We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap And Nasty”
Review of River Side Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Side Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in New Port Richey
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap And Nasty”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Third time we've stayed at this motel but it will definitely be the last.Room was clen and the staff helpful, but the motel seems to have been taken over by displaced, homeless folk and should be renamed a hostel. Unruly kids playing ball ball on the parking lot, lady in next room constantly trying to bum cigarettes. The A/C was noisy and sleeping was almost impossible and outside cleaniness left a lot to be desired, dog crap on lawn areas and even a used tampon next to our car. Yukkkk. A change of room was offered but why should we have the hastle of moving when it was up the management to control the kids of the other tenants. Not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms furthest from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rovingrussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, General Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We regret that you did not enjoy your three day stay as much as your previous stays. We strive to provide a clean room and friendly service, and to maintain a clean, safe environment. We are one of the few pet friendly hotels in the area, and we do provide doggy bags for considerate guests to clean up after their dogs. We are currently undertaking many improvement projects, and we hope that your next stay will be more to your satisfaction.

R. Harrison, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    7
    8
    32
See reviews for
22
29
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

My stay here was very nice. I recomend this motel. Very nice staff and breakfast. Nice rooms too. Centrally located close to Walmart, restaurants, fishing. I won't stay no where else but here. I feel safe and the price is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, General Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, and thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is a good value. The hotel is within walking distance to "Whiskey River" restaurant/bar and grill, The Tiki Room (Great fish sandwich value $8), and Catches. I felt comfortable, older rooms but good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shereej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, General Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the midst of doing upgrades including painting the interiors of all of our rooms. We will be doing many improvements throughout the summer, so we hope to see you again and that you enjoy your stay even more on your next visit! Thanks again for staying with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester nh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

we needed accomodations at the last minute as we were late to the area & it was crowded with baseball fans. We had a very clean room with king bed, decent cable channels. Coffee pot in room & small frig & micro. Room was clean no funky smells.
Breakfast area is pleasant & sunny. There is toast & fruit available if you don t want the small pastry. Staff are very nice & hard
working. No unwanted critters seen. There are some steady residents there but their area was over in the far side & they were hardly noticed. Nothing resembling "illegal activity" took place when we were there, it was a good value for the money, we even got a better deal on the price when we stayed a week. We took a ride into New Port Richey to walk around the quiet pleasant park area in the town center. We had a nice time & a great break from the Brrrr winter in the Northeast !!!!
Would reccomend to others !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armand_wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, General Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your review, it's nice to know that our hard work is appreciated. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The people at the front desk were wonderful and understanding...The room was not up to par but that could be ok for some I felt bad for leaving but I can't stay in those conditions. The bed was nasty the floor was rotting away the bathroom smelled of fesses and the heater did not work it smelled of burning so I just wish they would take a lill more pride in the insides

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, General Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We regret that you were unhappy with your stay. Any such condition in one of our rooms would be addressed immediately, with the room being off market and not available, therefore i must disagree with your statements. We would never make a room available in such condition, and gladly would have upgraded you if you were not happy with the room that you were in. We strive to offer a clean, safe environment, and we will continue to work hard to provide that to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Some reviews here are downright gross but I am here to set the record straight. This is not a five star motel, at $49 bucks a night you can't expect to have plush towels and a serta perfect sleeper along with top of the line amenities for entertainment. If your only flipping $49 bucks then you should be thankful you aren't in a tent. The rooms are dated but they are clean, no bugs, and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. I never saw the stains and the drunks and the noises people have reported here. I stayed two nights and only saw snowbirds and couples on vacation. There may have been some long term residents but it certainly wasn't obvious. The pool was sparkling clean with nice chairs to sunbathe in. The parking lot was well lit and I certainly didn't feel scared going from car to room. I didn't interact with the staff but they certainly didn't appear to be rude. I didn't have breakfast here so I can't tell you what they had. The bottom line is, if you expect the Hilton this isn't for you. If cash is tight and a vacation is needed then this place is perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bagpiper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russh777, Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We work very hard to create a clean and safe environment and we appreciate when guests write a truthful, subjective review. We look forward to seeing you at our establishment again in the future...thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked for a week. The room was dirty, the carpet worse.
The lighting was dark, everything was dingy. We had requested a
non-smoking room,but the smoke odor lingered. The bedspreads
had numerous cigarette burn holes. The towels were rags-holes
and fraying threads. The mattresses were old and sagging.
The guest laundry was a joke-most machines were out of order.
The breakfast was all sugary pastry. The full-time
residents and their children (paid for by the county we were told)
were loud and boisterous. We had to call the front desk for loud
kids sitting on our truck late one night.
We would not recommend this to anyone and we have traveled
worldwide on a budget.

Room Tip: none that we know off
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riversidenpr, Manager at River Side Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We regret that we were not able to satisfy this customer. Our goal is to always provide a clean and well maintained room. Our breakfast did consist of an assortment of pastries but also included white/wheat bread, bagels, fresh fruit and juices/teas/coffee. Something for everyone! Our staff does routine walks around the property and we do our best to maintain a friendly and quiet environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Port Richey
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 7 in New Port Richey
31 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
4.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Port Richey
Howard Johnson Port Richey
#4 of 7 in Port Richey
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holiday Tarpon Springs
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Richey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Side Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Side Inn

Property: River Side Inn
Address: 7631 US Hwy 19, New Port Richey, FL 34652-1247 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > New Port Richey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in New Port Richey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Side Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why should you have to choose between business and pleasure? Have it all at the River Side Inn. Situated on the magnificent Cottee River, the River Side Inn features a peaceful and quiet atmosphere designed to please even the most particular. Centrally located in the heart of New Port Richey, the Inn is walking distance to fishing and restaurants and minutes away from shopping, Sponge Docks, and beaches. There is nothing ordinary or regular about these rooms. Along with peace and comfort, you will be indulged in FREE high-speed internet, in-room coffee and micro-fridge. Multi-channel HBO is just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your River Side Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Side Hotel New Port Richey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing