We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome fish chowder !!!”
Review of Blackbeards Inn

Blackbeards Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual Seafood Prime Rib Steaks and Raw Bar
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“awesome fish chowder !!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great seafood with great salad bar and off the hook, killer good fish chowder great little restaurant !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ttowntriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    266
    68
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
289 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We found this on trip Advisor. From the outside it didn't look very inviting, but it proved to be a very good restaurant.

The decor is dark..a lot of dark wood, and a lot of nautical theme. But that fits the Blackbeard Inn name.

Service was very good. Food was also very good. My wife got a fish sandwich. I got the house made BBQ beef. Both were excellent. The BBQ Beef was more than the bun could handle and the sauce was good (though I added some hot sauce). The fries were also house made, not the typical frozen fries.

We each had a beer, and we each had a sandwich, the cost after tax was $19.16 . That was very surprising.

Great food at a great price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great casual seafood restaurant. The prices (particularly for the early bird menu) are more than reasonable. The salad bar is good with outstanding fish chowder. The fish is great, although it seemed more people were ordering the prime rib than anything. It is one of my favorite restaurants, and we make sure we go to Blackbeard's every time I am in New Smyrna Beach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSVinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prime Rib/Sea Food Lovers”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Blackbeards Tavern has been around for many years specializing in seafood and known for their Prime Rib dinners. Happy Hour every day in their cozy bar area offering oysters, clams and shrimp as well as their full menu. Main dining area gets very crowded but its worth the wait! A must dining experience for prime rib lovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glasofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Cajun Style Prime Rib”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

the surf and turf is the best with a fantastic salad bar, gumbo manhattan style chowder, and the oysters are always fresh

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sobefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeards Inn also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Blackbeards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing