We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this small museum”

New Smyrna Museum of History
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The New Smyrna Museum of History highlights the rich history of the southeast Volusia county area. Our building was built in the mid 1920s and served as a post office for approximately 40 years. Originally founded in 1768 by Dr. Andrew Turnbull, his settlement, New Smyrna, lasted only nine years. The center of the museum is dedicated to this settlement and the brave and hearty souls who originally settled our area. Included are videos, artifacts, models, and panels. The exterior portion of the museum is a timeline of our area. Items of interest include ancient fossils, a Civil War display, dozens of historical photos, a working archaeology lab, World War I and II information, and a beautiful and moving display to the local men who served in the military during the Vietnam War. We also feature a room that offers short term displays of local importance. These displays change 3-4 times per year and are sponsored by local groups and individuals. A small gift shop, featuring local and Florida history books and other items is on site. Our museum does not have a set entry fee per person but does ask for donations. These donations help cover operating costs and maintenance of the building.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this small museum”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

You are given a lot about New Smyrna Beach in a small setting. Love the tour with the first woman Mayor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This quaint museum is rated at the top of museums in Florida. Entry is free, although a dontation is appeciated.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I, accompanied my our youngest daughter and her husband and 10 year old son, enjoyed our visit to the museum. The museum itself is not very large, but the content included therein is well worth the trip and time it took to tour the facility.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank landdwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our visit to this museum. It had lots of aritfacts and things that had been donated by residents”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is right in downtown NSB in the older section and not far away is the ruins in the park. Just one street further.This museum had alot of interesting facts about th first settlers and about the early Flagler railroad, old photos of town. Very nice and the dedicated people who volunteer it take a great deal of pride in the museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank catofmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A whole lot to look at”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

There was more to look at then I had time for. I lived in NSB awhile ago and never knew how much history this little beach town had behind it. It was really cool to walk around without being bothered by anyone (workers) and just get lost in all the old artifacts. Awesome and would recommend!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice little Museum”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

History of New Smyrna and the area, amazed how old the town is. Nice artifacts and exhibits. Need to see what they have upstairs that seems to be an ever changing portion of the museum. They also have a little gift shop, mostly books about Florida a couple books from local authors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Smyrna Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to New Smyrna Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing