We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Ever!!”
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, Florida We found it to be an extraordinary experience. The accommodations were outstanding. The building, the decor, and the location were world class. The made-to-order breakfast by in house chef Joe was 5 star quality. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Black Dolphin Inn for an exquisite vacation experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have outstanding views. Each room is decorated beautifully and uniquely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Your satisfaction is the goal of our entire family of hospitality professionals and we were so glad to hear that our accommodations, décor, and location were world class. I especially appreciated your recognition of Chef Joe for his "5-star" made -to-order breakfast. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Joe who will be as pleased as I was to receive them. Again, thank you for your outstanding review and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Brett P. Smith
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 488 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at the spectacular Black Dolphin Inn. The service and hospitality are incomparable, Brett and Sheila make you feel like one of the family. Our room was perfect - large, spacious, beautifully decorated with a spa bath and two balconies, one on either side of the room! We spent a lot of time sitting outside relaxing, enjoying the view of the river and the breeze. We booked to return at Thanksgiving even before this visit was over we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lennyhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests for your "spectacular" 3 night visit to our distinguished inn. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our "incomparable" brand of hospitality and we can't thank you enough for your generous comments regarding our facilities, services, and amenities. We take a great deal of personal pleasure and professional pride in delivering a superior vacation product -supported by an unerring commitment to service excellence. We are very thankful to have the benefit of your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to your return visit over the Thanksgiving holiday period.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Black Dolphin in for 5 days. I had done my research prior to booking, and from the moment I saw it on tripadvisor, I wanted to stay here. The inn is far more beautiful in person, and pictures just can't do the Black Dolphin Inn justice! The room was very spacious. The atmosphere was very relaxing, and the gourmet breakfasts were always fresh and delicious and filling.The fresh squeezed orange juice was amazing! The jetted tub and rain shower head were so luxurious! Sometimes I would just soak or shower twice a day because it's so relaxing. The dock, in my opinion, is the crown jewel of the property. We spent a lot of time out there for sunsets and sunrises. The bay is home to all kinds of wildlife, and we loved seeing dolphins, a manatee, and turtle. Brett, Sheila, Taylor, Andrea and Patty were all very warm and welcoming and accommodating. You can feel the family vibe all around this place! We felt right at home here. We will be back in the next year! Sheila is the go-to for restaurant recommendations, and Brett was very knowledgeable about attractions and tourist areas. Thank you to all the staff at Black Dolphin Inn for making our vacation such an easy, fun, and rejuvenating experience!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with any of the rooms, but we definitely enjoyed ours and plan to request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for such a wonderful account of your recent visit to our award-winning boutique inn. We place a high value on comfort, superior service, and creating outstanding memories for our guests and I was so pleased to hear that you had a very relaxing and rejuvenating stay during your extended visit with us. I quite agree with your assessment that our dock is the crown jewel of our operation and a critical element of the guest experience. It serves as such an incredible platform from which to observe so much wildlife in its natural habitat. We are working on several new dock related initiatives that we intend to leverage off of in terms of providing an array of new services and amenities for our guests in the months ahead. And lastly, we take great pride in creating a real sense of belonging at the Black Dolphin Inn and it was a pleasure to hear that you felt right at home in our little piece of paradise. Again, thank you for such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin Inn the next time you are looking for a special place to relax and rejuvenate the senses.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent two nights at the Black Dolphin Inn last week. From the moment we arrived until the time we reluctantly checked out, we were treated like family. The service was wonderful and the rooms are quiet, spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was a treat each morning. No detail has been overlooked at this delightful, family-owned property. We loved the restaurant recommendations in New Smyrna Beach (a great, laid back town) and the inn was the perfect home base for day trips to Canaveral National Seashore and Kennedy Space Center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for making our award-winning boutique inn your lodging product of choice during your recent 2 night stay in New Smyrna Beach. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the laid back vibe of our seaside village and that it served as a great home base for you to enjoy all that our destination has to offer. As a family owned business, we understand the importance of providing a high level of personal service, and we thank you very much for your kind remarks in this regard. We also appreciated your positive comments regarding our spacious and beautifully appointed units and the breakfast that you enjoyed each morning. Of course, we hope that you will return and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were thrilled with our time in New Smyrna at the Black Dolphin Inn! Upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to one of the second level luxury king rooms with a huge open deck. We had perfect views of the river and lagoon and our room was stunning. We loved visiting with our hosts Brett, Sheila, Taylor, and Andrea. We felt like a part of the family by the time we had to leave after our three night stay. The owners have put in a tremendous amount of love and labor to make the Black Dolphin an award-winning inn, and the accolades just keep coming. We felt right at home while experiencing excellent hospitality and care as special guests. This stay ranks at the top of our list of exceptional vacations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gailvlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful review in which you ranked your guest experience at our award-winning boutique inn at the "top of your list of exceptional vacations". It was our pleasure to upgrade your room reservation to our Bay Front Suite which as you mentioned - has such stunning and panoramic views of the Indian River. Moreover, we appreciated your recognition of each member of our staff for their genuine hospitality in response to making your guest experience unique and special. The awards and accolades to which you referred are a by-product of our pursuit of service excellence and I am pleased to let you know that we received the 2014 Fodor's Choice Award soon after your recent departure from the Black Dolphin Inn. And lastly,we are so honored that you felt like a member of our family during your stay with us and we do hope that the cold winters of Oregon will serve as a catalyst in having you return to the Black Dolphin Inn to enjoy the sunshine of our Florida destination on a future visit.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My partner planned a vacation to celebrate my 27th birthday and the end of my school semester. Arriving to black dolphin inn, I was apprehensive as I had never experienced a bed and breakfast prior to this trip. The idea of being in a house-like environment was,at first, not very appealing to me. This changed the moment I stepped through the entry way of the black dolphin inn. We were greeted immediately by a man who made us feel welcome. He offered us a tour of the grounds and our room. The lobby featured a common area and a bar that offered wine and draft beer to the guests. We discovered as our two day trip progressed that the guests were equally welcoming. The demeanor of the staff and other guest made us feel right at home. The breakfast was phenomenal! I actually looked forward to our early wake up. I'm a fan of a filling and home cooked meal. The staff was originally from an area close to our current residence and we enjoyed sharing stories about our lives outside the black dolphin. My appreciation for this remarkable bed and breakfast was only intensified by a recommendation by the owner for a delicious Italian restaurant which also served as a highlight of our trip. Satisfying our curiosity concerning the cost of a bed an breakfast, we looked up the property on zillow. To our amazement we were privy to pictures of the property prior to the remodel. All I can say is wow! The work that they did on the house itself is astonishing. After arriving home from dinner we questioned the owner about the additions made to the property. Hearing the story behind the building and all the work put into creating this little slice of heaven just solidified my love for the black dolphin. Would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. The accommodations were unlike any other and I find myself looking forward to a future visit. A big thanks to the staff for making my birthday so perfect! they really go above and beyond for the satisfaction of their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newell_katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your great review and for selecting the Black Dolphin Inn as your East-Coast Florida getaway to celebrate your 27th birthday. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay - despite your initial apprehension about staying at a bed and breakfast establishment. We very much appreciated your generous comments regarding our warm welcome, high levels of personalized service, phenomenal breakfast and the quality of our extensive renovation in which we converted a single family home into an award-winning boutique inn. We are so pleased to know that you are planning a return visit to the Black Dolphin Inn and we look forward to making your next stay even more memorable than your last one.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Brett, Sheila and Taylor are a force to be reckoned with. This family has put a lot of hard work and enthusiasm into their beloved inn. When we showed up see a languid tall young man (Taylor) welcoming us at the front step and handing us wine and Blue Moon beer (on tap) to come in out of the heat (we were on motorcycles)... we knew we found an oasis. For the three days we stayed, we very much enjoyed the solitude of our well-appointed room and the beauty of the decor, welcoming feeling of the group area. It needs to be stated that the breakfast is amazing and hand-cooked to order. We will definitely come back because it felt much like a home away from home.

Room Tip: We were in the "superior coastal room" which though it wasn't with a view to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you so much for taking your valued time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It was a real "San Francisco" treat to have you stay with us with during your 2 week motorcycle excursion along the east coast of Florida. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the tranquility and serenity of our tropical oasis and we are most grateful for your kind remarks regarding our décor, well-appointed guest accommodations, and our amazing cooked to order breakfast each morning. We take great pride in the delivery of exceptional guest service and we can't wait for you to return to your east coast home away from home in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Orange-Daytona
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#3 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#5 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $188 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing