We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk About A Step Back In Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
478 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Talk About A Step Back In Time”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'll say this, overall it was clean but wow, is this place old. I was here for the TPC and I cannot believe the rate they charged for this...completely outrageous.

This area of Neptune/Atlantic Beach does have a lot of good places to eat and you are very close to the beach so if you're not planning to stay in the room much, I guess this is a good option.

The bar by the pool does stay open late and can get really loud.

Breakfast is a little basket with a packaged muffin, yogurt, school sized OJ and fruit cup from some foreign country. Just skip that and go find something else up the road.

If you're like me and stay in chain hotels for work, I really doubt you'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    68
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
65
56
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Having never been to the beaches near Jacksonville, checked Trip Advisor and found the Seahorse Oceanfront. Wow! Great gem of an old school motel. Right on the beach in the active, restaurant filled Neptune Beach area. Stayed in a 2nd floor room in order to see the ocean from the large balcony. Perfect. Clean rooms, great towels, comfy bed. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The only thing was the water temperature in the shower, not really hot, however the last day, it was hot; maybe some plumbing issues. Also, the pressure is very low flow. BUT, don't let this dissuade you from staying here. The Lemon Bar is on the same property next to the pool. Great amenity if one chooses to use; plus some great sight seeing from your balcony of the bar patrons :). But if you want an adult libation at the pool, just take your own, the bar can get very busy and difficult to get a beverage. No big deal. The last thing about the beach itself, wonderful, tide goes out, gets flat which is good for walking or riding a bike. During weekdays it is almost like a private beach, but not so much on the weekends. I have reserved a room for next year! Thanks to the Seahorse Oceanfront for making part of my vacation a relaxing and enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: 2nd floor middle to the north end of the hotel, better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Wedding this weekend of a family member......needed to spend the night. The venue rooms were a bit too rich for our pockets so we choose to stay next door. We had stayed there 15 years ago!....and the place was still there! An old Florida motel...oceanfront....small but oh sooo neat. You could smell the "old hotel" (it was a good smell)..... & the ocean air.....Room 220 is the one to get....closest to the ocean..upstairs.....wrap around balcony....king....clean. They have updated the rooms with microwave, refrig, coffeemaker & flatscreen. These places are hard to maintain, but this one is kept up well. No fancy breakfast....but you go down in the morning and they give you a little basket with OJ, Yoplait yogurt, Orville Splunker (whatever) muffin and Dole fruitcup....and a newspaper....OK by me. We did have coffee in our room out on the balcony.....the sunrise was beautiful. Took a walk into the little area around the hotel.....lots of shops.....found a coffee shop with croissants, bagels..grabbed another bite. It was a great spot......will return.

Room Tip: Room 220 ! 2nd floor, end room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A very friendly, quaint hotel. My room was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Within walking or cycling distance to many restaurants, bars, shops. Fun place to stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Looks like the hotel has been painting and cleaning. Was better than the photos portray as far as updating and cleaning. Nice to have the Lemon Bar option if the weather was nice. Pleasant grounds. Easy ocean access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

A very friendly, low key place to stay ...in the middle of everything! The rooms all overlook the pool..the higher up (2nd floor and 3rd floor (2 rooms)) the better. You overlook the Lemon Drop bar which is lively and vibrant during the day...quiets down at night! The beach view is best from the third floor! You can walk everywhere in the little beach town....miles of beach to stroll, also! We would most definitely return and stay here! Very reasonable..no hidden fees!!!

Room Tip: Room 340 is very reasonable with the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our room was clean, carpet new, everything we were looking for in a small ocean front room.
Loved the energy and fun at the lemon drop bar. Loud with many beach goers during the day and quiet as the sun went down. Totally local hotel, no chain hotel feel.
Room tip-room 340 is a separate part of the penthouse on the top floor, great balcony overlooking the pool and bar area. If we make it back to the Jacksonville area we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 340. Great balcony. First floor rooms are convenient to the pool, but no ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune Beach
0.1 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,030 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Neptune Jacksonville Beach Mayport Mayo Clinic NE
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Oceanfront Inn

Property: Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Address: 120 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach, FL 32266-5252
Location: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seahorse Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint family owned and operated oceanfront inn. We feature many amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Amenities include a beautiful grassy courtyard with a large pool, private beach walkover to the ocean, and an award winning on site bar and restaurant. We are in the heart of Beaches Town Center which features many great dining and shopping opportunities. Stay with us and we will show you why: The Seahorse Oceanfront Inn is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Seahorse Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Oceanfront Hotel Neptune Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing