We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We found what we thought was a bargain...on the beach, attached restaurant and near places we wanted to see.
Just be aware, that although the premises are clean, the place is as old as Naples itself, with small rooms that are badly in need of moderinization.
A bar/restaurant attached to the beachfront side of the hotel is very busy and the valet service is done in front of your hotel entrance which can be quite an inconvience, if you need to drop off elderly guests, luggage or items for the room...you see the parking lot for the hotel is across the street from the hotel.
The foot traffic from the in the coming crowds for the restaurant , for people not staying at the hotel, are continuous from open to close...and they could care less about noise, especially when leaving the bar/restaurant after a few cocktails.
The restaurant has very good food and the staff warm and friendly.
The guy working the front desk must really hate his job...cold, one word answers and not very friendly at all.
Would we return to the VBH?
I would try somewhere else for a little more money.
All in all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcgreenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

A small hotel right on the beach. The staff are very helpful and friendly and there is a superb restaurant attached. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable and quiet. We have been visiting there on and off for over 20 years.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranddadBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

As soon as you enter the hotel you are always greeted with a smile. The gentleman was as gracious as can be with helpful sugestions as, restaurants, directions, and with me golf course destinations. Never hurried he wanted to make sure you were certain of where you were going with his directions and hospitality...I was very much impressed..the rooms are clean, restaurant is 5star and the bartenders to waitress/waiter are wonderful not to mention sitting outside by candle light, eating a fabulous dinner and watching the sunset...it does not get any better than this...the beach is 20 steps away from your dinner table for an after dinner walk...its like heven...you will thank me many times over. I have been visiting the Vanderbilt for the last 10 years..it will make your vacation complete and you will be telling all about your wonderful trip...enjoy..

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobwhite4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

i went to vanderbilt beach resort on july 2009. and the guy that attends in the front desk says hes the manager. he was very rude ever since we called in for directions. after we appeared he was not polite at all. we would leave the room from the morning to the beach and my wife with our boy would come back to the room approx at 4 to 5 pm to bathe and go to the restaurant. and when we checked out the same young gentlemen said we made a lot of noise in the room, we had a radio out loud, and we had too many people in the room. and it was not true it was just my wife my 6yr old and i and we never took a radio. when i told him hes confused of room he started arguing and i just checked out and never would come to this hotel ever again. we travel for peace not for trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

My wife and I have been staying at VBR for over 30 years! Her parents took their winter breaks there when it opened back in the 50's.

Tastefully remodeled and modernized since, this family-run resort motel and restaurant features good rates, clean rooms, a 5 star restaurant with outside patio seating, in addition to a lovely indoor setting, all with a view of the sunset and the nearby gulf waters that can be found nowhere else.

Did I mention they have wi-fi thoughout all the rooms and even accessible on their beach?

More importantly, they have the nicest, most accommodating and friendly staff we've ever met. They treat all their guests like personal friends and remember you when you return.

Try it! You'll come back too! Many times!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyKingMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We have experienced wonderful times at the Vanderbilt Beach Resort in the past, but we continue to be impressed with the updates in service and the facilities. We spent 2 weeks having a great time with family and friends. All staff members went out of their way to make this possible.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColumbusJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Vanderbilt Beach Resort is a rare bit of old-time Florida, a low-rise resort right on the beach, umbrellas and beach chairs included (the Ritz and others charge extra for this basic!), kitchenette, lounge chairs outside the room, free parking. I was frazzled and exhausted and just wanted to wake up on the beach without a lot of other people around. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the beach is pristine, and a stroll around the Ritz (one of many high-rises on either side of this little gem) drove home how much more relaxing it was to be at a small hotel without having to deal with elevators, screaming kids, snooty people, or extra charges tacked onto the bill. It's about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Naples, the restaurant is kind of pricy, the rooms are a little old-fashioned, but there are ample grocery stores, including a Whole Foods on the way in from the airport, and the living is easy. This is how my family spent time in Florida when I was growing up in the 60's and 70's, great beach, easy living, no need to spend a fortune to feel like a million dollars. If you want the glitz and the glam, there are lots of other great place in Naples, but you don't have to pay glitz and glam prices to be on the beautiful, beautiful beach and swim in the warm Gulfstream waters!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lily76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
935 reviews
North Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Pelican Bay
#4 of 59 in Naples
1,348 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,644 reviews
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulf Shore Dr, Naples, FL 34108-2098
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
#24 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $198 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing