We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Buena Vista Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Smyrna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Two adults and 1 dog stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 weeks. I can't imagine what Bob and Kathy could do to make you feel more welcome. Their daughter in law, who fills in when Kathy is away, is a breath of fresh air. The apartment was spotless. Bed was comfortable. A real bonus to have laundry facility on site. Back door of apartment opened onto a beautiful park complete with playground. Just a wonderful wonderful experience. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Every room has the same excellent features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Buena Vista Inn is the only place I stay when I go to Florida. Jeter (my dog) and I are always welcome by the most wonderful people; Bob and Kathy the owners. We love the location because it is so close to the beach and we can walk in less than 10 minutes without sitting in traffic and dealing with parking. We love the magnificent view of the Intercostal Waterway and the fact that Jeter can play and run in the park in the back yard of the Buena Vista. There is so much to say; the Buena Vista Inn is a "10" all the way. The rooms are spotless, the grounds are beautiful and sitting outside on the water is so serene and inviting. When I leave the Buena Vista Inn, I miss being there because it is Paradise and everything you would ever want when you, your family and your pets are on vacation!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect and easily accessible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Set in a quiet spot next to the Intracoastal Waterway and close to everything, these small comfortable light filled units are a real find. Comfortable bed, spotless bath and kitchen, living room that opens onto both an enclosed courtyard in front and a small park fronting on the water in the back, the unit we stayed in - "Dolphin" - was just perfect. Kathy, the owner, was very helpful suggesting good restaurants and galleries in the area. We especially enjoyed Jason's Corner for lunch, and both the Spanish River Grill and The Garlic were excellent dinner choices. If you like galleries make sure you visit Arts on Douglas Fine Art Gallery and the Harris House. Visit the Canaveral National Seashore, a beautiful wildlife refuge. We loved our stay in New Smyrna!

Room Tip: The Dolphin - furthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_librarian_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed while in the New Smyrna area on a recon visit. Nice room, comfy bed, and all the essentials for a pleasant stay. Not fancy in your face place but convenient to attractions, easy to get to and nicely managed. As motel owners ourselves we liked the cleanliness and the approach the owners had. Cooked outside and sat and soaked up some Florida sun before going to the Rolex 24 at Daytona- only 20 miles away. Will return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Room size varies from small to larger with kitchenettes so inquire what suits your needs. We were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motelgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We can't say a thing bad about this wonderful Inn. We arrived late and our key was waiting. It was a small apartment -- SPOTLESS and great water pressure. Real Towels. And friendly helpful staff!! Great courtyard. We were there as vendors for a craft festival so we were out early the next morning and there was no problem with checking in when we got back in the evening. It is my first choice in the area. SAFE and a great location... just walk over the bridge and you are in the heart of the beach/business area!!! It is a great older Florida motel... fully renovated with new windows and doors all the charm... with all the nice renovations without the lost of charm.

Room Tip: No room appears to be better than another... each is different to fit many needs. Call them as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHappySews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A quiet, reasonably priced, 1950s style Florida beach motel with comfortable rooms and apartments. All open onto an enclosed courtyard with palm trees and tropical plants, picnic tables, barbecue grills and an all-around welcoming and secure-feeling atmosphere. The rooms are spotlessly clean and mine had a view of the intracoastal waterway. It is only a few blocks from Flagler Ave. and the beach so the location is ideal for walking to town or strolling over to the dock to chat with local and visiting fishermen. Bob and Kathy (the owners) live on site and take excellent care of their facilities and guests. Dogs are welcome and when I was there, Kathy was available to provide information about local vets and comfort to a guest whose dog suddenly became ill on a Saturday morning. For me, it is a wonderful place to stay and similar to other family-run inns I have visited in beach towns in Spain, Greece and Latin America.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

It is priced right and just across the North Causeway bridge. It's an Old Florida type property with nice owners, who are fair and friendly. It is also pet friendly and the intercoastal waterway is right out back so you can relax, fish, or catch the water taxi at the River House nearby. They have a peaceful Courtyard between the parking and the rooms, a great place to eat outside if you cook or just enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.

Room Tip: They are all facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wade w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
900 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,018 reviews
7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
384 reviews
6.3 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
239 reviews
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Orange-Daytona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Inn

Address: 500 N Causeway, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-5281
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing