We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free, quick and close.”
Review of Sugar Mill Ruins

Sugar Mill Ruins
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Free, quick and close.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Free, quick and close. My family and I where headed to the beach and I decided to add some history to our beach visit (Ages 41,39,11,8, and 5). Before you go, look up New Smyrna Sugar Mill Ruins or Cruger and DePeyster Sugar Mill. This site is 10-15 minutes from Turtle Mound and is a great tie-in when talking about Florida and Timucuan history. This sugar mill was destroyed around 1835 by the local indians. There is a short nature walk that is paved with crushed shells so its easy to walk on (nothing to see but trees). The total nature walk length is a 5-10 min walk.
Restrooms
Dirt parking lot
Picnic tables
Hour of operation is probably sun up to sun down.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    65
    25
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Local history in a sweet package”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

ever wonder how they managed to produce molassas and sugar in Florida? Visit the Ruins and appreciae for how hard it was to be a slave in nineteenth century Florida, Makes one ashamed ot the people white men call their ancestors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small but informative”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We found this by accident. Small but informative. Self guided with a small but pretty nature trail that made us feel we were in a jungle. It only takes 30 minutes of your time but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_and_Mike_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Neat Place to Visit”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you enjoy learning about Florida's history, this is a neat place to visit and it's FREE. Take note that the drive leading into the ruins really comes up quick and it's just a one-lane road leading back to the site. There are picnic tables and bathrooms. The information presented is quite interesting and there's even a trail you can take (we haven't yet). It's really quiet and peaceful - when we were there, we were the only ones there! Again, a FREE and unique place to quickly stop and see if you're interested in Florida history!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic tour of Old Dixie Hwy.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was quiet, undisturbed and peaceful. A nice interlude on a road trip down Old Dixie Hwy. We walked the dog and strolled around the perimeter. It was completely visible although one was not permitted to climb the ruins.

Helpful?
Thank HappyPlace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Mill Ruins also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Sugar Mill Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing