We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience canaveral national park”

Turtle Mound National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience canaveral national park”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Toured everywhere including turtle mound. Did you see the oranges growing wild, big and juicy looking?Stay for the orientation movie, maybe take lunch and enjoy
Pristine beach, overall enjoyed
Saw a whale yesterday about 400 yards offshore!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iloveocean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    77
    22
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A new visitors center greets visitors with a great preview of the National Seashore Park. We visited on a cool and windy day, but quickly found ourselves enthralled in the natural beauty of the park, from the Turtle Mound to Eldora House to the seven mile ride. So much to see, easily 1/2 day experience. If you are in New Smyrna Beach don't miss it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to see the natural beauty of the island!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is wide open, us disturbed, wonderful walk ways, and peaceful beautiful beaches. Just a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of civilization . Good visitors center too. Clean bathrooms. Very peaceful and natural.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet place to relax”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The left side of road has many access points to swim and view the ocean. The right side is on the bay and is lovely as well. The right side of the road allows your leashed pet to roam with you! There are picnic tables, canoe access points and lovely trails. There is a nice house to visit and the film at the visitor center is beautiful and worth more than one viewing. The Turtle Mounds are amazing. There us an entry fee, but if you have a Senior Pass access is free.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethz1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“safe”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I cycle into the park a couple of times a week. It is very safe and the speed limit is low which is great. We see all kinds of birds , turtles, armadillos, dolphins the odd bob cat and indigo snake which do not bother you. Every time we go there, there is always something new to see. Its also great fishing either on the flats of Mosquito Lagoon or in the ocean. If you like to sunbathe in the nude there is a nude beach south of parking lot # 5. I have been told this but never tried it as its not my thing especially with my body.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddlerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Mound National Historic Site also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Turtle Mound National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing