We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up the par this time. Food mediocre. Noise level very high!”
Review of Pate's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Pate's Steakhouse
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not up the par this time. Food mediocre. Noise level very high!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The last time we visited this restaurant was "off season." The food was delicious and the service superior. The restaurant was about half full and the noise level was "tolerable."

This time, the food (I had a fried oyster platter and my wife had a filet mignon) was mediocre. The portions were small and the filet, while tasty, was tough - more like a sirloin cut. In defense of our server, our group was rather large this time and she did the best she could.

The two dinner and bottle of wine special is a draw, but don't expect gourmet dining. The noise level, with the low untreated ceiling, was VERY high and it was difficult to converse even across the table.

I must mention, though, that the wine served with this package deal was very good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    10
    6
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgely, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious once again!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

About four years ago we stumbled upon Pate's and really enjoyed it. When we returned tonight, it was just as good as it was then. The bar was packed and apparently they have a great happy hour. They also offer an early bird special of a bottle of wine and dinner for two for $19.99 each. The entrees offered are regularly priced between $20 and $25 each. Unfortunately, we don't drink. I had the salmon and it was excellent. My husband had a 12oz NY strip. He is very picky about his steak and said it was the best steak he had eaten in quite some time. Our waitress was not only waiting tables but tending far as well! She was excellent. I would highly recommend Pates to anyone. Did I mention our bill was $57? Salad, entree, side dish and ice tea....great value! What's not to like?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joolya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas night dinner with a group of people”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were about 30 people having dinner on Christmas night. We were in a little hall at the back of the restaurant. There was a pianothat we were not allowed to play and singing was not too welcome.The food was tasty but cold.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gigilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE, GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

PATE'S offers one of the best values in the "2 dinners plus a bottle of wine for $40 or so" category.

Located next to the Ramada Inn -- about 2 miles north of Naples' 5th Avenue downtown district -- PATE'S isn't the most elegant place to eat. However, it offers more variety than most other "dining special" places. For example, among the choices are Prime Rib and Filet Mignon. No upcharge. Moreover, a salad (with your choice of dressings) is included.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This restaurant has no redeeming factors about it.

Ordered Haddock and got mystery fish, made a reservation and when we got there they added our name to the bottom of the waiting list,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annie4202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pate's Steakhouse also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing