We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food, nice staff.”
Review of Cafe Luna - CLOSED

Cafe Luna
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Street
Description: Cafe Luna offers authentic Italian dishes and an extensive pizza menu, all on the most beautiful patio setting on famed 5th Avenue South. Full bar available. Join us for lunch, dinner, and live music nightly.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went here for dinner with the family after not being able to get a reservation at Campiello (plan to visit Campiello next time). Its a great location, right along 5th Ave. However, the food was not great. The pros: Nice staff, festive family friendly atmosphere, good meatballs, decent caesar salad. The cons: Warm wine (why do some think red wine is served at room temperature? Sorry but anyone knows that it should be cooler - 60-65 degrees, NOT 90-100!). The main dishes were so very bland. Alfredo sauce was tasteless and very thin - soupy. Probably wont come here again. If this restaurant wasn't on 5th Ave. I don't think they'd be in business anymore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aloha2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 413 of 777 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very average Italian food comes with scree bottle of wine that would be better off poured down the drain. Ba gallon of Gallo would bad more drinkable than their choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, Owner at Cafe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Steve,

Thanks for visiting us recently. We’re sorry to hear that our food and the wine selection didn’t completely live up to your expectations, but hopefully you will give us another try the next time you are in the area. Your comments and input are important to the management and we will strive to make improvements. With honest feedback such as your own, we can target our weaknesses and make changes in the New Year.

We would love to hear some of your own wine recommendations and look forward to welcoming you again at either of our Casa Luna locations.

Kind regards,
Ed Barsamian & Shannon Radosti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fifth Avenue offers a great selection of places to eat but the outside dining, the live music and the very friendly staff made this the perfect place for us. The restaurant was absolutely full when we arrived but Shannon, the hostess, quickly set up a new table just for us and we had an excellent pizza for dinner. We loved the setting so much, we didn't even think of moving when a light rain began to fall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, Owner at Cafe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your pizza and the evening spent with us. We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and happy at Café Luna, and it is such a pleasure to know that we could make your evening more enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon and have a great start into 2014!

Ed Barsamian & Shannon Radosti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came here with my fiancé for a special occasion. I had been here once before and while it was not an unforgettable experience, it was not terrible either. But my second time was a special night out and they had outdoor seating available so we decided to give it a second try. It was a huge mistake and waste of money. Our server was spectacular, but the food was terrible. We started with the firecracker shrimp, it was a tiny order and the shrimp were nothing to write home about. The second dish was our salads and they were pretty good. Our entrees were terrible. I had the Lobster ravioli, it came out warm and very bland. My fiancée had some sort of seafood pasta dish fra diavolo. He said that his sauce tasted of ketchup. I hate to write a bad review, but I hope this encourages them to step up their game. It is a great location and all I can suggest is that if you are planning on eating here, go for the pizza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, Owner at Cafe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Alexandra,

We are really sorry to hear that we were not able to help you celebrate your special occasion with the exceptional food that we strive to deliver. We are pleased to hear that the waiter you had that evening did perform well, though. We will be taking your comments to heart and hope you will give us another try to live up to your expectations.

All the best,
Ed Barsamian & Shannon Radosti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We ate at Cafe Luna on Naples' Fifth Avenue for Christmas Eve and found nice ambiance, good food and reasonable prices -- in fact we found a great deal! Cafe Luna offers two entrees and a bottle of wine for $29.99 -- can't beat that.
We each had the chicken parmesan and found it very tasty. The appetizer of garlic knots was excellent! And the wine was very drinkable as well -- Vista Point merlot.
Service was adequate and efficient.
All in all -- a very pleasant meal for a festive Christmas Eve.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing