We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew / Mold smell overwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Naples
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at the hotel while in town for the Naples Half marathon. Hotel was fine. Room was fine, until you got near the bedroom. The mildew / mold smell was very strong and you could see it growing on the fabric wallpaper next to the shower. Staff called to ask how our room was and we told them of the issue and they offered to move us. We said we're only staying one night but Room 136 needs some bathroom work before any new guests arrive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback. We are glad to know that overall the hotel & room were fine, but sorry to hear about mildew / odor near the shower. We understand that moving to another suite might not have been convenient, and our staff is trained to go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Our Maintenance team inspected and corrected the situation shortly after you checked out. We hope you will give us another try when you return to Naples. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 493 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in November' 13 in a 2 bed apartment.

The complex is on a main road giving easy access to Naples centre, shopping malls (5 mins) and beaches (about 10mins by car). Even though on a main road we did not encounter much noise.

The room was well equipped small kitchen, dining table, two bathrooms. It was cleaned well and there is daily room service.

There is breakfast in the morning with a selection of bread, muffins, cereals, fruit, yogurts and you can even make your own waffles.

Reception were very helpful providing info and directions on local area.

There is a small pool and Jacuzzi along with a basketball court.

On weekday evenings they have social evenings, and provide what they describe as a light snack. However there was more then plenty. We especially liked the bbq night.

We had a good stay and it was great for a base we have two small children and we would probably choose somewhere which had more childrens facilities however for the price we paid this was fantastic value and would recommend for couples and business travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

You summed up your visit very nicely! Thanks for sharing your experience, and recommending Residence Inn Naples to other travelers. Many would agree that we are an excellent value for the price paid. Your kind comments will be passed along to our staff, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I (and our puppy) spent a week at Residence Inn in Naples (November 30th- December 7th). we have spent our vacations for the past 13 years in Europe, and in the Caribbean, and decided to try Florida too this year. I believe we could not have made a better choice! Staff is friendly and courteous and ready to go the extra mile just to make you happy; engineering is very rapid in solving any issues (there was a small malfunction with our microwave oven, and it was repaired in no time); rooms are clean (a little dated, but they were installing granite countertops, and replacing furniture as we were there, and really... this is not that important); pool area sparkling clean, as well as facility grounds; generous breakfast, both submarine and continental; Monday through Wednesday free dinner (the Wednesday night is grill night!) and Sunday is Sundae day :-); very convenient location; friendly and quiet residents; very good Wi-Fi connection; new mattresses; grocery shopping service; electronic key access everywhere, meaning safe. I may have forgotten other details, but one thing is sure: I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. Think about the fact that they have clients from abroad who spend months there... would they do that if it wouldn't be nice, friendly, clean, and home-like? By all means, I want to congratulate the manager, and all staff (just to mention few names here:Vivian at the front desk, Lucian - engineering) for making our stay extremely pleasant! We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anelia428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience on tripadvisor. It sounds like overall you had a great visit to Southwest Florida, and enjoyed the hotel very much. We apologize for the microwave trouble, but glad to know things were resolved. We appreciate your feedback very much, and I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. Hope to see you back at Residence Inn Naples very soon, and have a happy and healthy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for about two months while on business, and we really enjoyed our stay.

The location was convenient to just about anywhere in Naples, the grounds were very clean, the meals were tasty, and the staff is great. We appreciated the staff's attention to the details we appreciate in an extended stay hotel.

Thanks.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so very much for the awesome review! We are extremely pleased to know about your experience, because we work hard to provide a "home away from home" feeling for all guests, especially those who stay as long as you, and who are here on business. I will make sure that everyone on our team hears about your stay, and we hope you can return when you have time for a vacation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been staying at Marriotts for 6 plus years now for business. I have spent 101 nights in Marriott locations this year alone. I will never stay in another Marriott because of this Residence Inn. I had accidentally broke one of their precious "pictures" because i leaned on it a bit adjusting the bedding in my room. The glass shattered all over my bed and I cut my self badly. I cleaned it up as best as I can. and the picture itself was just fine. The following day after coming back from my work I was LOCKED OUT of my room. I had to go to see the Principles office just to be allowed back into my room where my personal possessions were at. I had to be humiliated by the Assistant General Manager and was told even though I spend about $20,000 a year with Marriotts they were going to charge my $150 for the damage. I was shocked that this is the way they treat their Platinum customers. I warned Jodie, the assistant manager that if I was charged, then I will take my business else where. I guess she made the decision to not give a care and now the Marriott is out for my business travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Manager at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are surprised by your story because it differs from actual events that occurred during your stay. The morning after you arrived, we received a report about loud noise coming from inside your suite between the hours of 12:50AM – 2:30AM. This disturbance prevented several other guests from having a restful night.
Around 2:00AM, hotel staff knocked on the door to your suite, and they could hear loud banging, and glass breaking inside your room, which did not sound accidental. Later, we discovered a picture on the wall above the bed in your suite that had been smashed, with broken glass and scratches on the photo. You were only charged our replacement cost.
Management never locked you out of your room, and graciously made a new key when you needed one the next day.
While we hate losing any customer to other brands, we understand that it is inevitable at times. Marriott strives to treat their guests with courtesy and respect, and we hope for the same in return. We wish you the best during your quest for alternative lodging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The pool is nice, the grounds landscaped nicely, and it is easy to find this hotel. But this repeat visit found the furniture simply worn out, the bathrooms stained though clean, the carpets in need of replacement, and the general level of the room just tired and old. The sofa in our suite was stained and so worn as to be uncomfortable. The maintenance men who came to repair our leaking refrigerator (flooded the floor twice in four days) were charming and helpful, promising to replace the fridge the day we left. The breakfast was ample and the attendant friendly and helpful. But this facility needs to be closed for a complete renovation, not piecemeal measures if it is to satisfy Marriott customers. Oh, the price is fair for Naples.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are the quietest except when the service trucks parked back there are In use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloradoeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your opinion on trip advisor. We are happy to know about the good things you experienced, but sorry to read about the description of your suite. Your comments have been noted and shared with the appropriate personnel.
Built brand new in 1999, Residence Inn Naples is in a continuous process of maintaining & updating its facilities, and we regularly replace items that no longer meet our standards. Carpeting and furniture are professionally cleaned, and because the hotel stays very busy throughout the year, it is not always possible to access certain suites that might require more attention than others, however we do our best to maintain consistency with all rooms.
We do appreciate your positive comments about our grounds, staff, complimentary breakfast buffet, pricing, and central location. Rest assured that plans are in place to correct our faults. If you do decide to return, I am confident you will see improvement, and hopefully we will be able to regain your trust. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excelent friendly staff make it pleasure to stay although the property is in need of a face lift it is good value with many little extras. We look forward to returning year after year. The social nights three times a week are well attended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antony121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSWNA, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Naples, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We love reading reviews like yours! Thank you!! I will share your comments with our entire team, and hopefully the hotel will have a "new look" when you return next November. Warm wishes to you from all of us at Residence Inn, Naples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Park Shore
Hilton Naples
Hilton Naples
#10 of 59 in Naples
1,740 reviews
Inn of Naples
#19 of 59 in Naples
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moorings
Hampton Inn Central Naples
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Moorings
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Naples

Address: 4075 Tamiami Trl N, Naples, FL 34103-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $133 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Naples 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our #1 goal at The Residence Inn in Naples, Florida to always exceed our guests expectations. To meet that goal, we've recently renovated all of our guest rooms and suites as well as our lobby, lounge, breakfast area, market place, hallways and we have even purchased a new shuttle to provide our guests with complimentary transportation to and from Naples Beach. We've also added an outdoor fire pit. Our friendly hotel staff is eager to welcome you to our newly renovated hotel. We offer studio, one bedroom or two bedroom suites many with pool and garden views. All rooms have kitchens, dining/work space, sleeper sofa, flat screen TV, and complimentary high-speed Internet. Our hotel also boasts an outdoor heated pool/whirlpool, sports court and 24/7 fitness center. Treat yourself to our complimentary full hot breakfast and Monday- Wednesday evening reception offering a light meal with beer and wine. We are conveniently located near area attractions including, Clam Pass Beach Park, shopping and dining in downtown Naples, Mercato, Venetian Bay, and Waterside Shops. The nearby North Collier Regional Park has soccer and softball fields for visiting teams and a popular area waterpark. The newly renovated Residence Inn Naples provides the location, amenities and services to make your business trip or vacation complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing