We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here with wife and 11 year old son the second week of July. Was skeptical based on some of the reviews but it was not that bad. Stayed in a one bedroom unit in the main building at 611 S. Atlantic. Having traded our 4 Star unit in Kissimmee we were hoping for something comparable. Unfortunately, the unit we stayed in was about half the size as our home unit which was disappointing but we made the best of the situation. Kitchen in unit is more like a kitchenette but served its purpose. Bedroom was small and the bed was a full size and not a queen. Had issue with sliding glass door being difficult to open but it was fixed in a timely manner. Bathroom was pretty small but it served its purpose as well. The deck was large and could be accessed from either the living room or the bedroom. We did not "officially" have an ocean view but we could still see the beach and ocean from our deck which was nice. The location was very close to the beach which was nice as that's all my son wanted to do was be in the water. There were two pools both small but we also had the ocean to play in so no worries there. There was a place to rinse off the sand and salt water as you returned from the beach and entered the pool area which was very convenient. There is a grocery store and two drug stores nearby as well as a Dunkin Donuts. There are many small restaurants in the area and all are very busy so plan on eating early or late to avoid the crowds. Daytona Beach is about 20 miles north up I-95 but in my opinion is very over rated. The beaches at New Smyrna were just as good if not better. All and all a very relaxing vacation in a resort that served its purpose. If you are looking for flashy this is not that type of place. If you are ok with simple, no frills then Coconut Palm Beach 2 fits the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craig a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 381 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at a coconut palms owned condo across the street named pineapple something. Our ac was broken in our room when we arrived, toilets didnt flush, remotes were broken, beds were like rocks. Luckily people came to fix the issues. We were told that this condo was located in daytona beach and that our condo was on the beach. Both were false. Been lied to a lot and dealt with a lot, but still had fun at the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiegirl825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Our room was a 2 bedroom suite. Room was very spaceous. Let me just say i was completely satisfied no problembs. Having said that here were the prob I perceived with room. 1 of 3 tvs was a small tube style. Aircondition in one bedroom would not cool below 73 but with door open main ac would keep everything cool just fine. Balcony of bedroom looked out west over parking lot wasted space. Balcony off of living room and second bedroom looked south and could see ocean fine. Overall very very satisfied with room. Staff was non existent didn't need them except once tried to get quarters after 10:00pm could not get them that late. Lame.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This timeshare unit was a total disappointment. We stayed at 611 S. Atlantic Ave., the week of May 18th. We traded the Welks Lodges, in Branson, MO. for the Coconut Palms II because of health reasons. The unit which was in the old building was terribly small and there was no place to put the items we brought with us. There wasn't even hooks in the bathroom to hang up a robe. It took both hands to open the sliding doors onto the small deck which was dirty and covered with dried worms. The track of the sliding doors was black with dirt. Maintenance said they had to replace the rollers but whatever they did while we were out did not help even one bit. Kitchen appliances were the only things that were new. Furniture was old, scratched and not at all attractive. Kitchen counter-top was limited to about 24 inches of work space which left a lot to be desired if you wanted to prepare a meal. The telephone in our unit did not work so I took it down to the front desk to get it exchanged and they told me they didn't have another one to exchange it with.There wasn't any maid service unless you paid extra for it. We had to exchange our soiled towels ourselves on designated days and take our garbage out to the trash bin which was enclosed and smelled terrible. Apparently the first floor of the old building was a section that was designated to exchanges. When you trade in a fabulous 5 star accommodation, one would expect to receive another one that is fairly comparable. Apparently the new units that are now being sold in the new building would have been a better consideration for an exchange. This timeshare is a disgrace and anyone considering to stay here or to purchase a timeshare had better think twice. We were also notified that a Pest Control Company would be coming in with dogs to check for bedbugs. That really put the icing on the cake. All we were looking for was a clean, attractive place to spend an enjoyable vacation. The only enjoyment was when we were not in our room (#4107).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judybeenpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just returned from a weeks stay at this resort. We were very disappointed. The first problem we encountered was no wi-fi, which is listed as an amenity. When we asked about it we were told that "we're waiting for a part". For most of the week we were there I had to park the car across the street and down a resort because there is only parking for 8 cars plus 3 handicapped spaces. The ladies bathroom for pool use had a broken lock, and when we asked the maintenance man about it he replied, "We're waiting for a part." When I went down to the laundry room I found 2 washers and 2 dryers; all rusted. One of the washers had a sign on it that was so faded that you could barely make out the words "Out of Order". I could only guess that they were probably still "waiting for a part" to fix it. I tried to use the remaining washer which took my money but wouldn't start. I called the main desk and was told that I could bring my laundry down to the main building (3 resort buildings away). When the girl at the desk gave me my money back, she told us that they "MAY be waiting for a part" to fix the washer in my building. Our room was clean, but we could hear footsteps, chairs scraping the floors and thumps and bumps from the room above us. The pool was small but nice. If you want to use the heated pool you must walk 3 buildings away to the main building. I didn't enjoy carrying my towels 3 buildings to exchange them because we were sightseeing during the towel exchange time. (Only on Mon, Wed, & Fri.) We will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at 811 S Atlantic, which is the Coconut Palms II. We had a 2 bedroom with a full kitchen. The appliances we all new, but the furniture was very worn. There were 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa, all of which were not the most comfortable. The closet doors were about to fall off as well. You have to pay if you would like your room cleaned during the week, and you must exchange your own towels on Mon., Wed., and Fri.
The view was nice from the balcony. Our room faced the road, but we still had a side balcony with partial ocean view. There were two pools which were both nice and well kept, but crowded. There are no resturants on property, but there are some nearby with grocery shopping also close. We liked that we could drive on the beach and leave all of our beach things in the car.
All in all it was a decent place, but I don't think it was worth $205 a night which is what we payed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melafont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Don't fall into the trap of exchanging for this dump! Nice pools and views CANNOT make up for cell-sized rooms they give for exchanges. A Westgate lock-off qualifies for rude check in, an old microwave and hotel mini fridge, no chairs or couch, an 18" old TV, and a full sized bed. Plus a tiny window looking out on a parking lot, broken blinds, one door into a major traffic hallway and no patio or balcony. Take your towels to a laundry area to exchange them once a week with housekeeping and share four washers with the rest of the building residents. All of this is sadly true, and I feel scammed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing