We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Old School Hotel right on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Old School Hotel right on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was awesome. It was clean, had old school charm, and everything that you needed right there. Fun bars, good golf, beach is right out the door, good restaurants, and great service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side do have nicer views, but are more expensive and you shouldn't spend too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    449
    149
    87
    60
See reviews for
432
447
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights, February 16 and 17, 2012. We loved it! Here's a few suggestions which will hopefully make your experience even better.

Booking
We almost booked on-line through one of the major internet hotel bookers, but found that contacting the hotel directly was a lot cheaper. Their number is on the Naples Beach Hotel website.

Check In
This hotel is only rated 3 diamonds by AAA, but should have been rated 4 diamonds. The grounds, rooms and amenities are all first rate. Check in is at 4 PM, but we arrived at 10 a.m. and were able to get into our room immediately. The staff is extra courteous and provides a map of the extensive grounds.

Room Choice
Naples Beach Hotel is right on the beach unlike other hotels which are set back from the beach. Of the several buildings with rooms, we chose the Penthouse building which is the closest to the water. Every night we left the slider open and fell asleep to the sound of waves. ahhhhhhh.

The Room
First off, the Penthouse building has regular rooms, not suites. The bathroom was beautifully tiled, but had no tub, however the shower was the fanciest we'd ever seen and we enjoyed using it. Every aspect of the room was upscale. There were three sinks! two for the bath and one for the coffee area- wicked cool.

The Beach
We were entertained each day by the pelicans right in front of us. The water was a little on the cold side and there were very few bathers, however the pools were heated and got lots of use. We were a little miffed about the extra charge for lounge chairs and umbrellas. You could also rent kayaks and some people did that as the ocean was calm each day. The sand was clean and the beach was never crowded.

The Concierge and Excursions
The staff were all friendly. The concierge gave us discount coupons to several excursions. However despite our repeated requests for boat ride recommendations, she failed to mention the Cruise Naples boat tour which we found on our own and it was terrific. There is a trolley ride that is supposed to pick up riders out front at 47 minutes past the hour, however the trolley makes no attempt to be on time. They were 30 minutes late which is a lot considering you are standing on a curb with no protection from the sun.

Prices
This is a pricey hotel(but worth it). Expect to pay extra for everything from bottled water to internet access. Tip: the lobby store sells gourmet desserts and bottles of wine for cheap bucks, perfect for a late evening in the room.

Overall
You'll be glad you chose Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club, even if you don't golf.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I and two friends spent 5 nights and 4 days at Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club in the Florida Wing ocean view rooms. The rooms are spacious, love the way the bathroom in the two bed room was set up with the second sink across from the bathroom and also one sink in the room. The private beach gives one a choice of either using the pool or beach. Friendly staff, great service morning tea, coffee and fruits, or have breakfast in the restaurant (buffett style) and aternoon tea and snacks.
We are look forward to going there again.

Room Tip: choose ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This property is a series a several buildings, we stayed in "Penthouse". Not as fancy as it sounds but the room was large and had a small balcony. There were also 3 sinks and a modernized shower.
Great location near downtown and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stymie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Recently stayed at Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club in January 2012 for work. Great place to stay for business or pleasure, would definitely stay again. Fantastic location, one of the only hotels in the area (or strip) to have a private beach, and it pretty good in size and extremely clean.

Nice pool, bar, outside accomodations. Try and get a view on the beach facing side if possible, if not, you'll overlook their business and conference center - which is also excellent. The gym is across the street and is a small and you really can't call it a gym (or fitness center even). It's extremely small and the two rooms are separate. 1. Weights and maybe 5 - 6 machines. 2. Couple of treadmills and elipitcals.

Free parking for guests. About a 15 - 20 minute walk to 5th street which has plenty of restaurants ($$$$$$, which are pricey to say the least). Hotel is appx. a two mile walk/run to the pier, so if you like to run (as do I) you can run two miles out on the beach (or "boardwalk/sidewalk" north of the hotel) and two back - and get a solid 4 mile run in.

Live music Sunday night. It's where all the locals come to. No joke. This is apparently the oldest hotel in Naples and people tend to flock there Sunday evenings for drinking, dancing and music on the beach.

Would definitely stay again - thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pezman2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were on the move so only spent one night, but I would have liked to have had a couple of days. We spent a night in the Florida wing, on the lower level. Our room was very nice, bright, clean, tastefully decorated in a Caribbean style, and featured a very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. The room featured two vanities, one in the bath and one just outside the bath, and the shower was generously sized. There was also a bar/counter area just inside the entrance. Our room faced a large green space, a short work to the pool and beach, and near the beach bar. We didn't have enough time to take in all the resort had to offer, but I found the staff to be friendly and courteous, and would definitely consider returning for a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I tagged along with my husband as he attended a conference here last week. Every attention to detail goes into this operation. We had a double queen bed in the Watkins tower on the 6th floor. I like how this room had two vanities in seperate areas. One where the shower and toilet is and the other adjacent by the closet. This makes it nice when we both were getting ready for day or night at the same time! Robes were warm and comfy. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner the first night at HB's on the Gulf and enjoyed the 1/8th moon and shine of Uranus going down on the water. The 2nd evening, at the resort there was a reception for the conference attendees. They (other attendees) called it light~ but it was truly a meal for me! Stations set up with pasta bar/fajita bar/other hordourves and a fabulous desert bar- they had mini chocolate cups filled with a mouse type filling! Too cute! All delicious and served by a highly proffessional courteous staff. It was on the big lawn area, and it was a beautiful eveing in Naples! I totally relaxed by the pool /beach the first day.The 3rd day, since it was raining on and off , my husband and I (when he was done with conference) went to the 5th Ave shops and pubs and enjoyed. We walked back via the beach which was about a mile and a half, then met up with others at the resort bar. I enjoyed a yummy breakfast pizza at the Seminole store (that is stocked with a variety of goodies for convenience) before heading to the airport day morning of day four. I also like how this property is family owned (3 generations now), and has not sold out to any chain. For this caliber of a hotel, you don't see that too much anymore. Hopefully, the conference will be here again next year and if it all works out, perhaps I can tag along again!

Room Tip: Some of the bungalow room do not have a gulf view. However, I do understand they all have extra livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#18 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#7 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Bellasera Hotel
Bellasera Hotel
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#5 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,865 reviews
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
#28 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club

Property: The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 851 Gulf Shore Boulevard North, Naples, FL 34102-5332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#11 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#29 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From family beach vacations to destination weddings, and from group getaways to exciting meetings, The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club offers you spectacular accommodations and beachfront amenities. Our 319 guest rooms-casually elegant and supremely comfortable-include suite configurations for up to 10 guests each. With an elegant ballroom offering glorious Gulf of Mexico views and beachside event space, meeting guests are in for inspiring settings. Our seven-mile stretch of white-sand beach is joined by 18 new-again holes of golf, a legendary course reinvigorated by a complete Nicklaus Design renovation, scheduled to re-open in December. Other on-site recreation includes tennis, spa, a multi-pool swimming complex, water sports, a complimentary Kids Club and more. Fine dining, casual fare and live entertainment can be enjoyed at our three restaurants and lounges, including HB's on the Gulf and Sunset Beach Bar & Grill, acclaimed for the area's best sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Otel, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naples Beach Hotel And Golf Club
Naples Beach Resort
Golf Naples
Naples Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing