We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen

Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Although this restaurant is located on the Main Street (Flagler) you may miss it if you don't venture further than the shops that are a couple of blocks off the beach. Located next to the Hampton Inn It is. well worth the extra block walk to enjoy the outside seating and tasty food at this restaurant. Try the blackened mahi mahi sandwich - delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
296 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good place for beach hamburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very casual and right on Flagler Ave. my hamburger was good and my beer was cold. Fun to eat and watch the people and cars go by. Service was great too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small But Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This little dive is a perfect example of why people should give New Smyrna a look! There was seating outside mainly with only two small tables inside. My wife, 7-yr old son and I wanted to sit outside and I'm glad we did. We had a soft breeze, they had classic rock music playing and we enjoyed our meal. Our waitress was nice and attentive. It is a pleasant casual place. Nice to sit, relax and have some awesome eats! I had a southwest steakburger which was cooked perfectly. It had a great taste to it. Even though I couldn't eat another bite, I found myself wanting more. My wife had a chicken wrap which she enjoyed. They were very accommodating as well as my son is a picky eater. He loves grilled cheese sandwiches and plain cheeseburgers... that's about it unless you think that pringles is a healthy food group! Since we won't allow him to eat just Pringles.. we asked if they would make a grilled cheese sandwich for him. They had no issue with our special grilled cheese request and made him a grilled cheese on a hamburger bun which he enjoyed. Overall, we had a very nice experience in this hidden little gem. We would visit Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen again and recommend this place for anyone to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sowndmanpfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Onion rings are like crack!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch here last Saturday for the first time. I had heard the onion rings are awesome so we ordered a plate. Well I have to tell you when the plate came sparks were flying!!! I think we set a world record for the fastest destruction of a plate of rings. They were lightly battered and rather large but I could have eaten another plate. We also had the chicken quesadilla, another hit. Stuffed full of chicken and cheese and tomatoes. These two items were more than enough for us to share. Service was very friendly and kept our water full the entire time and the beer was cold. The atmosphere is great and ties in very well with the beach scene. Felt a little like being in the Keys. It is located right next to the Hampton Inn on Flagler so if you are staying there check it out. We will be back, thank you Salty Dunes a great addition to Flagler Ave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Locals loves this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I am a local and come here often. It is casual, small and you are never rushed. We love the food and service. All the tea you want at no charge. You can just enter this open eatery (no inside seating) and have a hassle free meal Only open for breakfast? and lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing