We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Dolphin Inn
Nearby Hotels
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Riverview Hotel(New Smyrna Beach)
$218
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nocturne Motel(New Smyrna Beach)(Great Value!)
$95
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Atlantic Plaza(New Smyrna Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Inn(New Smyrna Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
489
15
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmith familyshrimp and gritsb bthe indian riverhoneymoon suiteowners and staffbay frontmid centurynew smyrnabed and breakfastopen kitchenacross the streetmade to order breakfastfire pitgracious hospitalityunique propertyfrench toast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 507 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed at BDI (unit 206 - gorgeous view of the bay) and could not have been more impressed and pleased. Great to have such a nicely done retreat an hour away from the busy life of Central Florida. All aspects of the property were meticulously thought out and make for a comfortable and relaxing time in a finely done package. We look forward to visiting during Easter week and beyond.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank V Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

I was happy to learn that you experienced such an enjoyable stay at the Black Dolphin Inn and that you were able to disconnect from your hectic life in Central Florida - at least for the weekend.

Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests each and every day - and hopefully your next visit will be even better!

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from staying at The Black Dolphin Inn. I cannot put into words how comprehensively amazing this place is. From the owners, Brett and Scott, to the impeccable attention to detail in the design, the outstanding food, extreme cleanliness and pure beauty- This place is outstanding. I will recommend it to everyone. If you get the chance, GO! You will be very pleased. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for making the Black Dolphin Inn your bed and breakfast of choice in New Smyrna Beach.

Our service goal is to make certain that our passion for delivering a quality product with remarkable service is evident is every phase of our operation. We are so grateful for your amazing review and acknowledgement of your intention to return - which is the ultimate compliment in measuring how we are performing against our competition each and every day.

As a hotelier, one of the great things about working in this profession is the opportunity to enrich the quality of our guest's lives and to create great guest memories that are long lasting - for all the right reasons. We are deeply touched by your incredible review and look forward to
your return in the not too distant future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, FL is the newest jewel in Crown! Brett Smith and company have spared no effort in making this a 5 star B&B! The amenities are well thought out with each of the 14 rooms developing its own personality. From the moment you open to the door to the interior view of the room until you place your head on the European bedding..it is close to heaven. Don't miss this renovation of a 1947 beach house into one of the more Luxurious delights in Florida. Be sure to take a tour...the third floor rooms are terrific with views of the dolphins (real ones) swimming in the Indian River.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ktgolfs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for your glowing compliments regarding the quality of our facilities and service levels at the Black Dolphin Inn. We take great pride in our tranquil yet elegant surroundings and we were pleased to hear you say that it was "close to heaven". We are humbled by your comments and will continue to work hard at our craft in response to earning your business during a future visit to New Smyrna Beach.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, FL, a brand new just opened B&B. It was truly a wonderful experience. I reserved a suite from their website, but we were given a tour of several other rooms when we arrived. I am glad we took the tour, as we got to experience the variety of suite choices. My wife and I finally settled on a wonderful third floor suite complete with a juccuzi tub right in our suite,our own private sitting room and balcony overlooking the river, unbelievable views of the quaint area, the river, and just a very serene setting. We thoroughly enjoyed the suite, the hospitality, the friendliness of the entire staff, the ambience, and the homey atmosphere. We were able to relax and just enjoy ourselves and the surroundings without being in the hustle and bustle of a "hotel" setting. We plan on returning to the Inn again any time we visit the area. My wife wants to experience the other suites, so I guess we will plan on several more visits to New Smyrna Beach. By the way, the beach, surfing, local restuarants, parks, and everything else about the area completed our vacation experince. We highly recommend the BLACK DOLPHIN INN for anyone who wants the total quiet and enjoyment experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LENNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

It was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests at the Black Dolphin Inn. We were so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your suite overlooking the Indian River, as well as the jacuzzi style bathtub, the beautiful decor and the range of activities and dining options available to you in New Smyrna Beach.

The amalgamation of all of these factors is vitally important at every level - as they contribute to the overall experience of our guests. Your validation of this is most appreciated and we thank you so much for singing the praises of our staff and the special luxuries you were afforded while a guest at the Black Dolphin Inn.

Do come back soon and often!

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

3/7/2013
Wow!!! What a find. The Black Dolphin Inn is an impeccably designed and managed unique boutique B&B.The converted mini-mansion has been completely and beautifully restored beyond belief! The 14 rooms, each with it's own designer decor, are spacious,comfortable and relaxing. The daily breakfast is an experience in it's self with scrumptious offerings from fresh squeezed orange juice to riccotta blueberry pancakes and much more! Great location for sightseeing New Smryna Beach, this Inn delivers on every level.If you want to escape for a stress free weekend that pampers your soul ,I would highly reccomend the Black Dolphin Inn. The courteous and knowledgable family and staff that run the Inn are helpful and attentive to your every need.Watch the sunrise while in bed from your room or fish from the private dock on the intra-coastal waterway across the street this will be an experience you will not soon forget. If you are looking for upscale wow factor with the cozy feel of a by gone era this is for you.
Nick and Norma
Treasure Island ,Fl.

Room Tip: They are all so nice it is hard to decide. We loved the front of the Inn as we could watch the dolphins in the intra coastal as well as the sunrise while lying in bed.Every room has it's own unique qualities.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you so much for a delightfully descriptive account of your recent visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we appreciated all of your kind remarks regarding our "signature" interior design, attentive levels of service, and the other unique features of our local area that contributed to your very positive impression of the Black Dolphin Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are looking for a stress free vacation where you can relax and get away from it all.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews