hostesses looked at us like we were from another planet and we had to ask to be seated after they finished their side conversation. We sat outside and were happy with the great view. We decided to get a couple drinks, some oysters and some lunch and were ready to order. If anyone would have showed up. No one came to take our drink order. No one came to our table period. We waited for 20 minutes and then decided to leave. No one even looked our way when we got up and left. Terribly unorganized. They also lost our kayak business as well.
We ended up going up the road a few miles to The Breaker. If you want good service THAT'S the place to go. We were greeted by the manager within 30 seconds of sitting down, our waiter came shortly after that, we got drinks, placed food orders and received our appetizer all within 20 minutes. Maybe JB should take a page out of this place's playbook and follow it. It is unfortunate that they were so unorganized because we really looking forward to trying it. Maybe one day we'll try it again. Just not any time soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday at JB's”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My brother's choice for the family dinner was JB's, a favorite for all of us. We ate outside on the deck which was perfect for our noisy group. JB's is a fun, casual place to eat and drink with family and good friends. The service is good and we had great fun, as always.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattywaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take your boat or enjoy the drive”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live locally and love taking our boat to JB's after a fun day on the river. The atmosphere is relaxing and the food is fabulous. Great views of the setting sun on the river. You can fish from their dock, rent kayaks, enjoy a live band or eat some of the best seafood around. Sometimes it can get a little busy so try and come early if you don't like the crowds or waiting a bit for food. It's casual dining at it's best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurse76Renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing