We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2005

The hotel is in an excellent location, architecture isn't that bad, but facilities are VERY expensive (restaurant, bar, golf club, spa). They have you pay your room wireless connection (ours didn't work and wanted us to pay no matter what!), there is no free lobby connection (you have to pay that one as well!), you even have to pay for your room coffee, as there is a machine to make it but no filters!!! Plus, they won't give you the bath products every day.

If you are on a business trip, and/or you don't like overpriced services and goods, do NOT go there.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosannaTarsiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    495
    166
    91
    68
See reviews for
476
490
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

Stayed here for three nights, Nov 11-14. The location was great. Close enough to downtown that we walked down to the Fifth Avenue Coffee Shop one morning (it took about 45 minutes at a leisurely pace).

The grounds were well kept and the beach was lovely. There is a little bar that opens at 11 a.m. every day right at the pool/beach. We enjoyed several spa services, our dinner at HB's and lunch at Broadwell's. A few minor problems with the room (hornets on the terrace, late turndown service, no coffeemaker, lousy hairdryer) but none that ruined the trip. The golf course was closed for repairs from Wilma.

We had looked at the (former) Registry and the Ritz but they were booked up. I'm glad! I want to go back and bring my 3-year-old and more family.

Helpful?
1 Thank bluebug313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2005

This is a very tired old hotel living off past reputation. It is in a beautiful location. But tired.

My main reason for staying was to use the spa. It is very small but has excellent services. My only complaint: Could hear conversations in the adjacent treatment rooms while I was having my treatments. Not so relaxing. Massages/facials are excellent. manicure/pedicure okay. Problem: Too much selling of product. This started the minute I got there. I was there to relax not to be pressured into buying product. This was a real problem that needs to be addressed. The shop is right there. I did not need to be pressured at every treatment except for the massage.

Recommendation: Go for services at the spa but stay someplace else. Make it clear up front that you are there to relax not to be sold to!

Or pick another hotel and spa that has it all.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2005

1. This is a hotel on the beach in Florida and the windows in all of the rooms (according to the front desk) are "nailed shut." I'm in Florida in November and and the windows are nailed shut? What are they thinking?
2. The staff provides the quality of service one typically encounters at a badly managed supermarket. When I asked: Do you have overnight laundry service? I got three answers: first from the telephone operator: "No, there's no laundry service, you'll have to ask the front desk to call an outside service." Second from the front desk: "Yes, ask the bellman"(who is also the parking attendant). Third from the bellman: "No overnight service, bring it to the front desk in the morning and you will get it back in the afternoon." When I told the bellman that he should bring the front desk up to speed on the laundry situation, he just laughed. When I told the front desk that the bellman said there was no overnight service, the front desk said "Did you ask about overnight service?"
3. A fax sent to me at 6 pm could not be found at midnight. The hotel does not have an email address, so the document could not be emailed to the front desk for printing.
4. Wireless internet in every room? More or less. Bad connectivity that regularly drops out and stops entirely on large file downloads.
5. Did I mention the windows don't open? The windows don't open! This is Florida. What are they thinking?

Good points: Valet parking guys are really nice and really fast. Nice aquarium in the lobby. Not far from Fifth Ave.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

If you are expecting a luxury resort, this is not it. We are used to staying in luxury resorts on our (much-needed ) vacations, but we needed to lower our budget a bit for this trip, so we chose the Naples Beach Hotel because of a great deal.

You have to rent the beach chairs, and the minimal snack bar serves unbelievably small, expensive snacks and drinks.

The first room they gave us was on the first floor and smelled of cigarette smoke, despite our requests for a non-smoking room on a higher floor. However, they accomodated our requests when we complained, and moved us to a lovely room in a different building.

My advice: take a trip to the nearby Target store, buy some cheap beach chairs (if you're staying more than 2 days, this works out to be cheaper than renting the ones at the resort), snacks, and drinks (we bought 24 bottles of water at Target for the price of one bottle of water at the snack bar), stock up your fridge (one of the nice amenities), and enjoy the beautiful beach.

Hotel staff were friendly and polite, except for one massage therapist who repeatedly tried to talk me into a more expensive massage -- DURING my massage!

Overall, not what we were led to expect based on the advertising, but not bad for the price --> as long as you are prepared for what you are getting.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2005

My family (Mom, Dad, Brother and I) went here every year for years. I can't wait to go back. The hotel is incredible, the view exquisite and the food to die for. You simply MUST get the daily buffet breakfast. Wear your bathing suit with a cover-up and bring your beach toys. Dine to your heart's content on the cheese and berry blintzes, order anything you desire from the omelette chef and get the French toast and croissant if you have a sweet tooth! A wonderful start to an amazing day at the beach! For lunch, dine at the beach-side grille, or just have a frozen Snickers! The beach-side pool is awesome and the dinners on the beach are fantastic! The golf course is wonderful and if you are fortunate enough to get a room overlooking the beach, watch for the amazing sunsets and the gorgeous full moon that sparkles on the surface of the water. Very romantic, but if you have children, the rentals (boogie boards, parasailing, waverunners, catamarans, paddleboats, etc.) are a blast! Look no further for an amazing romantic and/or family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

Stayed in Nov. of '04. ONLY complaint was that the rooms weren't ready on time on the day we checked in.
I planned our wedding over the phone from Indiana. The catering manager, Michelle, coordinated our special day. We were given names and numbers of recommeded DJ's, photographers, videographers, florists, ect. Should have been stressful to plan from a distance, but was not at all! The Ocean Lawn was a beautiful location for the wedding. The wedding and reception were more perfect than I could have ever imagined. We relaxed and enjoyed our day, knowing that the details were taken care of. I would recommend NBH and G in a heartbeat. I also had a friend get married at this location 6 months prior. She had an awesome experience as well.
The night of the wedding, we stayed in a room overlooking the ocean. Beautiful view. Clean room. Quiet beach. We plan to revisit on our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club

Property: The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 851 Gulf Shore Boulevard North, Naples, FL 34102-5332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#11 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#29 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From family beach vacations to destination weddings, and from group getaways to exciting meetings, The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club offers you spectacular accommodations and beachfront amenities. Our 319 guest rooms-casually elegant and supremely comfortable-include suite configurations for up to 10 guests each. With an elegant ballroom offering glorious Gulf of Mexico views and beachside event space, meeting guests are in for inspiring settings. Enjoy a seven-mile white-sand beach plus our brand new golf course which has been completely redesigned and renovated by PGA legend Jack Nicklaus in collaboration with course architect John Sanford. Other on-site recreation includes tennis, spa, a multi-pool swimming complex, water sports, a complimentary Kids Club and more. Fine dining, casual fare and live entertainment can be enjoyed at our three restaurants and lounges, including HB's on the Gulf and Sunset Beach Bar & Grill, acclaimed for the area's best sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naples Beach Hotel And Golf Club
Naples Beach Resort
Golf Naples
Naples Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing