We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a blast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fishing Guy - Private Charters

The Fishing Guy - Private Charters
Ranked #2 of 38 Tours in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fishing Charters Daytona beach Fishing Charters Ponce Inlet Fishing Charters New Smyrna Beach Fishing Guide Daytona, New Smyrna Beach , Ponce Inlet Open from 8 am to 9 pm, I am a fishing guide in Florida for 11 years now, I fish inshore , nearshore deep sea, for monster Redfish, Cobia ,Tarpon,King fish, Sharks,Jackcrevelle,trout,Redsnapper,Grouper,Sheaphead ect And is NO FISH NO PAID on full day booking ,we fish with tackle Shimano rod and reels, you want contact me call or text is better Capt Fred
1 review
“We had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Frenchy was fun and knowledgeable! He put us right on the fish first thing. We had so much fun that I asked him if he had another time slot open a few days later! He said he did and were going out again. One of the biggest fish that I had ever caught! A+ experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1stclassflooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona-fishing, Owner at The Fishing Guy - Private Charters, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks you very mutch, it was another nice day fishing in the paradis , with good and cool fisherman
Frenchy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    2
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Trip, Awesome Captain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went out 6/14/14 and had a great time! It was my son Jacob's first time fishing on a boat, and Capt. Frenchy was very patient with him. He was a little too small to handle most of the fish we were catching, but he had a great time. He was even able to identify kingfish as they prowled beneath the surface looking to steal our catch. As for me it was great to get into tons of action. We started on a reef first thing in the morning. It was apparent immediately that Frenchy knew where the fish and bait would be as the fishfinder lit up like a Christmas Tree once we got to his spot. He immediately started catching sardines for bait while we dropped them live, and you could barely keep a bait down before it was attacked. Wen ended up catching a few bonita, some red snapper, remora, sea bass, and losing a big grouper to the rocks.

Next we went looking for Tarpon. Although the Tarpon were not biting we caught 4 hammerhead sharks. Jacob tells everyone about the 4 sharks. We will definitely be back! Thanks for a great trip

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona-fishing, Owner at The Fishing Guy - Private Charters, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Yes it was cool day was fun , thanks to book me, sorry for my bad English , your son was very cool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillidelphia
1 review
“ATTENTION KIDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I am a 13 year old kid from outside of Phillidelphia that does not get to experience catching 50 pound fish, and when I went out with captain Fred on an awesome boat, and awesome scenery. Captain Fred got a 50 pound RedFish on the end of my line, and this was a normal day for the fishing guy. He gets his customers redfish everyday. Sometimes even 20 redfish! Go book your trip now it will be worth it! www.fishigguy.com

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackmurray00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona-fishing, Owner at The Fishing Guy - Private Charters, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Jack thank you very mutch for the nice review , you was very good with the fight you have with this big redfish, and congratulation to put him on the boat, so quick , with the bad condition of the weather, 20 milles wind ,your father caught a lot of big redfish some week ago with me, but this one was very big ,and you will catch one even bigger next time thanks frenchy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a fun girls trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My sister fishes with Captain Fred regularly so planned a girls trip after a family wedding. "Frenchy" is great with experienced anglers and super patient with those who need a little more help with technique. We caught a smorgasbord and had a few that got away, but the highlight was chasing manta rays to see if cobia were around. Catching a nice one was icing on the cake. Thanks for a great day Frenchy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tschwanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona-fishing, Owner at The Fishing Guy - Private Charters, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much ,for the nice review , it was a pleasure to fish with you beautiful women, to see your beautiful smile,and fight all this nice fish,I have a blast ,I fish so mutch with your sister , and she catch so many fish on light tackle in the boat,she is very good to,and your mother she is one angel ,and she still put a tarpon in the boat last year, to all of you , just now I am lucky that you choice me to go fishing,life is good
Frenchy
Ps just I have a problem with you ,to clean my sunglasses very good !!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
1 review
“Referral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

When Captain Fred couldn't get us a charter booked he referred us to Captain Mike Adkins. We had an awesome time! I caught tons of Red Snapper (too bad they were out of season) and almost never sat still my line was always running. Thank you for the wonderful referral and I hope to book a future charter. I will recommend you guys to all my fishing friends! E-mail Captain Mike at mikeadkins67@gmail.com. Thank you again Captain Fred you guys rock!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona-fishing, Owner at The Fishing Guy - Private Charters, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your nice review ,and when you come fishing,just try to book me 1 or 2 month before,text me 4079485035 ,is better to understand me,and thanks for capt Mike review ,is a good friend of mine,and all the time do every thing to make the fisherman have a nice day fishing is good
Capt Fred
Ps you can post the picture of the biggest fish you caught
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishing Guy - Private Charters also viewed

 

Been to The Fishing Guy - Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing