We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service and unique outdoor seating”
Review of The Garlic

The Garlic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We invite you to enjoy an authentic taste of the Tuscan countryside. Walk down a vine covered arbor, surrounded by a walled Olde World fireplace and enter a garden lush with lit trees and flowering greenery. The garlic offers one of the most beautiful settings for a delightful and memorable dining experience. We offer great food, live music, fine wine, Italian beer, and perfect martinis. Come experience the garlic for yourself.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service and unique outdoor seating”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The outdoor seating area is covered by a canopy of limbs and leaves so we sat among the tree trunks with fireplaces built and scattered throughout. Very cozy on a temperate Florida night. An appetizer of calamari was delicious and so was my meal of ravioli, but the dish that looked amazing was the lasagna made with filet mignon meat sauce. I want to see the pan the dish is made in because it looked to be about 7 layers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    395
    170
    92
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever visited. The ambience is wonderful--I love the outdoor seating with all the lights and the canopy of trees and vines overhead. On New Year's Day, they had the heaters revved up so it was very pleasant. I always have the seafood italiano--wonderful combo of shrimp, calamari, mussels, etc. Everyone is always very pleased here--take all of our company here at least once. My son and daughter-in-law's favorite place!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 329carolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
348 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Garlic still tops”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another good experience. Drinks still too expensive for a short shot on the rocks, but the music and atmosphere must be covered somehow.Food stil very good, mussels a great value.Still don't like the server to mash the baked garlic with the skin still on it, but they just don't listen when they are busy.Marc and his band are terrific and keep the joint hoppin'.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knife_n_fork32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Option for New Years Eve!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Since we had company visiting from out of town, we opted to dine out, on New Years Eve, this year, and forego the late night parties -- we selected THE GARLIC, in which I called about 3 days ahead, and made reservations. We elected to sit indoors this time, since our weather was a little un-predictable that night, but their outdoor seating is a "must" if the weather is good. The decor is that of "Italian" and lots of greenery around.

When we got there, it only took about 5 mins. to get our table, and was immediately taken care of for drinks, appetizers, and entree orders. The place was PACKED and there was waiting outside, and was very glad we had made reservations! They even had a valet service, which was very well run, but we lucked out and found a side street parking space.

We had the appetizer of a "Brie" and fruit dish -- awesome and just wonderful -- for entrees, our group of 4 ordered everything from pasta, to surf and turf, and the New York Strip, each coming with their own sides; We were so full, we didn't order dessert, but the dessert tray had about half-dozen delicious looking options, and wished we had saved room for a taste of them!! Maybe next time.

Since we are local, we will of course come back here, and we are proud to say, we have this magnificent restaurant to "show off" to our out of town friends, as well as a special treat for us to enjoy!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRehbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Garlic and more garlic bring your tooth brush”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After driving around in this town of just about nothing, we found this place, it was off the wall, top shelf, service, walking into this place you fill like your entering a jungle on the beach, wine,crab cakes, fish this is the place,

The service was great from parking the car to entering, to the wait staff, worth ever dollars, if anything the low side was the loud group seated next to us

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to The Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing