We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret for Atlantic Ocean front lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Reviewed October 29, 2010

An Old-Florida styled oceanfront motel in lovely, now upscale, Neptune Beach that is well-maintained, very clean, very affordable but still has a crusty, salty character all its own. They even mop down the outside stairwells daily w/ a citrus cleaner, Sliders Oyster Bar is across the street, the pool is well-maintained and rooms have wifi if you need it. Could have moved in there very easily. Long live old Florida motels! A dying breed so visit while you can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Seahorse Oceanfront Inn is located directly on the beach at the end of Atlantic Avenue. There's a lovely pool, and all rooms have small balconies with ocean views. The place is older (one of those 2-story cement block places, probably built in the late 60s,) but it's clean and well maintained, and the staff during our stay was very helpful and accomodating. Our bed was very comfortable (and looked new when I checked.) Towels were clean and shampoo and soap were provided (no hair dryers, though.)

You can pick up a breakfast basket in the office each morning - a pre-packaged muffin, fruit cup, yogurt and orange juice. There are coffee makers in the room, and a coffee pot going in the office most of the day (and Starbucks is only 2 blocks away if you're an addict.)

They've got a lively bar (The Lemon Bar) that does a brisk business on Friday and Saturday nights, but the music is kept low and they close at 12:30 pm (much earlier on Sundays and weekdays) so unless you're a real early bird it shouldn't even be noticable (besides, you should be AT the bar...) There are at least a half dozen restaurants from super-casual to seriously elegant within two blocks, many serving breakfast, and the huge One Ocean Resort and spa is directly across the street.

Clientele seemed to be a mix of families and couples over Columbus Day weekend.

The beach is pristine here, and the break was pretty decent during our stay, with 10 or so surfers out all three days of our stay (surfing is better about a mile north, but public beach acccess is limited there.

We're planning our next stay for December and will use this hotel as our home base while we search for and purchase a house in the area. Once we live here, I definitely intend to use this place for overflow visitors!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is an older hotel. I was very sceptical at first, but was pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in was remodeled and it looked to have been very recent. It was VERY clean. This is NOT a 4 star hotel, so don't expect any frills. Staff was very friendly. This hotel is right on the beach. Walking distance to several Mom and Pop restaurants. We ate at a pizza place that was excellent. Will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travtann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

we travelled up from orlando to do a 10km race on the sun.
accomadation was ok, views and beach werelovely.
happy hour at lemon bar, very good met lots of interesting locals!! even went to pete,s bar with them.
did the race 8am still dark!!!at a cemetary......it was a good experience,
then the heavens opened!!! we were going to stay another night but felt it was too pricey, so drove off down to cocoa beach and stay at raddison for much less dollars before flight home.
enjoyed our time in jax, but would not stay here again, as bit pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We had a crappy vacation and the only bright spot was where we stayed. It was very near the beach, clean, and fairly friendly. The maid service was the friendliest of everyone.

I am tired of giant chain hotels, giant chain restaurants and giant chain shops, this was a fabulous change. I don't care about a workout room, internet connection and all the other "ammenities". I want a nice place with a nice view that doesn't feel like it is ripping me off.

The lemon bar was across the yard from our room and the music seemed to turn off at about 11 or 12 and that was fine. Any excess noise from there was blocked out by the air conditioning. The building is made of blocks so there is very little, if any noise from other rooms.

I wasn't there during the high season and can see that during spring breaks, or games or whatever it probably is rowdy...but it is probably rowdy everywhere since decorum is now such an old fashioned word. I think the reviewer who was "scared" probably doesn't get out much and is very reactionary and just plain silly. Unfortunately, people do get drunk and knock on the wrong door but he really doesn't understand that that could just as easily happen at the GIANT hotel next door, only the management wouldn't be there as fast.

As for the surliness of the staff...well, the office staff was generally okay. There was one woman that could have been friendlier but I racked that up to the area. I thought, that some of the shopkeepers and waitstaff in the area were surly too. If you want a good examply of it, head over to Shelby's coffee house where they hire friendly men and rude young women. That's a great way to start the day: a cup of coffee served with rudeness. But I am off the path...I believe that Atlantic Beach or Neptune Beach must be a bit surly so I wouldn't take too much notice of it.

In general, the hotel was great. I would recommend it; however, since I wouldn't recommend anyone actually go to Florida (because it is awful: no green energy, no recycling to be seen, no decent public transportation, people text and drive hence very dangerous to walk) then it would be hard for them to stay at the Sea Horse.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pb_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I took a belated honey-moon and found this to be the perfect spot. We found it was very quiet, clean, and most of all could get his wheelchair in and out without problem. This is also a very secure hotel with access to pool and beach access via room assigned key. The associated bar was hardly made a noise and was closed around 9p. I guess

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed here one night (passing through) in Room 220. Very nice room with a picture window view of the beach & ocean. Wrap around balcony so you could sit and watch the pool & The Lemon Bar or on the other side you face the beach & ocean. Clean and comfortable. Friendly check-in and check-out. Easy parking and just steps away to all kinds of cute places to eat, like the Sun Dog Diner which we loved too. The Lemon Bar is cute & fun. Wish they had munchies but it is only drinks. The Lemon Bar closes at 11pm except on (I believe it was) Friday & Sat. nights when they close at 12:30. Early close on Sunday too, I believe. They have happy hour beer for $2.50 draft and speciality drink for low prices periodically. (Their menu) We went to our room at 10pm, turned on TV and with the A/C also running, we could hear nothing from outside. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadie33138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune Beach
0.1 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,093 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
839 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,093 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Oceanfront Inn

Address: 120 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach, FL 32266-5252
Location: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range: $156 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seahorse Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint family owned and operated oceanfront inn. We feature many amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Amenities include a beautiful grassy courtyard with a large pool, private beach walkover to the ocean, and an award winning on site bar and restaurant. We are in the heart of Beaches Town Center which features many great dining and shopping opportunities. Stay with us and we will show you why: The Seahorse Oceanfront Inn is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Seahorse Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Oceanfront Hotel Neptune Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing