We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new 'must go to' place for us”
Review of Dolphin View Seafood - CLOSED

Dolphin View Seafood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A new 'must go to' place for us”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't know exactly where to begin this review, since everything about this place impressed us.

We were having our car worked on at a local dealer, and the woman that checked us out told us about Dolphin View, and we are glad she did.

Unlike other reviewers, I like the way you grab a menu, walk up to the cash register to order and pay, get your own drink, and then sit wherever you want. They will call out your name when your food is ready, and bring it to you. They have some indoor seating, but weather permitting I will sit outside on their large series of covered and open decks. The view of the marina and the river is absolutely beautiful.

I ordered the grilled mahi-mahi dinner ($14.99) with waffle fries and green beans. My wife ordered the blackened mahi-mahi 1/2 lb fish only ($9.99) and shared my sides.The portion of fish was large, cooked perfectly, and very, very tasty. The waffle fries were huge, and also very good. The green beans were unusual, but ok. I would get a different side next time.

The girl at the cash register, and also the girl that brought our food were both very friendly. There is a tip jar at the cash register, but the servers would make much better tips if you ordered at your table.

We will definitely return to DV the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    239
    77
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dolphins,dolphins and more dolphins”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is mostly an outside restaurant, but does have an indoor dining room. No matter were you sit outside you can't help seeing dolphins swimming in the Halifax river. You have to order your food first then select your seat. When your food is ready, your name is called, you raise your hand and they bring your order to you. They serve items from full meals to fish Reuben. There is also a dinner cruise. Reservations are required. The food and the atmosphere are great. This is a pet friendly restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cohun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellence all around!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can't say enough about this restaurant. We always eat here when we visit my mother in New Smyrna. The food is fresh and delicious, and the view is amazing. Yesterday we saw a mother dolphin and her tiny baby frolicking right next to the restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere Horrible Food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Food was terrible tasted like grease was dirty and same as what was used for frying fish so everything had a old fish taste. My husband did order what was suppose to be flounder but was no way that but yet some other fish they were trying to pass off as flounder. The burgers tasted like old burger patties that had sat in a frezzer to long with a funny taste to them. The location is very nice but because the food is so horrible we wont be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranquin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to enjoy a peaceful meal.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner and breakfast at this restaurant and both times the food and service was excellent. Sits on the Halifax River and enjoyed watching the pelicans and dolphins as we ate our meals. It's not fancy at all but it was one of the best places we visited for both meals. We had a group of 7 and everything came the way it was ordered and service was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin View Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing