We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always on our list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay House

The Bay House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bay House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 984 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Naples
Cross street: Highway 41
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always on our list!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Bay House has been a tried and true destination for us for years. Friendly service, cute atmosphere, reasonable prices make us keep coming back. Their fried oysters are the best,as are their short ribs. But the MUST have dessert is the beignets! Outrageously good!! Skip the steak,but try the flatbreads-a great starter or light dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank astahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    148
    75
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went there on our vacation with locals who really recommended this restaurant. The atmosphere was nice and the service was alright, but the food was very average with very small portions. It was the only disappointing food experience we had during the whole week in Naples.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geisnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top notch atmosphere, quality and food presentation.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

There is no shortage of places to eat in this area but the Bay House is a place we'll go back to. A bit of a trip from downtown but worth it - it happened to be in the neighborhood where we were staying.

The atmosphere is reserved coastal nautical with a great view of the river. The food is creatively prepared, attractively presented and delicious. We had the crab bisque, lobster and crab potholes, gulf fish and scallops. The portions were sufficient leaving us satisfied but with room for dessert. We had the butter cake and Granny's treat, both quite good and recommended.

Only subtle issue - they were a bit too quick to drop off the check - while we were still eating our dessert! At a place like this, I would expect that they'd at least wait until they cleared the table AFTER we'd finished. Maybe they reserve that privilege for larger parties with larger bar bills. Still they didn't rush us out, as I said, it was subtle, but noticed and really not necessary as there were quite a few empty tables around us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quonmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing brunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

While the Bay House is a great spot for dinner, we recently had brunch there for the first time. The brunch menu is varied and ambitious, but to my mind does not measure up to its wonderful dinner offerings. Of the dishes our group tried, the grilled salmon on greens got the best remarks, while the banana bread french toast was deemed too heavy. Eggs with potatoes and a thick slice of country ham were tasty but a bit salty. Service was passable but seems to be more focused at sinner. Best of all, daylight dining affords a great view of the river and lush plantings behind the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEAPOINTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, FL
Level Contributor
248 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Beautiful River Venue”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our host made reservations at great view circular table for our lunch. 'Courtney' helped us and she was wonderful. I had the blue crab bisque followed by crispy fried oysters; sound good? It was a fine lunch! Our group found the food above par and the service commendable. The river view and bright room make this restaurant & location a favorite. Thanks, Courtney, you are a plus for The Bay House!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay House also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing