We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see at least once”
Review of Sugar Mill Ruins

Sugar Mill Ruins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice to see at least once”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Even though it is old and falling down, it's very pretty and serene here. Quiet area. The textures of the ruins make for great black and white photos.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissLissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    25
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden away in NSB”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I enjoy visiting ruins when I'm traveling - the history is so interesting! Although I've been coming to New Smyrna Beach for many years I wasn't aware of this particular site and when I read about it on tripadvisor decided to check it out. If you like visiting ruins and are interested in the history behind them you will love this place. It's pretty tricky to find - not marked at all other then a short wooden post with the address 600 off on the west side of Old Mission Road. There is a nature trail behind the ruins but it started raining while we were there so we didn't get a chance to walk it. We plan to go back and check that out another day.

Helpful?
Thank tkecincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Historic Florida”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a nice park for a picnic or to eat a take out lunch. Not much there anymore but it does teach a quick lesson to kids of how people in Florida once lived.

Helpful?
Thank Gopherhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife had this place on her wish list of things to do while in Daytona, so we drove over one afternoon. This is a really neat place with lots of history. There's a nice walking trail behind the ruins as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisneyF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Park”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sugar Mill Ruins is a quiet park with a lot of history. It was once a sugar plantation along with the sugar mill. It was during the Native American Uprising. The park is small and relaxing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank summer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Mill Ruins also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Sugar Mill Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing