We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Dolphin Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Riverview Hotel(New Smyrna Beach)
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nocturne Motel(New Smyrna Beach)(Great Value!)
$95
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
491
15
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmith familyshrimp and gritsthe indian riverhoneymoon suiteowners and staffbay frontmid centurynew smyrnabed and breakfastopen kitchenacross the streetmade to order breakfastfire pitgracious hospitalityunique propertyfrench toastjetted tub
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 509 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This bed and breakfast exceeded my wildest expectations. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast on a Sunday was delicious and the bed was more comfortable than any hotel I have ever stayed in. I can't wait to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lbillings86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn !

Thank you so much for your generous comments regarding the friendliness of our staff, the comfort level of your bed, and the exceptional breakfast that you enjoyed while a guest at the Black Dolphin Inn. The combination of all of these factors is of critical importance in evaluating the quality of a guest's stay - and we so appreciate you sharing these remarks with us.

Of course, we hope you will return often and we look forward to being of service to you the next time you decide to stay at the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed at BDI (unit 206 - gorgeous view of the bay) and could not have been more impressed and pleased. Great to have such a nicely done retreat an hour away from the busy life of Central Florida. All aspects of the property were meticulously thought out and make for a comfortable and relaxing time in a finely done package. We look forward to visiting during Easter week and beyond.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank V Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

I was happy to learn that you experienced such an enjoyable stay at the Black Dolphin Inn and that you were able to disconnect from your hectic life in Central Florida - at least for the weekend.

Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests each and every day - and hopefully your next visit will be even better!

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from staying at The Black Dolphin Inn. I cannot put into words how comprehensively amazing this place is. From the owners, Brett and Scott, to the impeccable attention to detail in the design, the outstanding food, extreme cleanliness and pure beauty- This place is outstanding. I will recommend it to everyone. If you get the chance, GO! You will be very pleased. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for making the Black Dolphin Inn your bed and breakfast of choice in New Smyrna Beach.

Our service goal is to make certain that our passion for delivering a quality product with remarkable service is evident is every phase of our operation. We are so grateful for your amazing review and acknowledgement of your intention to return - which is the ultimate compliment in measuring how we are performing against our competition each and every day.

As a hotelier, one of the great things about working in this profession is the opportunity to enrich the quality of our guest's lives and to create great guest memories that are long lasting - for all the right reasons. We are deeply touched by your incredible review and look forward to
your return in the not too distant future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, FL is the newest jewel in Crown! Brett Smith and company have spared no effort in making this a 5 star B&B! The amenities are well thought out with each of the 14 rooms developing its own personality. From the moment you open to the door to the interior view of the room until you place your head on the European bedding..it is close to heaven. Don't miss this renovation of a 1947 beach house into one of the more Luxurious delights in Florida. Be sure to take a tour...the third floor rooms are terrific with views of the dolphins (real ones) swimming in the Indian River.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ktgolfs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for your glowing compliments regarding the quality of our facilities and service levels at the Black Dolphin Inn. We take great pride in our tranquil yet elegant surroundings and we were pleased to hear you say that it was "close to heaven". We are humbled by your comments and will continue to work hard at our craft in response to earning your business during a future visit to New Smyrna Beach.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, FL, a brand new just opened B&B. It was truly a wonderful experience. I reserved a suite from their website, but we were given a tour of several other rooms when we arrived. I am glad we took the tour, as we got to experience the variety of suite choices. My wife and I finally settled on a wonderful third floor suite complete with a juccuzi tub right in our suite,our own private sitting room and balcony overlooking the river, unbelievable views of the quaint area, the river, and just a very serene setting. We thoroughly enjoyed the suite, the hospitality, the friendliness of the entire staff, the ambience, and the homey atmosphere. We were able to relax and just enjoy ourselves and the surroundings without being in the hustle and bustle of a "hotel" setting. We plan on returning to the Inn again any time we visit the area. My wife wants to experience the other suites, so I guess we will plan on several more visits to New Smyrna Beach. By the way, the beach, surfing, local restuarants, parks, and everything else about the area completed our vacation experince. We highly recommend the BLACK DOLPHIN INN for anyone who wants the total quiet and enjoyment experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LENNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

It was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests at the Black Dolphin Inn. We were so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your suite overlooking the Indian River, as well as the jacuzzi style bathtub, the beautiful decor and the range of activities and dining options available to you in New Smyrna Beach.

The amalgamation of all of these factors is vitally important at every level - as they contribute to the overall experience of our guests. Your validation of this is most appreciated and we thank you so much for singing the praises of our staff and the special luxuries you were afforded while a guest at the Black Dolphin Inn.

Do come back soon and often!

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews