We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Mill Ruins

Sugar Mill Ruins
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very cool to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It's a beautiful area and amazing ruins. Must see in person! We went on a cool day so there were no mosquitoes but I wouod recommend bring bug spray.

Helpful?
Thank Vaultgrl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    64
    24
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My 5 year old was so intrigued by this site. She loved learning the history and imagining what the sugar mill looked like. We also did the nature trail behind the ruins and were attacked by tons if mosquitos. They didn't take away from the fun of this site and we are so glad we visited. Only need about 15-30 minutes to visit (even quicker if you don't read the signs containing history lessons).

Helpful?
1 Thank Bean-Buggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Try finding it, it is worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Attempted 1st time to locate, we gave up but perseverance paid off. Our gps had us stop at this wooded area, asked locals for directions, realized must continue further down road on right and must drive straight thru a driveway. Lots of parking, you will be rewarded with a wonderful historical find. Very educational for kids, made my daughter realize that slave labour was used and many slaves tragically lost their lives here. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“hidden in plain sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our gps had us on a bit of a goose chase but we persisted and found this little place of historical significance eventually. The road signage is small and the entry looks like someone's driveway. But I am glad we didn't give up because the ruins are really neat to see and read about and picture buffs will get some interesting shots. We walked through the path, yes, a bit buggy, but only came out with a couple bites without bug spray on. This is not a big attraction but pretty neat and a worth-while historical venture and read.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mamanelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wear your repellent but do go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved this ruin. We went late in the afternoon and got bit a lot by hungry mosquitos, but still enjoyed the beauty of this ruin. We were the only ones there, it was amazing to see how the building had been made from shells, you could close your eyes and see another time. A lovely stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kansasbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Mill Ruins also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Sugar Mill Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing