We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“falling apart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“falling apart”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

this hotel is very well located, but is literally falling apart. I am not sure renovating it is an option, considering the building looks to have some very serious structural problems. most staff was nice. breakfast is quite limited and not of the best quality. our room was okay. the bed was comfortable enough.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fetchmeafatcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We wish to express our disappointment at not having lived up to your expectations. We are in the middle of replacing and upgrading some portions of the hotel and would love for you to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    172
    177
    114
    115
See reviews for
304
158
69
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Reasonable price. Awful smoke smell in room. Breakfast was ok for being included in price. Waffles not good - other hotels have much better product. One plus, breakfast started at 6am to 10am. Front desk was very knowledgeable of area. Lobby area has mini convenience store that sells frozen dinners, snacks and even beer and wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Our apologies for the smoke smell in your room – we are, however a 100% non-smoking property and we try our very best to ensure it at all times. We hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First of all, the employees here were great. They were very helpful and accommodating. In general, the rooms were clean, the pool was nice, and the location near the beaches was great. You cannot find a better value this close to the Jax beaches.

However, this property has so many issues that it should be condemned. There were buckets to catch water on the second floor - and those buckets have been there for months according to prior reviews. All of the rooms reeked with a smell of mold, smoke, and deodorizers to cover it up. Several in our group had difficulty sleeping due to the air quality issues. I just don't see how this property could be fixed, with the smells permeating the entire facility.

We booked this via Hotwire. If we had seen the reviews on TripAdvisor, we would not have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblindawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Neptune Beach hotels

Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Older hotel. Very nice and attentive staff plus very cheap rates. Clean room and a straight shot to the beach...only about a mile! There are lot of places to eat, supermarkets and banks around. Its right on the outskirts of the "Beach area", which is why their prices are low, but its close enough for you to enjoy all that Neptune and Jacksonville beach have to offer.

The little things killed me though. I got a room on the first floor and you can hear everyone walk by, inside and out. I was switched to a second floor room and it was a lot quieter.

The air conditioner is one of those big units in your room. Its it temperature controlled, but the darn thing keep going off and on, ALL night. It was super loud every time it went on. No matter at what temp I set it, it will hit that temperature, turn itself off...then no more than 5 minutes later it will go on again. It did this, all night......at BOTH rooms. Either both were broken or that's just how it worked. But I had trouble falling asleep....even wearing earplugs.

The other thing that looked super bad was that the second floor hallway was lined with buckets. Apparently to catch water from leaks on the roof. I did not notice a leak in my room, but the carpet was damp.

Everyone I encountered from the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HXLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Late night stop on a longer road trip. First, let's start with the good...

1. Found a last minute deal ($10 off) with HotelTonight mobile app.
2. Pet friendly, for only $15 extra.

It pretty much goes downhill from there.

First, upon check-in the person (Jeff) couldn't find the reservation, even though we showed him the reservation confirmation number on our phone. He just didn't know what to do. Since the hotel was only about half full, you might think just book us a room at the advertised price and forget about the reservation, but that sounded like crazy-talk to Jeff.

25 minutes later (I don't know how we kept it together during this time), possibly by miracle, a room key was provided and we were off to unload the car, with baby, dog, and a few bags.

Upon entering the hotel at a far end-entrance, we realized that this was certainly all budget and nothing more. Windows were dirty, carpet was really old, musty, and stained badly all over. Even though this is Florida, and no smoking is allowed in any hotel room (and we got a non-smoking room, to which I thought was strange) as we opened our room door and stepped in we could instantly tell it was definitely a smoking room. Outside our door was a no smoking placard, and that same placard was in the room next to the phone, and the clean, empty glass ashtray. There was a second identical clean glass ashtray on the other nightstand table, which was obviously cleaned by the room cleaning staff. We thought about changing our room, but after the experience at the front desk, we figured it would take another hour to get that done, and we were already very tired from driving a long way and it being late already.

Ended up eating a frozen pizza (DiGiorno) bought from the lobby freezer. The rooms do have microwaves and mini-fridge.

Before long we were asleep (on the ancient, collapsed and very uncomfortable mattress) and then up in the morning. Free continental breakfast - there's a plus. Slim pickins, but coffee, milk, cereal, toast, banana, and waffles (the kind you make yourself) was a welcomed sight.

We got the heck outta dodge quickly, and hopefully we won't find ourselves there ever again.

There was a pool that we didn't use, and I think it had a small fitness room, but can't recall.

I've been in worse places, but this one was ranking among them, even if slightly better.

I would have rather spent an extra $25 somewhere else for at least a better room.

Room Tip: Not sure, but the rooms far from the lobby are nasty - maybe close to the lobby would be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune Beach
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,500 reviews
1.0 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,040 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
788 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic

Property: Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic
Address: 1401 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach, FL 32266 (Formerly Days Inn Neptune Jacksonville Beach Mayport Mayo Clinic NE)
Location: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to stay close to the beach, look no further than Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic! Located just a short drive from the Atlantic Beach and Jacksonville Beach, there is plenty to do whether it be going for a swim, enjoying the local scenery, or strolling to one of the many local restaurants within walking distance. Come enjoy one of our clean, comfortable rooms that feature free WiFi and enjoy a complimentary breakfast, business center, coin laundry, and an outdoor pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Neptune Beach - Mayport/Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Neptune Beach Hotel Neptune Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing