We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longest pier in the gulf. Great views of fish, rays in the water”

Navarre Beach Fishing Pier
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Navarre
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Longest pier in the gulf. Great views of fish, rays in the water”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good fishing pier but also a great place to walk and see rays, fish, sharks, etc in the water. Those fishing are friendly and will show you the fish they have caught.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wayfairers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    38
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome fishing”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We spent a week with friends and fished everyday. Caught Spanish mackeral, king mackeral, pompano, drum, and red fish. Redfish were too big, they need to be under 27" to keep.
During the week we saw others catch shark, cobia, and sheepshead. One 43# king mackeral was caught. The end of the pier is "combat fishing" which means shoulder to shoulder and if you are not a local it is tough to get in the mix. Longest pier in the gulf so it has lots of other places to fish from. Great view, walkers only pay $1, fisherman are $7 per day but it includes fishing license.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ghostroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New management needs to get it together”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

In the past year we have gone for tourists in Navarre to being residents. Have loved this place since I saw it the first time at 16. My family has been fishing the pier since then. It was always our vacation. After the rebuild a few years ago and they started having bands and food on the pier it became our hang out and we had such a good time we purchased a home here. Well, the management team did not get the contract again. In Dec. they had to vacate the Navarre Pier and new management came in on Jan. 1, 2014. There was a big hoopla around here and the Pier Bar opened up again in Feb. as Lagerheads. Yesterday was the first time we have been out there. We were greeted with a hand written sign that said no pets allowed please. We got to the top of the steps and there was a man with a poodle in his lap bellied up to the bar. We entered the pier house and it was bare. Still no food to purchase. How long it will take for the new crew to get it together is anyone's guess. You can purchase bottled soda, crackers, chips and a candy bar. You can also purchase a t shirt. They have nothing for fishing equipment. If you need to rent rods and such you are out of luck. The old regime offered to sell every piece of equipment to the new team but I guess it was declined. All I am saying is if you expect to come to Navarre Pier and have Ms. Pat's breakfast it is no longer there. If you expect to see tables out on the deck they are few and far between. If you are expecting to rent rods you might want to reconsider. I think the new regime had no clue of the cost involved in getting the place up and running. I hope they get it together soon. I think there were things about the old management team that needed major improvement. A lot of that was their hands were always being bound by the county commissioners. Santa Rosa County has commissioners that need to retire or at least get out and really see what a jewel of a place Navarre Pier can be. So I am way less than impressed with the Navarre Pier house. The pier itself is as beautiful as always. You can still fish and buy some lures, jigs etc at the pier house. Just make a sandwich to bring with you. Oh and the price of beer out there has gone way up so bring your credit card too. Retired people used to be able to come and see friends and hang around the bar. Now it might not be so affordable and they and other locals are what keeps the pier bar going in the winter months.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Anteqbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and a lot of fun”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

First of all, if you want to watch a gorgeous sunrise, this is the place to do it. You couldn't ask for better views of the gulf. If you are in Navarre, this is a must see.

Now, if you like to fish, you'll be in heaven. I have probably fished four or five times in my life but since we were there, we rented some gear (not too expensive at all) and spent the early morning hours fishing off the pier and sipping beers... for a novice, I actually had some pretty solid catches (and the more seasoned fishers around us had some really impressive catches too, including a small shark).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

If your in the area take a walk out on the longest pier in the gulf. The water color is awesome as are the white sand beaches. It cost $1 but we saw dolphins and stingray among other identified fish. It's also interesting talking to the fishermen.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigsby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navarre Beach Fishing Pier also viewed

Navarre, Florida Panhandle
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Navarre Beach Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing