We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Kawkawlin, MI
111
Reviewed October 23, 2005

Stayed there for honeymoon. Room was not ready when we arrived, cushions on sofa & chair could have been cleaned. Air conditioning didn't work properly, contacted front desk, waited 2 hours, called back and asked them to let us know what was going on. Finally maintance man showed up that evening, bad peronality and disposition, told us he had to call air cond. repair tech., then told us he would have the front desk get back with us. Next day I asked the front desk what was going on, was told they would check on it and get back with us. Air cond. repair was their that evening while we were gone. No one said anything, left us a message, or anything. Finally, on the third day the air cond. techs showed up, and were supprised to see us still in the same room, since they told the front desk they were not able to fix the problem that evening, and would have to come back the next day.

Contacted property owners after I arrived back home, left email, phone number, and address. Never heard back from them to date. Can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 404 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dania Beach, Florida
126
Reviewed July 9, 2005

Our Visit to Coco Palms II was four days three nights of sheer bliss. My husband and I checked in on Thursday afternoon with the plan to merely reside at the resort ... go out for all dining and entertainment ... this DID NOT happen. Rather upon arrival we were met with such excellent courtesy and hospitality ... we were impressed! Our room accommodations could not have been better, we were on the 2nd floor corner room which boasts a double balcony, one in the living area and the other in the bedroom! The most beautiful sights of the ocean @ dawn and dusk not forgetting during the daylight hours. The enclosed photos are from the room, sunrise ... the bed, daylight the balcony. We changed our plans and opted to cook for the entire weekend. So very romantic dining on the balcony in dim light (turtle nesting season) perfect to go with the lobsters, shrimp and steak that he cooked. We highly recommend this resort, the staff were all great very accommodating! There is but one way to share the impact we had there ... we bought immediately during our presentation!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

We had reservations for a one bedroom in main building but were offered a two bedroom in one of the off beach buiidings. It only took us about 3 min. to get to pool or beach. Activities were great, lots of complimentry food etc. I even won at bingo. Every thing was clean and in good shape. It rained a lot but we still had a great time. Girls at tiki hut were fabulous, very friendly and helpful.We travel a good bit and this was one the nicest.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank moocow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
233
Reviewed May 27, 2005

My wife and I went to visit some family in the area and wanted to stay by the ocean. After scouring the internet for hotel option in NSB we landed on this hotel because it had "studio" rooms (not two bedroom condo suites) and allowed us to stay for just two nights. The price was decent for the area ($89 per night I think).

We stayed in the same building where the main office resides (Coconut Palms II) and it appeared to be recently renovated. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a sliding glass door facing south but you could still see the ocean from the room. The room itself was clean and in good repair. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave and sink.

The only criticisms that I had were the decor is a little cheesy and the bed was of typical motel quality. It was also not very soundproof, so we could easily hear our neighbors sneezing, cooking, speaking at times...which wasn't an issue per se (not disturbing), but it could be if there were some partying types.

The highlight of the hotel is that it has two pools right on the ocean - which is great since the beach is submerged at high-tide.

The people were very nice and we had no issues at all with our stay. I would definately stay there again for the price, location and amenities.

Another thing to note is that the same property management company operates many hotels along the beach, so ask them about them when you call - they may have availability at other places too.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We traded a week with Interval and just came back April 17, 2005. After I have read some of the reviews, I was worried that we might get one of those units from hell. Hurricane Francis had done much damage to the resort and many units were newly remodeled. The resort has several buildings and I’m not sure how many unites in what building had been remodeled. We were fortunate to get a new unit in Royal Palms where all units had been remodeled. Everything inside our unit appeared new and we were very pleased with our stay.

There is no beach during high tide in front of the resort. If you wait until low tide, the beach is very wide. Most of the beach accesses were closed but you can still drive in near the north end where the sand dunes are.

The restaurants were very crowed after dark and reservations are recommended. All the restaurants we tried were good: Norwood’s, PJ’s Sea Shack, JB’s Fish Camp, Sea Harvest (the restaurant is damaged but the carry out is open), China (carryout and eatin) and Oceans Seafoods where you can order cooked food from the counter or buy quality seafood to take home to cook .

I am attaching two pictures: Sunrise viewed from our unit and Beach View from the north end by the sand dunes.

28  Thank honeynbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed at Coconut Palms the week of March 21. We were in the 2 story unit (Travelers & Thatch) that is right next to the main tower. We were very disappointed in the condition of the unit. The furniture needed replaced, or at least a good cleaning. The rest of the unit just felt used, dirty and badly in need of refurbishing.

On the positive side, the pool area is very nice, the staff is friendly, we were pleased with the variety of family activities offered by the resort, and the beach area was nice (as long as it wasn't high tide, when the beach would disappear.

Our best meal, by far, was at the New Smyrna Steakhouse. All others...Chase's, Shells, Spiro Pizza, Norwoods, Pappas Dive-In, were disappointing. The Breakers, which several reviews mention, was closed due to what looks like needed repairs from hurricane damage.

20  Thank twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2005

After staying at the Islander for many yrs. we agree to go with relatives to the Coconut Palms Resort. I was extremely surprised at how small the unit was. We had a one bedroom which only had a bed and a tiny closet space. No drawers or other places to store your clothes.
The view was also disappointing. We could see very little of the beach itself. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you'd need for a short stay and the living room is ok. The staff is wonderful and will do anything within their power to help you. Next time, I'd go back to the Islander.

Irishmist

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Rooms
12  Thank Irishmist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
239 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Inn
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $92 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing