We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location... aveage food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen

Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location... aveage food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was excited to try Salty Dunes based on the reviews here, but unfortunately we found the selections hit-or-miss.

Miss: The shrimp quesadillo and the shrimp and crab salad lacked pizzazz. Beers were barely chilled.

Hit: The mahi salad... delicious and perfectly seasoned. A joy.

Great little location for lunch or easy dinner. Hope they figure it all out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Green_Flash_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“The Big Fish Sandwich has me hooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Salty Dunes Mahi sandwich whether fried, blackened or grilled is always wonderful! My favorite side is the steamed broccoli. BUT, everything I have tried at Salty's has been exceptional! My best friend loves the ribs. Burgers are great too! Simple menu, all great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“The best darn chicken strips ever!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Conveniently located next to the Hampton Inn. Great outside sitting area under tiki umbrellas and friendly and caring staff and owners and then you get this huge serving of "the best darn chicken strips ever;" WOW!!!!!!!! The chicken strips were very lightly battered and not overly crispy, nor too greasy. The size of the chicken platter is just unbelievable; I could finish the whole platter and had to take leftovers home!!!!!!! It was the best-tasting leftovers ever!!!!!!! Great job Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen!!!!!!!!! Hands down to an overall great experience!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Persiankittie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food was mediocre, but the place has potential. They have menu items like ribs, burgers, buffalo shrimp and fish. I had a buffalo shrimp wrap, and the flavor was good, but shrimp way overcooked and had an odd mix of slaw with sliced pickles. We shared the chicken quesedilla, and that was really good. The fried chicken fingers were house made, not frozen, but very greasy, and the sides were dissapointing (think canned corn). It is a pleasant little place to sit and enjoy a beer while people watching, but I would not go there hungry for more than an appetizer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the chicken tenders and Grilled Mahi Mahi salad. The chicken tenders were large and not breaded to heavy which was nice. My wife loved the portion size and flavor of the Mahi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUFAN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Salty Dunes Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing