We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Time!”

New Smyrna Stand Up
Ranked #7 of 38 Tours in New Smyrna Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Smyrna's Original Stand Up Paddle Boarding Company! We live and love the sport, and you won't find more qualified Stand Up Paddle Instructors on Florida's east coast to help you enjoy paddle boarding. Choose from a wide range of paddle boarding experiences, surf lessons and if you've tried it before, we also offer paddle rentals which include a free drop off and pick up service. This is an experience you won't want to miss! Book your experience with us today.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a Great Time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We planned a small group trip over Memorial Day weekend and actually made our reservations late. The staff added an extra trip on Sunday at 2 PM to accommodate us. We had 4 in our group and it ended up just being us 4 and John the guide. My wife and I along with my brother and a friend all of us adults. We were all first timers but John did a great job explaining the safety aspects of being in the river and we were off. It was a great experience overall, we did have to put in a little extra effort to get back as we had a short section where we were against the wind. All in all though, this was a fantastic way to get out and experience the elements that make this part of Florida incredible. The estuary where these tours are held is the most bio-diverse in North America. We saw numerous wading birds, manatees and fish and had a chance to experience nature up close and personal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank holby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSStandUp, Owner at New Smyrna Stand Up, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we love to get feedback on your experiences with us. It's always nice when the wildlife are active and give us a treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very fun for first timers!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had never been paddle boarding before. John was an amazing guide. He gave a quick lesson and safety tips at the beginning and then we were off. He was very encouraging of our unsure abilities at the start, we got the hang of it and had a great time. We were out on a bit of a windier day but we still had tons of fun and it made the ride back to start a breeze. John even let me bring my dog along! My dog did great and just stayed put on the board.

Helpful?
Thank sugarandspice_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific tour!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We took our 11 & 14 year old boys on a 1.5 hr. river tour with John. We saw manatees and coastal birds. We were all novice paddle boarders, but John was an excellent teacher and we made a quick start. I highly recommend this trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank Cgretkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Had a great time paddling with John and the group”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had never been paddle boarding before. John did a great job of making us feel comfortable with a quick training session before we took to the water and made sure everyone had a safe and fun trip. If you've never done this before I'd highly recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family activity!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our family group of eight decided to give this a try while vacationing in New Smyrna Beach. Our youngest paddler was 16 and the oldest was 71. A great activity for any age! We had beautiful weather for our outing. The scenery was beautiful. We could relax and talk or paddle hard if we wanted to. I would highly recommend this if you want to do something more active and don't mind getting splashed or being in the sun for 80 minutes. We enjoyed it so much we are thinking about getting our own SUP to use on the lakes up here in Wisconsin!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cherieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Smyrna Stand Up also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to New Smyrna Stand Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing